We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Cheap and cheerful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bastion Hotel Heerlen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bastion Hotel Heerlen to your Saves list
Bastion Hotel Heerlen
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   In De Cramer 199, 6412 PM Heerlen, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Heerlen
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Cheap and cheerful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I couldn't fault the staff, very friendly and helpful. After a 3hr drive to standstead a taxi, a train a bus then another taxi we arrived to a welcoming receptionist.(maybe hire a car next time) We even had a good conversation (with the receptionist)about our visit, to watch the European marching band championships, for those band geeks out there that's DCE :) The room was clean and tidy, fairly quiet and sufficient for our needs, beds were comfortable and we certainly slept well. TV had many English channels and Free, yes FREE Wi-fi, they offered smoking and non smoking rooms and even had a smoking lounge. The only downfall was the bar, unfortunately we didn't get to experience it :( we returned to the hotel at 23.45 only to be told the bar was closed very disappointing. Overall I would say it was a well £50.00 spent the only reason we wouldn't stay here again was the fact that the public transport, (bus) didn't go near the hotel so we spent a lot of money on taxi's which btw every driver we had was very friendly:)

Room Tip: Check out the bar opening times
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank claire76_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Heerlen, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again at our hotel in Heerlen.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    21
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
5
12
Solo
0
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

We stayed here for one night on our way to Austria in October. We arrived very late, at about 1am, but this was no problem and the staff were extremely helpful and polite both on arrival and in morning at breakfast and check-out. Excellent English spoken. Rooms are Travelodge quality and beds were very comfortable. Rooms are compact in size but adequate in every way. Bathrooms are wetroom style. Breakfast was a lovely buffet with hot and cold food, and we were offered eggs cooked to our liking - she did this in front of us. The breakfast room/bar area was very cosy with a nice atmosphere.
The only thing we didn't like was the faint chip-fat smell of the towels which indicates they are not laundered separately.
If you've got a Garmin SatNav it will take you to Ikea car park further on down the road, so have a map printed out to help you!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debs_A_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

I really enjoyed my stay this hotel. The people were very friendly and helpful. Also, the eating area had a beautiful view of a garden area.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rascalbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2005

We stayed at the Bastion Hotel in Heerlen this weekend. Originally we had planned on staying in a hotel in Valkenburg, but it turns out it had been closed two weeks earlier due to some liscencing issue. Anyways, we found a room at the Bastion hotel. It is neither nice or cozy, but it was clean and the people working there where more than friendly. The rooms where small and had only a tiny tv, but it was ok as well. Location leaves something to be desired... it is right next to a highway in an industrial area. Comparable to a good Motel 6 room

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heerlen
0.9 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Heerlen
0.9 mi away
Kasteel Terworm
Kasteel Terworm
#2 of 6 in Heerlen
4.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
1.9 mi away
Stadshotel de Paris
Stadshotel de Paris
#4 of 6 in Heerlen
3.5 of 5 stars 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
WinselerHof
WinselerHof
#1 of 3 in Landgraaf
4.0 of 5 stars 356 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel SnowWorld Landgraaf
Hotel SnowWorld Landgraaf
#2 of 3 in Landgraaf
4.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tulip Inn Heerlen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bastion Hotel Heerlen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastion Hotel Heerlen

Property: Bastion Hotel Heerlen
Address: In De Cramer 199, 6412 PM Heerlen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Heerlen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Heerlen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bastion Hotel Heerlen 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bastion Hotel Heerlen offers a 24 hour front office, comfortable rooms and an extensive choice of dishes from the a la carte menu in the atmospheric restaurant. For relaxation and a nice ending of the day guests are always welcome in the cozy hotel bar or smoking lounge. This lounge contains an lcd television and relaxing lounge chairs. The hotel also has free wireless internet in the entire hotel. In the lobby the hotel has a computer available, for guests, for free use of the internet. Domestic animals are not allowed. Bastion Hotel Groep stands for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive rate. Location / accessibility Bastion Heerlen is situated in the northwest of Heerlen and it is easy to be reached by car. The central location gives it a fast connection with Maastricht and Aken, in the surrounding of the Bastion Hotel Heerlen there are a lot of possibilities to go out. Heerlen is known as the greenest city of Holland, central city of Parkcity Limburg, versatile shopping city and great for going out. In Heerlen people are really enjoying the modern Limburg life. Be surprised by the beautiful squares, the historical and modern monuments, the many cosy terraces and the adventurous festivals. Heerlen is a city that takes your breath away. In Heerlen you can also find the Thermen Museum. Where people can see the rests of a Roman Bath house. Ski fanatics can go to Snowworld and sauna fanatics can go to Thermae 2000 in Valkenburg. Aken is only 10 kilometers away from the hotel. Aken is only 10 kilometres away from the hotel and Maastricht only 20 kilometres. Rooms The 40 comfortable rooms in the hotel are equipped with two twin beds, a television, a telephone, a modem, a safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with a shower and toilet. Food & Beverage At Bastion Hotel Heerlen guests can enjoy an extensive continental breakfast buffet, on weekdays from 06.00 Till 09.00 And in weekends from 07.00 Till 10.30. The atmospheric hotel is opened from 11.00 Till 23.00 For lunch and diner. When guests have a very busy schedule they can ask the hotel staff about the possibilities for a lunch package. The cozy hotel bar is opened till 23.30. Parking You can park your car free of charge at the parking of the hotel during your stay depending on availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Bastion Hotel Heerlen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing