We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“wonderful hotel but warm” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
Naarden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wonderful hotel but warm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

Very pleasant hotel with great staff. We had booked a basic room which was beautiful and spacious. However, it was very warm in the room and despite the window had been wide open for a longer period, too hot to be comfortable. We were immediately offered another room with airconditioning. This made a great difference, However the temperatures everywhere in the hotel were extremely high during our three day visit.
Breakfast was fine both days.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Naarden1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sita T, General Manager at Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear “Naarden1”,

Thank you very much for this review on Tripadvisor! We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and the aiconditioning problem was solved for you.
I have shared you constructive criticism with our technical department, they will keep an eye on the temperatures in the building to see what can be done about this matter.
We hope to welcome you back in our hotel & Maastricht in the near future.

On behalf of Team Designhotel Maastricht & Brasserie FLO,

Sita Tadema – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    475
    196
    74
    17
See reviews for
101
637
20
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, Noord-brabant, Netherlands
Level Contributor
179 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

This hotel is good for a short stay in Maastricht, especially when you have to be
there for business. It is situated nearby the railway station and in the immediate
neighbourhood of several excellent restaurants. The rooms are clean, have a
good bed and enough fascilities for a short stay. The service is friendly and the
breakfest is not superb but enough.
Parking fascilities enough in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sita T, General Manager at Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Wim,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences during your stay in our hotel. We are pleased to read everything has been to your wishes and hope to welcome you back soon.

On behalf of Team Designhotel Maastricht & Brasserie FLO,
Sita Tadema – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ratingen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

I asked for an invoice with company address but received one with the private address (of course I could have seen it).
The stay was absolutely okay - friendly service and silence during the night please go on

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Manfred L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

The Designhotel in downtown Maastricht is perfectly named “Design” or could have been named the “Magnificent Hotel”. We spent two vacations there in 2013, once in July and during the New Year. Each time we were treated so special that we could not get the smiles off our faces! Felicity at the front desk could not have been more kind and accommodating and offered us a perfectly “designed” room. In July, we had a spacious front room with a balcony looking over the streets which was extremely comfortable. The air-conditioning was refreshing, amenities first class and for an 8 day stay, we didn’t want to leave. During the New Year, the front desk staff chose a room in the rear of the hotel so we could get our sleep as the fireworks were going on late in the evening – as a light sleeper, I did not wake up once. We had fabulous meals in the restaurant, which has a very nice menu especially the fresh fish, vegetables and house made breads. And the breakfast...I would set my alarm for the breakfast! Excellent food, champagne and a beautiful atmosphere; a wonderful way to start the day. We enjoyed one particular window seat and the next days, it had a “reserved” sign on it – just for us. The staff is incredibly hospitable, in fact the manager Clair Decker made an effort to come chat with us, accommodate us with any special requests and was a genuinely friendly person. The entire staff of the hotel was clearly handpicked as they all had the kindness and professionalism one would wish for while on holiday. As an American, they all spoke very good English (which I appreciated) and were as enthuastic about our trip as we were.
The Designhotel is on our 2014 agenda as we have spent time in other area hotels, it is hands down the best place to stay. The location is perfect as you can tour downtown Maastricht on foot, the staff is professional, the rooms are charming (each one has a different theme) and it is very clean and refreshing. Claire, Felicity and all the great staff, we look forward to seeing you soon!
Donna Ferri – Mount Pleasant, SC

Room Tip: As it is a modern hotel with theme rooms, it is entirely your choice! If you have the opportunity t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donnaferri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
140 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

The hotel is nice, though I expected better examples of design around. It depends on which room you get, and what design theme is in. The is a terrible 'Free Hugs' sofa in the reading room, other than that it was cosy. The breakfast is decent, overall its nice, but not a stunner.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IndiraIra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

We were looking for a good value hotel near the Railway Station, and booked the Designhotel Maastricht for 3 nights. We were a little unsure what to expect, as the Hotel Website is a bit confusing about the rooms.
The staff were excellent from booking-in to checking-out, and the hotel was clean [although the decor is getting a little worn].
We asked for a quiet room and were booked to room 450 on the 4th Floor at the back. Even though it was Carnival Weekend, the room was quiet, comfortable and warm, so slept well on each night. My daughter’s room was at the front, and was somewhat noisier.
We did find the 'open plan' toilet/bathroom unusual, though useable, but we would have preferred a separate toilet [which my daughter had in her room] - I suppose it's best to check with the hotel when booking.
I would have considered giving the Hotel a higher score if the restaurant had lower price menu options for residents, and if the prices quoted by the hotel and by Hotels.com included the [currently] €3.50, so for four of us for 3 nights we had to pay an unexpected €42.00.
We would use this hotel again.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are quieter, and some bathrooms are more 'open plan' than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Footsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sita T, General Manager at Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Footsie,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences on Tripadvisor!
It is very nice to hear you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel during the Carnival weekend. If you wish to make a new booking in the future, we are happy to assist you in choosing a room that fulfils all your wishes.

On behalf of the entire team,
Sita Tadema - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

Describing themselves as a small design hotel, you would expect being recieved in an open and welcoming way. Each guest would be treated individually and made to feel welcome. It's a far cry from it. Reception desk is staffed by young people ( students ?) who don't seem to take an interest. Simple requests were turned down. Didn't feel welcome.

Room Tip: Give more attention to service and quality of cleaning. Behind the toilet the tiles were covered wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Bobbimari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.1 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#1 of 38 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.1 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#5 of 38 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#2 of 38 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
#11 of 38 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Beaumont
Hotel Beaumont
#4 of 38 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
1.0 mi away
NH Maastricht
NH Maastricht
#10 of 38 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht

Property: Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
Address: Stationsstraat 40, 6221 BR Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
#8 Family Hotel in Maastricht
#9 Romantic Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampshire - Designhotel Maastricht is just a few minutes’ walk from the central station. The hotel is in the heart of the trendy Wyck district, known for its unique fashion boutiques, delicatessens, antique shops, interior and design shops and art galleries. The old city centre is within walking distance; ideal for a city walk along the Markt, Onze Lieve Vrouwebasiliek, ‘t Bassin and Vrijthof, enjoying a terrace cafe along the way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Designhotel Hotel Maastricht
Maastricht Eden Designhotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing