We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cheapish hotel - no frills room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Groningen Centre
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Groningen
Certificate of Excellence
Shropshire Uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“cheapish hotel - no frills room”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Inexpensive hotel with no frills although web photos look boutique. Double standard room inexpensive but felt too small, it was clean but dusty on arrival, bed made each morning, but badly and had to be done again myself. Litter bin only emptied twice during a 4 night stay. No shaving point in bathroom, bedroom mirror 2 mtrs away from any electrical socket, so had to dry hair bit by bit and walk over to mirror to view, not good for most women. Towels clean but threadbare. Soap, shower gel, moisture cream and shower cap in bathroom, good. The whole of hotel looked like it could do with a lick of paint and refurbishment, although was probably quite chic when first completed. Breakfast not included in web price as stated, but expensive at nearly 15 euro pp and hot food rather cold, rest of breakfast good. No tea/coffee in room, but free 24hrs a day in lounge area which was good. Hotel seemed to be used mostly by business people rather then holiday makers, they certainly made good use of drinks facilities! Staff smart and friendly, no problem when I asked for extra pillows (only one each in room), and even extra duvet at 11.00 pm on 1st night as room cold (radiator had been turned off, fine after turned on for a few hrs). Hotel in quiet area, especially as we were on 6th floor, easy to walk into city ctr, around 5/10 mins.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Jeannette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    169
    64
    14
    5
See reviews for
41
141
22
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here twice for a week. The first time, we had some issues with housekeeping not properly cleaning our room, but the second time all was well.

The free coffee downstairs beats any coffee-in-the-room setup and the wonderful library is a great place to just sit and have a chat.

It's very close to the city center and lots of nice restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurensbonnema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hank, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Although the staff is very helpfull, the hotel is very average. Rather small room, basic breakfast but it will give you just enough to start the day. The parking is very small too, not easy to park your car. The price is also average what could make your stay a bit more comfortable...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonDKBenelux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad, null, Netherlands Antilles
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

You don't have to expect much of this hotel. It has a good price and it's a short walk from the city center. The room is clean but small and breakfast is not much but it will give you a start up for the day. All by all an average place.

Room Tip: Take the high floor room to enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was our second time staying at the Hampshire Hotel. I remembered our first visit (two years) ago being a little bit more comfortable. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The location is very good. A 10 minute walk from the Train station and about the same from the Martinikerk, but still in the central part of town. Our favorite pancake restaurant is only a 5 minute walk away as well as a good eetcafe called The Black Sheep. Despite the good things, there were some not so good. I did not have a good night's sleep. The pillows should have been thrown out a year ago. I had to ask for an extra one. Bed could have been more comfortable as well. The shower made an obnoxiously loud noise. Breakfast was very good, but pricey--15 euros. Hotel was very clean.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Hampshire hotel is a nice and clean hotel. We had a recently refurbished room and it looked all very new. They have a good library as well where you could work. We found the staff also very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatthijsF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I had booked my room one week before I got there, and it was in promotion period. The price was perfect ( the same as hostel ) but with clean private bathroom. The space and the view were nice especially in a snowing day. Coffee, tea and hot water were all free as our staying. And they even kept our luggage when we needed to visit after returning the room. In a word, it could be one of the best services I have ever had. :)

Room Tip: Check the promotion when you are booking. Higher floor could have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryHSIAO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Groningen hotels
Stadscentrum
Prinsenhof Hotel
Prinsenhof Hotel
#1 of 17 in Groningen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
NH Groningen
#4 of 17 in Groningen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Binnenstad-Zuid
Martini Hotel
Martini Hotel
#12 of 17 in Groningen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Stadscentrum
NH Groningen Hotel de Ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Groningen Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Groningen Centre

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Groningen Centre
Address: Radesingel 50, 9711 EK Groningen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Groningen Province > Groningen > Binnenstad-Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Groningen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Groningen Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Groningen Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampshire Hotel Groningen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing