We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky but falling short on few small things”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Funky but falling short on few small things”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

The design of the hotel was funky and my room was spacious and “artistic”, as advertised. However, there were a few basic things that were lacking, especially with regards to cleanliness. The room had been cleaned and there were fresh towels but there were still a few whiskers on the sink (from a man shaving), grease spots on otherwise crisp white sheets, and an orange rim of mold to the shower curtain. Other small things that were overlooked like I had a memo pad beside the phone but no pen. Also, even though the room was huge, the hanging area for clothing was insufficient. Lastly, the noise from outside did not seem to be buffered, even several floors up.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Helpful?
Thank WellTraveled_888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sita T, General Manager at Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay in our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you liked your stay and apologise for the apparent shortfall on cleaningservice in your room. The comments of our guests help us to remain alert and improve constantly ! We hope to have the pleasure and honour of welcoming you once again in the near future.
With thanks and kind regards on behalf of Team Designhotel Maastricht & Brasserie FLO,
Sita Tadema - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    610
    227
    85
    21
See reviews for
133
845
24
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
354 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nhights at a conference. Ideally situated in central city area. Interesting decor in hotel and the rooms which made it a good place to stay for those nights. nice food in restaurant and a comfortable bar as well. Nice for a business trip but would be ideal for a city visit as well

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drpeterr23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sita T, General Manager at Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive review and so good to read that you enjoyed both the stay in our hotel as ýour moments in our Bar & Brasserie FLO.
More than Welcome to come back for a citytrip of course & thank you for recommending us.
With kind regards on behalf of Team Designhotel Maastricht & Brasserie FLO,
Sita Tadema - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The hotel is only a short walk from the station (100 meters). From there the city center is just a short walk. The rooms are not very 'design' like if you ask me but suffice for a short weekend trip. I think the hotel offers good value for money and would consider returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank MattB757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

In a few words, as writing the whole story would be too much; if you are looking for a luxury hotel dont book the design hotel. The staff/intern that was helping us was inexperienced and not helpful at all, the only person that helped us with the wrong room problem was Kiki and for that big thanks to her. We wasted 40 min waiting for a technician that never came and the staff did not bother to inform us. Also, the breakfast is a waste of money, very limited choice.
The nice part about the hotel are the beds! We both enjoyed a good night sleep, but for the money you pay i am sure you can find some other great hotels.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asia G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

on our arrival we were offered a bowl of soup which was very welcome after a long journey the staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome. the room was basic and clean but as we were over for a couple of days to see the Andre Rieu concert it was fine.
The hotel is very close to the station which is handy and easy to find and close enough to walk into town and to the market all in all we had a lovely stay. and are hoping to go back next year,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AeroScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Overall we enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The idea of being surrounded by art during your vacation is a wonderful concept and the town of Maastricht is a MUST SEE for anyone visiting Holland, in our opinion. We’ve been to Holland several times and have cycled all around Amsterdam and the north but this was our first trip to the south. The cycling down here is excellent and the town is a hidden gem.

It is easy to see that when the hotel itself first opened it would have been beautiful, however it is now tired and in need of a renovation. The common areas of the hotel are run down with stains on carpets, a lack of attention to detail (such as the bad astro-turf covering on a lower roof) and a general dirty feel to many of the common areas. On the up side the staff were fairly friendly but I’d say below average for our encounters in Maastricht, and the self-serve lounge was very cool.

Our room (comfort XL) was large, clean and had an interesting décor. The open concept, in my opinion, is taken a little too far with the shower and sink in the middle of the room. It also broke up the spaces of the room in an un-natural way. At least this room had a self-contained water closet with a toilet, however the lights for this little room were on the same switch for the rest of the living area which meant a late night trip to the loo required either fumbling in pitch dark or turning on all the lights in the room. The a/c in the room worked fabulously despite record temperatures outside.

To the owners, please put a little more tlc into this hotel, it is well worth saving but at present is fast becoming a 3 star hotel for budget travelers.

Room Tip: It is well worth paying a little extra for the larger, nicer rooms in this hotel based upon our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CdnExPats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Our room was NOT as shown on the site we used to book it. The furnishings were sparse and in very poor condition. In fact the couch was so badly stained we didn't use it!! The bed itself was very comfortable, but the linen was too small for it!! Our room was at a close angle to the one next door, so we had to keep windows and curtains closed as we could've shaken hands with our neighbours!!! If we did open the windows, we had the noise of a fan and staff downstairs. Staff were friendly enough, but they cancelled our room key three times as they kept getting our booking wrong! Room service was OK but, again, staff got our order wrong and at 10.00am the next morning, our empty tray was still outside our room and hadn't been collected. This hotel could be a LOT better if attention was paid to detail: practical hanging space, clean carpets, furniture that isn't ready for the town dump etc., It's in a great location and has many good points, but some fundamental faults.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esme23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.1 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#6 of 38 in Maastricht
1,302 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
#11 of 38 in Maastricht
713 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#2 of 38 in Maastricht
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#3 of 38 in Maastricht
1,348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Beaumont
Hotel Beaumont
#5 of 38 in Maastricht
1,114 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Dutch
The Dutch
#1 of 38 in Maastricht
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht

Property: Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
Address: Stationsstraat 40, 6221 BR Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
#8 Family Hotel in Maastricht
#9 Romantic Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampshire - Designhotel Maastricht is just a few minutes’ walk from the central station. The hotel is in the heart of the trendy Wyck district, known for its unique fashion boutiques, delicatessens, antique shops, interior and design shops and art galleries. The old city centre is within walking distance; ideal for a city walk along the Markt, Onze Lieve Vrouwebasiliek, ‘t Bassin and Vrijthof, enjoying a terrace cafe along the way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Designhotel Hotel Maastricht
Maastricht Eden Designhotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing