We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice place for some days Maastricht” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Townhouse Hotel Maastricht

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place for some days Maastricht”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Nice hotel near the train station of maastricht. We couldn't stay at the hotel, they got us an apartment near the hotel. The room was very nice, living room, kitchen and a separate bedroom. Very nice to stay there. The breakfast was at the hotel location, good breakfast with fresh bread. Definitely a hotel to remember and come back to.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miegaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HipHotelMartenslane, Manager at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Miegaa,


Thank you very much for your great review!

Good to hear that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel.

We hope to see you again in our hotel in the near future!

Kind regards,
Team Townhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    496
    116
    33
    14
See reviews for
91
641
48
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We booked a room for 1 night in the Hip Hotel St Martenslane on Booking.com at a very cheap price (was the only one available).

When we got to the hotel they told us it was overbooked and we got a room in the Townhouse hotel.

The room was very small, a view of walls outside, and the bathroom door did not provide any privacy at all.
But hey it was clean, the bed comfortable, weird design though, fit for gymnasts ;-)
The tv worked fine, you know, all the comfort for a one night stay :-)

The reception was super friendly, Gaby helped us check in and pointed out where to go for dinner etc.

The living room is nice and cosy, we got a warm cup of soup as a welcome, there is fruit available, magazines, books, comfy couches, board games, ... very homey. It was a nice place to chill after getting back in from a cold rainy walk.

Breakfast was very good, traditional good Dutch breakfast, plenty of choice, we enjoyed it.

Location: about a 10 min easy walk from the city centre through a nice street with shops and restaurants. Right next to the train station.

Parking: we paid for secure parking, 15 euro for 1 day. And then added 5 euro to park the car there after check out so we could go shopping in peace.

Would we go back? Yes I think so, I was a bit disappointed with the room cause I wanted to show my partner where I'd stayed before (hip hotel st martenslane) but for this price it was great value.

Very friendly service with a smile!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ndfeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HipHotelMartenslane, Manager at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Ndfeed,

Thank you very much for your review!

Good to hear that you had a nice stay in our hotel.

We hope we may welcome you again in our hotel in the future!

Kind regards,
Team Townhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
254 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We arrived by train so the location was great, across the road. The welcome was lovely, check-in fast and efficient, great family feel to the dining room, beautiful sense of design in the rooms - clean lines, spacious, scandinavian feel. Really clean rooms, really helpful staff, close to town.

The sign outside banged all night, right under our window. The cyclists travelling home at night at all hours, 2 and 3 to a bike, made for great entertainment. We gazed out the window for hours - this was fine because it was the first night of our holiday. I am sure the staff would have fixed the banging sign has we been staying longer

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HipHotelMartenslane, Manager at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear glts,

Thank you very much for this great review!

Good to hear that you had such a nice stay.
We hope that we may welcome you again in the future!

We wish you all the best for 2013!

Kind regards,

Team Townhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We were two girls on a girly-weekend without husbands and kids. our first aim: to get some sleep! that´s why we upgrades our basic room to medium to be sure we are not staying in a room in front of the mainstation of mastricht which lies directly in front of the hotel. and we definetely got a lot of sleep, becoause the room was quiet and got really dark when we shut the shades. great!

what we didn´t like was that the bathroom is not really separated from the rest of the room which is relaxing if you want to have some privacy...and there is no heating in the bathroom at all so that is was really cold-a no go! the shower was great though. the room was too small for its category and we missed a real wardrobe.

the staff was really friendly and helpful. it ist really good that the reception is opened 24h a day. the breakfast is not cheap but really worth its money! we loved it. great service´: a luggage room where you can park your baggage after check out and umbrellas to borrow for free.

conclusion: we might come back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank koertchen08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HipHotelMartenslane, Manager at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear koertchen08,


Thank you very much for this review!

Good to hear that you had a nice stay in our hotel!
Thank you for your advice points, we are going to discuss these.

We hope we may welcome you in the near future again in our hotel!


Kind regards,
Team Townhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We were greeted by friendly staff. The hotel itself is very nice, modern, clean, and we had a spacious room. It's walking distance to the city centre, and a nice walk crossing a bridge, passing shops, etc. Big chances we will return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterMorli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HipHotelMartenslane, Manager at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear PeterMorli,

We would like to thank you for your great review!

It pleases us that you had a good stay with us.

We hope that we may welcome you once again in Maastricht!

Kind regards,

Team Townhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This was my first stay in the Townhouse and my first visit to Maastricht. I really enjoyed the friendliness of the staff and the open-minded and honesty-based atmosphere in the hotel and the way they deal with the hotel bar. The rooms are quite modern with interesting art applied to the walls and interesting books as literature. The bathrooms contain little radios installed inside the walls and mine went off at 2am, making a horrible noise. It took me a while to figure out that this wasn't a neighbor watching an overly loud TV show.

I can highly recommend this place if you want to have an interesting experience. The breakfast is really great and above standard.

Room Tip: My room was close to the reception but still quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lerche35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HipHotelMartenslane, Manager at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear ierche35,

Thank you very much for this great review!

Good to hear that you had a good stay with us.

Hopefully we may welcome you again in the future!

Kind regards,

Team Townhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Lovely hotel for a couple of days in the surprisingly lovely town of maastricht. Nice staff - perfect English spoken. Little touches that make it special like welcome soup. Honesty system for the hotel bar. You tell them what you had and they put it on the room. Rooms were compact but neat and clean with the design touches you would hope to find in a proper modern boutique hotel. Only slight niggle was that the pillows weren't much cop. If I had stayed 2 nights I would have asked for another!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank homeclubbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HipHotelMartenslane, Manager at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear homeclubbing,

Thank you very much for this nice review!

We wild take your advise points cocnerning the pillows in consideration.

We hope that we may welcome you once again in Maastricht!

Kind regards,

team Townhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.9 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#1 of 40 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 stars 917 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
0.1 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#2 of 40 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 stars 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
NH Maastricht
NH Maastricht
#8 of 40 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 899 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Beaumont
Hotel Beaumont
#4 of 40 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 909 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht
#11 of 40 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse Hotel Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel Maastricht

Property: Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Address: St. Maartenslaan 5, 6221 AV Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Townhouse Hotel Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Townhouse Designhotel is a unique hotel in Maastricht. You are our guest and not just an overnight visitor. We offer authentic hospitality and southern local coziness, decorated in a modern style. Winner of the IMMENS CSR award 2014! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Townhouse Hotel Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing