We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Modern Hotel in Historic Maastrict” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Derlon Hotel Maastricht

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Derlon Hotel Maastricht
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
95 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Modern Hotel in Historic Maastrict”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2010

I stayed at the Hotel Derlon for 6 days for a conference in Maastricht. While it wasn't close the MECC, it was centrally located in the historic part of the city as well as very close to fantastic shopping area.

This is a boutique hotel and a bit different than what I'm used to as a US traveler. When the taxi dropped me off, it was the 'restaurant' entrance and I was confused. The hotel front desk shares space with the restaurant/bar. Once I got past that confusion, things went fine.

For a European hotel, the room was spacious and nicely appointed. It's a modern hotel, and the decor reflect that. Clean lines. As a business traveler, I was thrilled at the desk space I had.

The bathroom was a decent size and the amenities a step above, including ear plugs, loofah, and my favorite: a rubber duck. The water pressure was good, the tub size decent. It had a full shower curtain, which was nice.

What makes the Derlon stand out is that there are Roman excavations in the lower levels of the hotel. When you have your breakfast, you are literally surrounded by history. The downside is that if you don't read Dutch, you miss out on what you're looking at. Still, it's a nice atmosphere.

The staff was friendly and very helpful. We had to coordinate transportation for several of our attendees, and they helped out. The only downside of the hotel is that there was no business center at all.

I'm looking forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belasaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    119
    68
    20
    7
See reviews for
31
161
6
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2010

This hotel is stylish, quiet, comfortable and cool! Great location, really amazingly helpful and professional staff and having breakfast around a museum/excavation was quite remarkable. Good bathroom, nice room and very comfortable bed! Eat at Beluga if you get the chance!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2010

We loved the location of this hotel, on a beautiful square and very convenient for shopping and sightseeing. The service was excellent and friendly. But I must say the room was rather small and the bathroom wasn't really super (shower in the tub with a clinging plastic curtain etc.). It certainly wasn't uncomfortable, but for the price they charge it isn't what you would expect.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NetherlandsSabine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2010

This hotel is in a good location, walking distance from station, good restaurants, lovely shops etc. Staff were really helpful and provided everything we asked for. Information given by girls at desk about things to do with our toddler was brilliant. The room was clean and spacious. Would return here.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenSKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, Netherlands
Level Contributor
153 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2010

The location is great! It's in the middle of the city center with other squares within close walking distance. The entrance is a bit weird, with a simple desk as a reception area (no lobby, lobbyis used as restaurant). The staff is very helpfull. We received information about the city. Also there was free internet. The room was big, with 2 chairs and a big desk. The price is very high, but every hotel in the neighbourhood has similar prices. We didn't breakfast, because the price was to high (25 euro p.p.) and there are enough cafes in the area to have a good breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dekpau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Wa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2009

We stayed at the Derlon for four nights to celebrate a family birthday. The hotel is decorated in a modern style with interesting artwork in the rooms. The furnishings are very modern Scandinavian in feel and the beds were very comfortable.
We had a lunch and several before-dinner drinks in the small restaurant and the service was attentive. The breakfast is plentiful; fans of both European-style and American-style breakfasts will go away satisfied. On weekends it is served in the basement where the Roman ruin exhibit is--that was interesting but all the notes I saw were in Dutch so didn't really learn about them!
I had a cold one day and stayed in the room dozing. When my husband returned the cleaning staff had left a bag hanging from the door with clean towels and toiletry refills.
The hotel is on a square in the mainly-pedestrian (but watch out for the bikes!) district in the part of town near the river. Lots of shops and interesting sightseeing in easy walking distance in every direction.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K2DangerGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mons-Belgium
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2009

we just spent one night in the Derlon, made use of their summer special (including breakfast and free parking ticket). Location is perfect and our room was ok, breakfast a litlle bit poor for this kind of hotel. A convenient hotel but no whaouw effect.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aliaslili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.4 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#2 of 38 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
#11 of 38 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Beaumont
Hotel Beaumont
#4 of 38 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#1 of 38 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
0.5 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#5 of 38 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derlon Hotel Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derlon Hotel Maastricht

Property: Derlon Hotel Maastricht
Address: Onze Lieve Vrouweplein 6, 6211 HD Maastricht, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Derlon Hotel Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The roots of the four star Derlon Hotel Maastricht are directly located on the Onze Lieve Vrouweplein. Did you know there was a lot activity on this charming square during the Roman times already? Hotel guests praise the personal service at Derlon, whose name is an homage to the French chef cook Louis Desiré Derlon. The location of the restaurant and hotel is not easy to beat: just around the corner you can find the stylish Stokstraatkwartier where French-looking streets lead you to the exclusive shops and boutiques in the famous Stokstraat. For a tasty lunch or dinner culinary Maastricht lies at your feet. Culinary delights accompanied by a glass of good wine, for example during fine weather on the terrace of Restaurant Derlon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Derlon Hotel Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing