We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great ambiance and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Matuchi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Matuchi
Ranked #25 of 41 Hotels in Maastricht
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great ambiance and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Gay-friendly, comfortable, beautiful rooms, clean and decent bathroom (not big), friendly staff.

Not for people who carry big/heavy suitcases as there are only steep stairs, no elevator. Perfect for young backpackers, light travelers.

Room Tip: There are rooms in front (more crowded street) and back. We had no trouble with noise but might be d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    32
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
7
30
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located in the centre of Maastricht. The staff are friendly and there is a comfortable little bar on the ground floor. The beds and bathroom are clean although the room is very small.

I had problems with two features of the hotel. Our room is located on the first floor and the windows face the air conditioning units. These units are very noisy and the outflow from the units left an unpleasant smell in the room. Also the main door of the hotel was very difficult to open with the key. At some time someone will be locked out.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ALreporting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

A bit "hit and miss" this hotel which is a shame as I would like it to be successful. It is imaginatively decorated around a Moroccan theme and is quirky and interesting throughout. The staff are friendly and helpful and the bar area is lovely. The building itself however, is (like Maastricht) very old and access to the rooms is difficult as it is by climbing several flights of steep, narrow, twisty stairs. The rooms are furnished comfortably but are pretty basic, with little storage room. The worst part of my experience was getting locked out of my room late at night and having to sleep in another (unoccupied) room until the door to mine could be opened in the morning. The lock giving access to the rooms from the street was also temperamental for everyone, and it is only a matter of time until someone gets locked out of the hotel overnight.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beardy_Ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The staff was very helpful and friendly when we showed up at 7pm asking for a room for the night. The room was well decorated and clean so we took it without giving much consideration to the fact that it was above a cocktail bar and on a fairly busy street. Unfortunately both of these things made it quite difficult to get good sleep later that night and the following morning. It's in a great location, just moments away from shops, restaurants, bars, and the river. For one night it was adequate, though for EUR 80 without breakfast it is perhaps slightly overpriced.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms directly on the road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scarletmelete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Maastricht seems to have a many over-priced hotels with variable standards of quality, so the Hotel Matuchi deserves praise for being clean, friendly, offering free internet, large rooms, and being in an excellent location. It is a good choice for young independent travelers: prices are reasonable, there is a hookah/shisha lounge, restaurant, and cocktail bar on the first floor that offers a bit of an interesting scene in a city that otherwise seems overly sanitized. However, I don't think I'd personally stay there again. It feels less like a hotel than like staying in your Aunt's attic after she got back from a trip to Morocco and decided to decorate it with souvenirs. There aren't the usual amenities (such as a closet/wardrobe), and the building doesn't seem quite structurally sound. Be advised that there is a very steep and narrow staircase that would be difficult to navigate with heavy luggage.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zydec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stayed at this hotel during TEFAF and, whilst the staff were nice I cannot sat the same for my experience. The room I was put in had at least two broken light bulbs so it was incredibly dim and difficult to see. There was no wardrobe and no hangers so I was not able to hang any of my clothes. There was no hair dryer and no soap, after asking I did eventually manage to get hold of an iron. I spent a long sleepless night listening to every guest ascend the stairs which caused my bathroom door to rattle in its hinges and you can only get wifi in the dark and smoky bar/restaurant area.
I sampled the food one evening, choosing lamb tagine. Considering this place markets itself as Moroccan inspired I was expecting something nice, what arrived was not a tagine (no shallots, no dates or apricots, no cous cous, no almonds etc.). It was a lamb stew and a very very bland one at that. I resent paying for food when I could have cooked this myself and it would have tasted infinitely better.
All in all, a pretty awful experience. The one good thing is the location, perfect if you want to explore the city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmanamanana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

There are two doors to the hotel, rooms to the right and the restaurant to the left the check in is done in the restaurant which was very easy and the staff were very friendly. The rooms are up a very steep set of steps so if you have heavy luggage I can see it being a huge problem, the room was very clean. In the evening the restaurant becomes busy and there is loud music, which fortunately did stop at around 12.30 as I was on the first flight out in the morning. The ambience would suit young travellers passing through Maastricht. It is very central which you could not fault.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sebax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.5 mi away
Botel Maastricht
Botel Maastricht
#35 of 41 in Maastricht
3.0 of 5 stars 92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel De la Bourse
Hotel De la Bourse
#30 of 41 in Maastricht
3.5 of 5 stars 123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel Grote Gracht
Boutique Hotel Grote Gracht
#29 of 41 in Maastricht
3.5 of 5 stars 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mabi
Hotel Mabi
#15 of 41 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 381 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Colombe
Hotel La Colombe
#39 of 41 in Maastricht
3.0 of 5 stars 71 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Au Quartier
Hotel Au Quartier
#28 of 41 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Matuchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Matuchi

Property: Hotel Matuchi
Address: Kleine Gracht 34, 6211 CB Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 41 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Matuchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing