We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveler rating
24
8
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
8
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mauve room park your car excellent stay great location noise city
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 33 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2017 via mobile

We found this the most genuine and warm place to stay in the ancient heart of Maastricht. Our lovely host Lot immediately made us feel welcome We have visitied Maastricht quite a number of times already but this place beats eveything. You can easliy park your car nearby and explore beautiful Maastricht by foot from here. We will certainly return!

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Jur V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2017

This was not our first B&B in the region so we were not as surprised by the stairs as other reviewers have commented-you do get used to them! We booked this place BECAUSE it clearly is a charming old home. The bedrooms are LARGE, very charming, clean, and nicely decorated. They include everything you could need including tea, coffee, and little treats which were a really nice touch. Breakfast was good-eggs, fresh breads, cheeses, fruits, and meats. The owner is extremely helpful. She is friendly, very accommodating(she did so much for us!), and gave us excellent recommendations. She made it a real pleasure. We did experience one down side- the street noise is quite apparent from the Mauve room-not so much that we needed to change rooms but earplugs might be helpful if you come during a festival. Otherwise, it was within 10 min walking distance of the train station and city center (a safe nice walk). There are some good restaurants in the hood (ie. Wicker Cabinet, Cafe Zuid, etc). We would come back here again!

Room Tip: Mauve faces the street and orange faces the interior. Concerned about noise, go with orange.
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ModernFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lot D, Eigenaar at Au Lion d'Or, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2017

Thank you so much!
Lot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2017

Two room B&B way up steep stairs. Front room is on the street and there is a restaurant/bar across from it. Way too noisy late at night and early AM from street sweeping and trash collection. Lot, the innkeeper is very helpful (you must have help to drag your suitcase up those stairs) and gracious but has no idea how noisy the front room is! Parking is in an underground garage two blocks away. This is not a place for the elderly, infirm or most Americans due to the stairs, European style breakfast, parking and especially the noise. Because I recognize where I am and what I booked, it is a three. Without the noise, it would be a four to most middle income Europeans. Otherwise it would be a one or a two to most Americans due to the stairs, parking and noise. Next time we will stay at the nearby Crown Plaza.

Room Tip: Room in the back is the best choice, not the one we had unfortunately.
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank socaltwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2017

What a wonderful character house and amazing hosts! I arrived with a 2 hour delay and wet from a long train journey to a warm welcome. Lot kindly showed me to the large and fully decked out and stylish Orange room with additional cuddly blankets and great herb teas, followed by a social chat around the large dining table of the main historic house before I dashed out for my evening dinner meeting just down the street in the wonderful Wijck neighbourhood. Breakfast both mornings was served with local specialities as well as the classics and any style eggs one would want. Lot and her family made the entire stay such a relaxed and helpful stay it was a pity it was only 2 nights. I highly recommend this beautiful home and welcoming hosts to any business or pleasure travellers!

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanneadrienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2016 via mobile

There are a number of things that make this place and staying here exceptional. The rooms are stylish, beautiful decor , spacious and very in keeping with this beautiful 17 th century house. It is five minutes walk from the river and just beyond that is an array of stylish shops and restaurants/ cafes and bars that are wonderfully atmospheric! So you're perfectly placed on the edge of the centre of Maastrict but you could be in a country house. The rooms are up two small flights of stairs so not for someone who struggles with stairs but it is just a beautiful place to stay! It also has a wonderful courtyard in the centre of the house that you can have a glass of wine and ponder in. Next to this is the amazing kitchen for breakfast. Very rustic and beautifully done by the host Lot and her husband. Lot is a fantastic host!!! She was very helpful, did a wonderful breakfast and put herself out to drop us up to the Fort . So helpful, and knew also when to retreat and give privacy. Really wonderful place and host!! We went to stay to see a concert but I would definitely book here with Lot again and Maastrict is beautiful!

Stayed: July 2016
1  Thank Bethyboo96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lot D, Eigenaar at Au Lion d'Or, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2016

Thank you so much for your enthousiastic review!
Lot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews