We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centraly located”
Review of Martini Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Martini Hotel
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Groningen
Reviewed December 22, 2011

The Martini hotel is quite close to the rail station and closer still to the centre of town. I chose a comfort room that has been updated and better than the standard room. The shower/ WC is very small and not very good really. It could have been a bit better. The rooms at the back of the hotel are not suffering from road noise..
The bed was very comfortable.
I had breakfast rather late and unfortunately there wasn’t so much left :-(
The internet would only work downstairs which is a pain if you want to do some work.

Room Tip: Comfort rooms have been refurbished. Romms at the back are less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dimm_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 220 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2011

The hotel is central, but rally need to to be modernised.I was staying in the standard rooms which really are cramped. Check-in and staff very pleasant. The hotel is part of a bar and food place with the rooms upstairs.

Room Tip: Stay in quiet room sat back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CulturalAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Over the years I have stayed in almost all hotels in Groningen and they all seem to be below standard for the price you pay. The same with this hotel. The bar and restaurant are spacious and pleasant but the rooms seem to have sacrificed some basics for this. My room was very basic with low light and a dull design. Very outdated and not all that clean. The linen on the bed had spots and had holes. The bathroom was very basic with only a soap dispenser and was not very clean. Above this there was no light as the bulb failed. With some trouble I got a new bulb from the front desk. I have not tried the internet as this was way too expensive with almost € 6,00/hour. Beware of the hotels claim that some rooms have free fixed internet as these are only available in the more expensive rooms. The breakfast buffet is ok with a good choice of good food and friendly service. The hotel is in the center of town and for me rates slightly above the other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back as the road in front of the hotel is busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeimenBurum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

The lobby / restaurant / bar is a very enjoyable place to have drinks and the breakfast buffet is really good and generously appointed and serves until late in the morning. Rooms are very basic, small, cheap and poorly appointed, but clean. Some of us were cold in the evening and asked for heating, the front desk answered that "we are still in Groningen Summer" and didn't turn it on.
Overall experience at Martini was OK. Good location in the city center.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaronBaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

I stayed here for one night for a work trip. Looks great on the outside. Inside, it was clean but everything looks cheap. The bedside light didn't work and I have a general memory of everything being a bit gloomy. There was adequate hot water in the shower but breakfast was disappointing. Would do for an overnighter if you're stuck.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Cleanliness
Thank team_violas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

The hotel is conveniently located in the downtown of Groningen and as such an excellent departure point for exploring the city. The bar/lobby is fine and they serve a complete and good breakfast buffet. However, rooms in the "old" part are very small and I would say spartan. They reminded me of a student dorm. I have not seen the rooms in the new part, but I was told by colleagues that these are nicer. There is some noise, especially during student nights (Thursdays!), so make sure you get a room away from the main street. For the price it is not great value, but okay. Internet is free, but only in the lobby/bar area for some strange reason.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PvL_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for four days and had a really lovely time in Groningen and Fryslan. The room and bathroom was big enough for us, and we enjoyed the area downstairs near the fireplace and computers where we could relax at night. We enjoyed the breakfast provided by the hotel. The staff were very helpful, and on 1 January the barman recommended that we go to a free concert held by the town at Oosterpoort to prove that there is a cultured side to New Year --we went, and it was really good fun. Old Year's Eve was another story, we realised that something was afoot when the town emptied out at 4pm in the afternoon and the only place we could find for dinner was a kebab place -- all night there were sounds of ambulances and sirens as crazy youngsters exploded crackers all over town.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Groningen hotels
Stadscentrum
Prinsenhof Hotel
Prinsenhof Hotel
#1 of 18 in Groningen
285 reviews
Binnenstad-Zuid
Hotel Schimmelpenninck Huys
Hotel Schimmelpenninck Huys
#11 of 18 in Groningen
373 reviews
Binnenstad-Zuid
Hampshire Hotel - Groningen Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadscentrum
NH Groningen Hotel de Ville
Apollo Hotel Groningen
#6 of 18 in Groningen
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martini Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martini Hotel

Address: Gedempte Zuiderdiep 8, 9711 HG Groningen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Groningen Province > Groningen > Binnenstad-Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Groningen
Price Range: $93 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Martini Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Martini Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martini Hotel Groningen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing