We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Heart of town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Derlon Hotel Maastricht

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Derlon Hotel Maastricht
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Heart of town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Great hotel in heart of town in walking distance of central square. Vibrant with a lot of shops and restaurants around . Excellent reception who are quick to respond on all matters. Food is also good and they have a nice public area . Next to a very old church it gives a real medieval feel. Rooms are modern and comfortable . Lift is terribly slow. It has an underground restaurant where there are Roman ruins - but is not too great to see . Overall a nice central place and worth staying .Parking is at a short distance underground park and is concessional

Room Tip: Room facing main room in lower floor but limited view due to small windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RamDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    113
    63
    17
    7
See reviews for
29
152
6
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I was definitely more impressed with this hotel than I expected! We had requested and received a quiet room and our room facing the inside was definitely quiet. Windows opened and had nice shades that were either for light filtering/privacy or to make the room dark. (There was also AC, but we didn't need it during our stay.) Room was quite large by European standards, very clean. Comfy beds. Plenty of little amenities - soap, shampoo, conditioner, bath gel, dental kit, sewing kit, shower cap. Robes and slippers available for use. The mini-bar had some space for us to add a few items of our own. The coffeemaker was a Nespresso machine - which makes great espresso (though, if you haven't seen one before, you might want to view operating directions online). Staff in the lobby were very helpful with things to do and local restaurant recommendations. They were good at making sure the recommendations fit us, not just generic standard answers they give everyone. It's location made it very walkable to shopping, Univ. of Maastricht, and the train station. Our bathroom had a frosted glass door that swung in both directions. We thought is was cute, but if two people are sharing the room who don't know each other well, they might feel like it wasn't private enough. For someone staying several nights, the room had drawers, shelves, and a fair number of hangers to allow you to settle in and keep your stuff organized.

We didn't eat the breakfast or in the restaurant, so I can't comment on those. I definitely go back if I ever return to the area.

Room Tip: Be sure to request if you want a quiet room or if you want to be directing facing the main square de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank novicetravellgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Recently stayed at the Hotel Derlon as I was attending a conference. Could not have been a better choice. Centrally located with a wonderful square outside, the hotel is modern, clean and relaxed. The service was warm, friendly and helpful. I had to make changes to my booking prior to arriving and also after I had arrived and the staff could not have been more accommodating. The food was excellent. I'd read some comments before about the noise on the square at night disturbing other guests. My room faced the square and while people sat out at night having dinner and trucks came by early in the morning it was no big deal for me, but then I'm an early riser. You are in a city and all cities have noise. If you hate noise don't ask for a room facing the square. I found the location, service and hotel to be wonderful. Planning to return in the future.

Room Tip: Facing the square was delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ksullivanvance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Maastricht for starters, what a great place to visit. Very picturesque and perfect for a weekend away. I was here on business, but never mind. The Derlon sits on a square complete with cobbled streets, cafes and cute shops. Nice setting for sure. The hotel itself could probably be described as contemporary chic within an older building. Check in very easy and facilitated by the fact that the reception knew my driver and had anticipated my arrival. Not the norm. My room was on the (top) 3rd floor which was once part of the roof, I think and for that reason had more character than a usual room, benefitting from some eaves slope and being multi mirrored to maximize the light. It worked well and was both comfortable and stylish at the same time. The room service food was not what I expected, no burger and fries on the menu. King prawn tagliatelli well presented followed by frozen yoghurt and forest fruits. Comfortable bed but here is the real bonus, air conditioning which actually works without a huge noise from the grille. A rare treat and worth an extra mark or two. Breakfast was also a treat, the restaurant is in the basement where there is some historical digging and excavation, entering the place is more like going into a night club with ambient lighting and red uplighters from the stone tiled floor. But quite soothing, who wants bright lights first thing in the day? Excellent food. All in all very good and I will be back next time.

Room Tip: 3rd floor overlooking the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank how1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saskatoon, saskatchewan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

PERFECT location on a beautiful square. Could walk everywhere with ease on either side of the river and in the historic core. Odd arrangement for check-in in the bar area. We had a room on the back side, with windows that opened onto the roof of adjacent building, hence very quiet. Excellent breakfast for a hotel in Europe. Interesting archaeology in the basement where the breakfast area was located. Nice linens, bathroom and fixtures. On time wakeup call done by a "real" person. Nespresso machine was a nice surprise but a few more capsules would have been appreciated. Very friendly and accommodating staff with late checkout and holding of the bags. As our room was not ready when we arrived, espresso and biscuits were served to us. Thoughtful.
We would stay there again, however it is pricey.

Room Tip: For quietness, ask for the back side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank casacabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putten, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

If you're planning to stay a few days in the wonderful town of Maastricht, there's no better place to stay around the area of Onze Lieve Vrouweplein. There are lots of good restaurants, bars and shops in the immediate vicinity. The Derlon hotel is situated at this excellent location. The hotel is a mixed bag of nice design, atmosphere and outdated interior (the stairs and halls need an update!). Quirky but lovable. My room was clean and nice, situated at the front side where you could see the whole square with the terraces. Which brings me to the biggest negative: the rooms aren't really insulated well, so you can hear a lot of noises from outside. This was a problem in the early morning when touring busses are parked in the front of the hotel and kept me awake.

Still, the was the third time I stayed at this hotel, and I'm planning to return in the future. There's much charm and identity in this hotel to recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank divid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two nights last week and had a pleasant stay. Staff are very friendly, entrance of the hotel is through the bar so it doesn't feel like entering a hotel. Outside on the hotel terrace there was live music when I arrived on Sunday afternoon (Jazz). I was in a standard room on the second floor, basic hotel interior, quite spacious and bright with lots of mirrors and windows. My room overlooked the side of the OLV church, so no one looking in the room and quiet but for the church bells sounding on the hour. Very clean room and bathroom (shower over bath), good bed, nespresso machine and paper cups in the room. I had breakfast downstairs in the bar/café area, good coffee, breakfast basic. The best thing about this hotel is its location right in the centre of Maastricht at the OLV square!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.4 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#2 of 41 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 stars 1,025 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Beaumont
Hotel Beaumont
#4 of 41 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 933 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
#11 of 41 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#1 of 41 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 stars 305 reviews
0.5 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#5 of 41 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 1,145 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derlon Hotel Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derlon Hotel Maastricht

Property: Derlon Hotel Maastricht
Address: Onze Lieve Vrouweplein 6, 6211 HD Maastricht, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Derlon Hotel Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The roots of the four star Derlon Hotel Maastricht are directly located on the Onze Lieve Vrouweplein. Did you know there was a lot activity on this charming square during the Roman times already? Hotel guests praise the personal service at Derlon, whose name is an homage to the French chef cook Louis Desiré Derlon. The location of the restaurant and hotel is not easy to beat: just around the corner you can find the stylish Stokstraatkwartier where French-looking streets lead you to the exclusive shops and boutiques in the famous Stokstraat. For a tasty lunch or dinner culinary Maastricht lies at your feet. Culinary delights accompanied by a glass of good wine, for example during fine weather on the terrace of Restaurant Derlon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Derlon Hotel Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing