We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
City Hotel Groningen
Nearby Hotels
$115
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
NH Groningen(Groningen)
$112
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
University Hotel(Groningen)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza(Groningen)(Great Value!)
$94
$87
Mercure
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$127
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Prinsenhof Hotel(Groningen)
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Best Western Plus Hotel Groningen Plaza(Groningen)(Great Value!)
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Asgard Hotel(Groningen)
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$80
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (941)
Filter reviews
941 results
Traveler rating
276
476
152
26
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
276
476
152
26
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationcasino oppositefree coffeewalking distanceby footplenty of bars and restaurantsfifth floorsteam roomlocation is excellentstayed here for nightsnice hotelcomfortable bedbusiness triprooms are cleannight staynice breakfastparking garage
Filter
Updating list...
153 - 158 of 941 reviews
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Very small room, I was alone, never seen such a small room for 74 euros.
even de hotels formule 1/etap in France where You pay 28-34€ have nicer rooms, but the employes where helpfull.
kleine kamer, behulpzaam personeel, gebouw zonder sfeer en dat in de binnenstad van Groningen.
Ligging is goed.









  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels
Thank yvette s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sjoukje W, Front Office Manager at City Hotel Groningen, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Yvette,

I'm very sorry to hear that we need not meet your expectations.
Thanks a lot for writing this review. With your input we can improve ourselves. We hope we may welcome you again so you can experience that we will do anything to give you a pleasant stay.
Please let us know if you are visiting Groningen again, so we can give you a larger room next time.

Best regards,

Hampshire City Hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The hotel is nicely located in the center of Groningen. The hotel has basic clean rooms with comfortable beds. There is a nice private sauna that the hotel guests can use. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was not really special.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niels-A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sjoukje W, Front Office Manager at City Hotel Groningen, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you for your visit to our hotel and ofcourse for leaving this pleasant review. We hope to welcome you again!

Best regards,

Anita Bosgraaf
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed one night in this hotel and were very pleased. It was reasonably priced and in walking distance from many things in the city center. It was clean and quiet. However, the best thing of all was the staff! The front desk people went out of their way to be helpful and when we commented, they all said, "We are just doing our job". Personable, polite, and charming!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed for three days in a large, comfortable room on the 5th floor. Good amenities, a window that opened for fresh air, very helpful staff who speak excellent English and close to the canal and also the centre of the city. Groningen is a small town, but there's lots to see and this is a great base.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASTAustralia2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Have visited Groningen many times and in this hotel once before. Have to say I did not recall it as being somewhat odd but on last visit I was disappointed. The hotel and rooms were just functional and the window arrangement was odd at top and bottom of wall to say the least with either a very short or very tall person able to see out. Friends staying also had a double room in the basement all very dark and dingy.
Breakfast was frankly hopeless, maybe we missed something but the choice and use the range was total rip off for what was presented.
Parking is difficult and expensive extra. There is a public garage across the street or you can use the hotel garage which is a couple 100 meters away over the canal, so drop your friends first.
I'll be returning again to Groningen but I give this hotel a miss. The staff were generally very pleasant but that won't be enough.

Room Tip: Can't really say as we did not like either of the rooms we were assigned. It was only one night so we were not pushed.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sjoukje W, Manager at City Hotel Groningen, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Dear David and Friends,

I am very sorry to read that your stay with us was dissapointing (it has been a while ago in July). In order to get more detailed information I would like to ask you to send your direct mail details. This might help us to improve our information/service to future guests. For example about the parking information and breakfast choice.

However I would like to thank you for taking the effort to give feedback about your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews