We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel at a great price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2011

I have stayed at the Design Hotel a couple of times as it is perfectly located near to the station and a short walk into the centre of Maarstricht. Rooms are good albeit minimal but ideal for a couple of nights or if there on business.
I have not eaten in the hotel but the restaurant looks nice and the bar is well stocked.
My only complaint was the rooms were very warm and I could not turn the heating down

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LRM1_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,500)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 1,500 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2011

Stayed here just after new year so maybe got a good deal,we got' an upgrade' but it was at the agreed price,i hope,not looked at the receipt yet????
In a trendy part of town 2 mins from the railway station,No complaints.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2010

I travel regularly on a strict budget, when i arrived at reception i was told, "we have "given" you an upgrade", so i was feeling pretty pleased with myself when i got to the room.
I was impressed with this hotel overall for the(advertised) price, hotels are expensive in Holland and having read the previous reviews i took my own kettle and coffee as there is none in the room, I also did not have the pricey breakfast, but i used the bar a couple of times, which was expectedly empty in midweek just for an expensive small beer or two.

Ialso took my own tiny bottle of shampoo, the new restrictions on carrying liquids onto a flight is a real pain, hotels should take notice of this and provide a few sachets in the room for an extra euro on the price.

When i checked out i was informed that i had been charged for the room upgrade, I did not request one and did not need an upgrade, so when the story had been changed from "given" to "charged",I felt like i had been conned.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovejumping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2010

It is indeed a 'Design' hotel - the rooms, the alleys and the reception all breathe of modern design. The hotel is somewhat of a contrast to Maastricht - a town basking in historical glory. The hotel is an easy 5 minutes walk from the railway station and is close to all the sightseeing, shopping and eating options in Maastricht. It also houses a fabulous restaurant boasting of some great wine collection.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovayager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2010

Very crowded with tourists. Walked over the river to city center. On
Fridays & Saturdays huge outdoor market with everything from soup to nuts for sale. An experience for sure.

Hotel was average.
The bathroom floors and bedroom looked dirty. Maybe it was the black floor in bath. Large bathroom. Comfortable bed. No coffee service. No air conditioning.
We opened a window.
friendly staff, we felt safe here.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingonSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

We went to Maastricht for the night without a room reservation and after trying a number of other places (Maastricht fills up on weekends) stumbled on Eden. The place was really nice - the staff was friendly and helpful, and they gave us a discount on the room b/c it was last minute even though we were clearly desperate to find a place. We had a cute boutiquey room with a very comfortable bed. There was no air conditioning we could find, but with the windows open it was very nice - I have a feeling it rarely gets hot enough in Maastricht that you need air conditioning. The only downside to the room was that the bathroom (a private bathroom) was across the hall, so you had to leave the room to get to it. They told us this before giving us the room, though, and gave us an option of a double bed room with a normal bathroom (we went for the nicer bed). Even though the bath was across the hall, it was large and fully equipped, like a normal private bath in a hotel. Another nice thing about the hotel is there always seems to be food and drink at the check in (fruit, plus meats and cookies when we checked in at night, fresh orange juice and mini muffins when we checked out in the morning). I haven't read the other reviews here but it looks like they're mixed, but I'd give this hotel an easy four stars for staying in Maastricht. We'd stayed there again!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bezalel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2010

We had to spent a couple of days here due to a renovation. Redicilous hot rooms, rude female breakfast manager with an attitude you won't believe, and waaaaay overpriced. Only good thing is the location. Do yourselfs a favor, and stay somewhere else!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lelici49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
#12 of 38 in Maastricht
743 reviews
0.1 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#6 of 38 in Maastricht
1,348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#2 of 38 in Maastricht
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Beaumont
Hotel Beaumont
#5 of 38 in Maastricht
1,183 reviews
1.0 mi away
NH Maastricht
NH Maastricht
#13 of 38 in Maastricht
1,347 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#3 of 38 in Maastricht
1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht

Address: Stationsstraat 40, 6221 BR Maastricht, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
#8 Family Hotel in Maastricht
#9 Romantic Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range: $101 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampshire - Designhotel Maastricht is just a few minutes’ walk from the central station. The hotel is in the heart of the trendy Wyck district, known for its unique fashion boutiques, delicatessens, antique shops, interior and design shops and art galleries. The old city centre is within walking distance; ideal for a city walk along the Markt, Onze Lieve Vrouwebasiliek, ‘t Bassin and Vrijthof, enjoying a terrace cafe along the way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Designhotel Hotel Maastricht
Maastricht Eden Designhotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing