We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place - oasis in Heerlen”
Review of Kasteel Terworm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kasteel Terworm
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Heerlen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Beautiful spot with nice terrace and top notch restaurant. Surprisingly affordable - I was in annex which may well be cheaper than castle. Huge room!. Book early to get into the restaurant as it is popular with non- residents.

Room Tip: Go for the annex for value
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graffhamboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
There are newer reviews for Kasteel Terworm
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 280 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2011

Hotel looks great on arrival - so pretty with a moat fully surrounding it and big wooden gates. We stayed in the annex rather than the main castle but didn't feel this was any diadvantage, other than perhaps views (we overlooked the moat and then the carpark). We paid 125 euros for a double room (suspect the main castle rooms were more); this was booked pretty much last minute online. Our room was spacious and decor was understated, with exposed brickwork and a large bathroom. We wanted to use the swimming pool after a long hot journey, however directions from reception were hazy and we had to return for extra guidance as we went the wrong way. When we got there we were rather disappointed; the swimming pool was basic and not in the same league as Kasteel Tarworm. We ate dinner in the hotel, a very good meal. We enjoyed drinks outside beforehand, which was very romantic overlooking the moat. Service whilst helpful and accomodating was very slow for drinks, menus, food etc. However vegetarian requirements were well catered for. Free parking outside and trolleys to use for luggage which was helpful. Passed on what we felt was a rather pricey breakfast at 18.50 euros each. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Nice castle-hotel. Good food,nice terrace, comfortable room, fine service and very affordable. I paid € 89,- for a double room. You can use the facilities (pool, gym) of the big sister hotel (van der Valk) at just 400m away. It's value for money!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NobRotterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We stayed three nights in one of the turret suites and had a great time. Service is very attentive and pleasant, though quite slow at the otherwise excellent restaurant. Unfortunately, this is often the case in the Netherlands, where the finer restaurants struggle to blend quality and efficiency.
The hotel stands in the middle of a huge park (200ha) sprinkled with historic sites (ruins of other castles, mills), great for long walks or jogging. The castle is very quiet, though it's just a couple of miles from the highway, so easily and quickly accessible, and the town is within walking distance as well.
The rooms are well appointed and have been furnished with antiques, though the renovation was completed some 25 years ago.
We enjoyed the walks and the atmosphere, would easily return again.

Room Tip: The turret suites are spacious and provide 270 degree views of the grounds
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FernandoLanzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

SUPERB! A fantastic location for sure. A bit pricey but well worth it for a romantic weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Papa_Smurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

I was on a business trip along with two of my colleagues to Holland and Germany. Kasteel Terwom was the place we were booked in for the first day's stay. A quiet and impressive hotel. The garden restaurant is an excellent place for an early dinner on a clear evening. Will certainly return if there is to be a next time and I certainly recommend it to all short stay guests who haev work in Maastricht, Parkstad or Heerlen.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goldrusher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2011

We stayed for one night on a drive from UK to Croatia. Really was ideal for us, not far from the motorway and really nice quiet locatation with good parking.
We were greeted very nicely by the receptionist and given an upgrade to a junior suite which was excellent.
Lovely grounds and were woken next morning, not too early by the geese landing in the moat just outside our window.
Really lovely, well priced hotel, would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beaubleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heerlen
0.3 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Heerlen
8.5 mi away
Kasteel Bloemendal
Kasteel Bloemendal
#1 of 2 in Vaals
344 reviews
3.7 mi away
Winselerhof
Winselerhof
#1 of 3 in Landgraaf
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Chateau St. Gerlach
Chateau St. Gerlach
#1 of 46 in Valkenburg
1,686 reviews
8.7 mi away
Bilderberg Kasteel Vaalsbroek
10.5 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasteel Terworm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasteel Terworm

Address: TerWorm 5, 6411 RV Heerlen, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Heerlen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Heerlen
Price Range: $132 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kasteel Terworm 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, HRS, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kasteel Terworm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasteel Terworm Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing