We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Sleek hotel in perfectly charming setting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Derlon Hotel Maastricht

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Derlon Hotel Maastricht
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Wa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sleek hotel in perfectly charming setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2009

We stayed at the Derlon for four nights to celebrate a family birthday. The hotel is decorated in a modern style with interesting artwork in the rooms. The furnishings are very modern Scandinavian in feel and the beds were very comfortable.
We had a lunch and several before-dinner drinks in the small restaurant and the service was attentive. The breakfast is plentiful; fans of both European-style and American-style breakfasts will go away satisfied. On weekends it is served in the basement where the Roman ruin exhibit is--that was interesting but all the notes I saw were in Dutch so didn't really learn about them!
I had a cold one day and stayed in the room dozing. When my husband returned the cleaning staff had left a bag hanging from the door with clean towels and toiletry refills.
The hotel is on a square in the mainly-pedestrian (but watch out for the bikes!) district in the part of town near the river. Lots of shops and interesting sightseeing in easy walking distance in every direction.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K2DangerGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    119
    68
    20
    7
See reviews for
31
161
6
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mons-Belgium
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2009

we just spent one night in the Derlon, made use of their summer special (including breakfast and free parking ticket). Location is perfect and our room was ok, breakfast a litlle bit poor for this kind of hotel. A convenient hotel but no whaouw effect.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aliaslili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
100 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2009

The Location of the hotel is great, just outside are so many restaurants, bars, cafes and shops, right in the centre of Maastricht, however I wouldn’t call this a 4 star hotel, checking in is more like checking into a youth hostel or worse. The Reception is shared with the Bar and it is extremely dirty both day and night. The only thing visible are dirty glasses and more dirty glasses, plus even the receptionist is busy sipping what seams to be a glass of coke as you are trying to check in friends! Also there was a bad odour in the air.
Service is not great, there is no friendly atmosphere, no style and no class. Rooms are modest. There are no lifts at all especially when you are on the 3rd floor with extremely steep and narrow stairs.
Personally I would not reserve any more rooms for people in this hotel. If I were staying here I would be checking out the moment I saw all the dirty glasses everywhere.
Health and safety should arrive for a surprise visit!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank euroboyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rotterdam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2009

Hotel Derlon is the ideal place for a romantic holiday. Superb interior, great breakfast, good beds, nice staff. The loation in the heart of Maastricht is superb.

  • Liked — the design-rooms
  • Disliked — the breakfastroom in the basement
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltrixRotterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.4 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#2 of 38 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
#12 of 38 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Beaumont
Hotel Beaumont
#4 of 38 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#1 of 38 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
0.5 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#5 of 38 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derlon Hotel Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derlon Hotel Maastricht

Property: Derlon Hotel Maastricht
Address: Onze Lieve Vrouweplein 6, 6211 HD Maastricht, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Derlon Hotel Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The roots of the four star Derlon Hotel Maastricht are directly located on the Onze Lieve Vrouweplein. Did you know there was a lot activity on this charming square during the Roman times already? Hotel guests praise the personal service at Derlon, whose name is an homage to the French chef cook Louis Desiré Derlon. The location of the restaurant and hotel is not easy to beat: just around the corner you can find the stylish Stokstraatkwartier where French-looking streets lead you to the exclusive shops and boutiques in the famous Stokstraat. For a tasty lunch or dinner culinary Maastricht lies at your feet. Culinary delights accompanied by a glass of good wine, for example during fine weather on the terrace of Restaurant Derlon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Derlon Hotel Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing