We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, loved the breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We were able to book return train tickets & hotel for €100 through a special deal and this was the only hotel in Maastricht participating, normally we go to the Beaumont. The location of this hotel is great, it's right beside the station and a short walk to the city centre. We had a room on the first floor overlooking the street and were worried the noise would prevent us from sleeping but it didn't. Room was basic but was clean and comfortable. I did miss having tea/coffee/water available and an extra pillow but that's a minor 'complaint'.

The breakfast was super. Everything was really fresh and delicious. We enjoyed a big bowl of fresh fruit then eggs and fresh bread with salmon. We would return here for the breakfast alone!

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking the street.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klompen25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sita T, General Manager at Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thank you very much for your lively and positive review on our hotel, as well as the "RoomTip".
I apologise for the lack of the extra pillow. As for a coffee/tea maker ; these facillities are indeed not standard in our "basic" rooms. If you choose to come back to our hotel, it will be our pleasure to provide these facilities.

In the hope of the pleasure to welcome you again in the future, I remain,
on behalf of the entire team of Designhotel Maastricht & Brasserie FLO,
Sincerely,
Sita Tadema / general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,444)
There are newer reviews for Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 1,444 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed at the Designhotel on business. Despite not having my reservation, any admin trouble was quickly cleared up by the lovely staff.

The room was very interesting, spacious, modern etc. The comfy bed was on a raised platform, which I only noticed when I walked straight into it (moody lighting threw me off!). I then quickly noticed the lack of bathroom. It turns out that the bathrooms are across the hall (not shared, just separate the the bedroom space). I think this is is quite sensible, as that way, you get extra space in the bedroom.

Only got the chance to have breakfast the once, which is a real shame as it was quite tasty. I did notice some breakfast bubbly was available, but couldn't indulge as I was off to see a client.

I look forward to staying here again in the future, hopefully for long enough to enjoy some dinner too!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed a few days in a pretty room, with view on the street near the river Maas. Walking a few minutes and your in the centre of the town. The restaurant is average, especially for vegetarians. Happily there are a lot of fine restaurants in the city.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenTrudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I stayed here two nights in room 105 (Bollinger room). This room has no windows, which I knew so that was no problem. The theme is Bollinger and that is nicely done. Bathroom was all black and looked nice. Problem was that it was too dark and there was not enough light around the mirror.
The location is very good. Near the centre and nice shopping streets and near to the train station.
Breakfast is ok.
My only problem was that I stayed two nights and my room was not cleaned after the first night. This is a bit of a disappointment and you would not expect this in a hotel like this and with this price.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rotterdamerik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Nice location near to town and the station with parking on the street nearby. Lots of restaurants close by. Room is fine including shower stall which I like compared to a tub. They have a small gym which is not typical of most hotels in the area. Nothing amazing on the upside but also nothing wrong.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
Thank TravelerSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We were given a room (standard type) at the ground floor, with the window facing a small terrace with some fences and then the street! To access this room one had to pass through a very small hallway with old and dirty carpet, and storage and other hotel staff facilities were also there.
The room itself was good enough for the price paid, but no design at all except for a "nice" lamp. There were no power sockets close to the bed, and the TV was pretty small. The bathroom was clean enough, not perfect though.
I would not advise anyone to eat the FLO "small" lunch bar. The food wasn't good and, with almost no one sitting at the tables, we were hardly considered by waiters and had to wait for them for ages every time we had a request.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlessandroLN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We were first surprised by not having a toilet and shower in the room and the room was not-design in any means, so upgraded to a suite after some hassling. The furnishing in the suite was worn out and lacked any practical concepts (e.g. toilet door which should close and is not see-through, mirror and sink at 3m distance making shaving in the morning a hassle) and the water for the shower did not get warm. All in all disappointed in light of expected design features, room quality to what was presented on website as well as to similarly priced and visited hotels in Maastricht.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
#11 of 38 in Maastricht
730 reviews
0.1 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#6 of 38 in Maastricht
1,314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#2 of 38 in Maastricht
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Beaumont
Hotel Beaumont
#5 of 38 in Maastricht
1,138 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#3 of 38 in Maastricht
1,376 reviews
1.0 mi away
NH Maastricht
NH Maastricht
#12 of 38 in Maastricht
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht

Address: Stationsstraat 40, 6221 BR Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
#8 Family Hotel in Maastricht
#9 Romantic Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range: $110 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampshire - Designhotel Maastricht is just a few minutes’ walk from the central station. The hotel is in the heart of the trendy Wyck district, known for its unique fashion boutiques, delicatessens, antique shops, interior and design shops and art galleries. The old city centre is within walking distance; ideal for a city walk along the Markt, Onze Lieve Vrouwebasiliek, ‘t Bassin and Vrijthof, enjoying a terrace cafe along the way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Designhotel Hotel Maastricht
Maastricht Eden Designhotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing