We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top hotel”
Review of Prinsenhof Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Prinsenhof Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Groningen
Certificate of Excellence
Broek op Langedijk, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Top hotel”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Outstanding hotel in downtown Groningen. Prinsenhof hotel is a historic buidling with modern and brandnew adds.
The rooms a very comfortable with a very large walk-in shower for tall people (room 26 )

Room Tip: Try room 26!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InsuranceAce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    31
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
38
123
6
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Groningen is a city that is welcoming, warm and charming. The shopping is good, the weekend markets are fun and the nightlife is great!! Still, you do not expect to find a sophisticated and lovely hotel like the Prinsenhoff in this Dutch Northern city.

This hotel is truly exceptional. The new portion contains cozy, comfortable rooms constructed around a 600 year old monastery. This space which has served as a French hospital in the 1700's and as a radio/television studio until recently, has been converted into a restaurant and lounge. The service is excellent and the food is equally good. This area is the Grand Cafe while the more formal dining room is the A La Carte and it is perfect for an upscale dinner. Again the service is excellent.

There are wonderful carved hedges in the back of the hotel and in the front a very special courtyard where drinks and meals are served on sunny days. This is certainly an excellent boutique hotel. The best in Groningen and one of the best I've encountered in Europe.

Issues? Definitely a shortage of closet space for the overseas traveller, and in the evening, they should lower the lighting in the lounge. Minor issues however, it is a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden with its beautiful hedges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Usually the coolest hotels are in the cool, big cities. The Prinsenhof in Groningen is the exception to the rule. A brilliant mix of heritage and modern design, the Prinsenhof is easily the finest hotel in the city.

Cool restaurant and bar - populated by locals, which is a good sign - and the room I was given was a design lover's treat. Two floors, with the bathroom on high and overlooking the sitting room area.

I stay at a lot of hotels but I still remember the bed. I wanted to ask about the brand, but I feared learning the price. The greatest bed I've slept in in a hotel for years.

Splendid service on all fronts. A must stay in Groningen. I'm looking forward to returning with my kids. They're going to love it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Beautiful hotel, nice rooms but no door separating the shower from the bedroom. No gym or spa and not suited to children. Reception staff were very helpful and obliging. Right in the centre of everything, good if you wanted a sightseeing city break.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drobak, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

It is amazing how they have succeeded in combining historic heritage with modern facilities in this hotel. Really an architectural achievement. Combined with a top restaurant and highly above average service minded people all over the place makes this hotel into a diamond in our eyes. The room had a bathroom on the second floor, which we loved. Together with a bed and pillows out of this world, we felt as in heaven. We stayed in Groningen for 24 hours, and spent 22 hours at the hotel. If they instal aircondition, this hotel will be unbeatable. We will come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eluks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woerden, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We (my wife and I) stayed in the hotel for three nights and were 'upgraded' to a junior suite.
A nice and comfortable (large) room however the bathroom was on the upstairs part of the room and the stairs leading to the bathroom were very steep and small. So in case of a disability this
is not really the room you should be in. But again, the room was spacious and supplied with (besides a large bed) a sofa, a desk and a large TV-set. Staff was very kind and helpful and offering an excellent service. Only one evening we had dinner on the terrace of the hotel (the center of Groningen is offering so many nice 'places to eat' you also like to try) and that was an excellent experience! Very good food, very good wines, very good service and very nice weather so what else do you want....! Breakfast (€ 15,--) was also served on the terrace of the hotel and did include coffee/tea, orange juice, meat, cheese, different types of bread and a soft boiled egg. A relaxed start of the day, sitting on the hotel's terrace and enjoying a good breakfast! Also the special summer rate is making 'de Prinsenhof' the place to stay if you need to be in the city of Groningen or just like to 'enjoy' the city (like my wife and I) for a couple of days.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side of the garden are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hanl64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Interesting mix of modern styling with historic architecture.

Service was excellent; front desk, breakfast staff and valet parking staff were helpful and friendly. Location is great, opposite a small park in the centre of Groningen, a 2 minute walk from the Martini Toren.

We stayed in a loft room overlooking the gardens. The room had original heavy timber beams but still felt spacious due to the high ceiling. Bathroom was modern with great styling, powerful shower and bath big enough for two.

The breakfast choices were limited but the food was fresh, well prepared and served with a smile.

Possibly the only hotel I have stayed in anywhere in the world with a free (if not particularly well stocked) mini bar! Also free internet access.

Most reviews for the hotel are positive but indicate that the hotel is expensive - our room (at a "walk in" rate) was Euro 129, which seemed remarkably cheap for the quality of the hotel.

I don't plan on visiting Groningen again anytime soon, but if I do then I will for sure stay here

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcbife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Groningen hotels
Stadscentrum
NH Groningen Hotel de Ville
NH Groningen
#3 of 17 in Groningen
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Apollo Hotel Groningen
#6 of 17 in Groningen
888 reviews
Binnenstad-Zuid
Hampshire Hotel - Groningen Centre
Binnenstad-Zuid
Hotel Schimmelpenninck Huys
Hotel Schimmelpenninck Huys
#13 of 17 in Groningen
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prinsenhof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prinsenhof Hotel

Property: Prinsenhof Hotel
Address: Martinikerkhof 23, 9712 JH Groningen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Groningen Province > Groningen > Stadscentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Groningen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Prinsenhof Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Prinsenhof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing