We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would not bother to come here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bastion Hotel Groningen
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Groningen
Tilburg, The Netherlands
1 review
“Would not bother to come here”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We had stayed in another similar hotel that weekend before, so expecatations were set (Hampshire). Did we get dissapointed at Bastion Hotel! Bathroom was not clean, and housekeeping had left the door unlocked! Whilst my laptop was inside. During breakfast almost all dishes were still dirty so the staff had to replace all. No apologies whatsoever. During check out stuff charged on my bill that we didn't enjoyed so there was a bit of a hassle. When stating the concern of unclosed doors, just a simple apology and that;s that. no suggestions were made to make it right. Never again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yollie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Groningen, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Yollie12,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns about Bastion Deluxe Hotel Groningen. Our goal is to ensure that all our guests leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. Please accept our apology for the chaotic breakfast you have experienced during your stay and we regret our hotel did exceeded your expectations. We would like to thank you very much for thinking in solutions and for sharing them with us. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to further develop our service.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

With sincere regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    63
    24
    9
    6
See reviews for
7
37
15
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We needed just a basic hotel for one night near Groningen and booked a room in The Bastion. It's a nice hotel with free parking and quite close to the centre of town. The reception at the front office was friendly and efficient. Our room was small and well equipped but maintanance was poor. Flat batteries in the remote control and the floor under the beds hadn't seen a vacuum cleaner for a long, long time. I prefer not to find used tissues and - swabs under my bed....
Apart from these issues a good place to stay. We skipped breakfast because we prefer to enjoy that downtown so I can't review on that.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tourtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Groningen, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the review which you have posted on Tripadvisor.
As we can see you have experienced the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities of Bastion Hotel Groep and you have summarized it in a great review!
Thank you very much for that.

We also would like to apologize for the fact that the room wasn't as clean as you can expect from us . We value your comments and recommendations for assessments and to further develop our standards. The Bastion Hotel Groep strives to always meet and exceed the expectations of our guest.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

Team Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
158 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The hotel is close to Groningen with a bus stop in front of the hotel.
The rooms are clean and have what you need (free tea and Nescafé are supplied), but they are small.
The free wireless is slow at times and so you have problems using Skype.
The dinner is sufficient and basic. For a normal dinner it is good but don’t expect a refined cuisine. The prices are nice so you don’t have to worry about overpaying
The staff is friendly and helpful.
All in all a reasonable stay for a reasonable price

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garfield62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Groningen, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the positive comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. Such comments supports me and my colleagues to provide our guests a good service. The Bastion Hotel Groep strives to always meet and exceed the expectations of our guest.

I hope to meet you again in one of the hotels from the Bastion Hotel Groep.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed in Bastion Groningen on our way through the Netherlands; paid ~90usd/night and was thoroughly satisfied with the hotel. Rooms were nice and new, hotel was in great condition, restaurant food was good value and quality, staff service was superb,

The Wi-Fi was free and fast, the fitness centre was also new and good although on the small side, since not many people frequent it, it's readily accessible,

Location isn't too far from from Groningen (if you have à car), which is a lovely, picturesque town with great dining opportunities. Free parking was a nice inclusion.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sera_w_perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Groningen, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again in one of our hotels.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2012

service, professionalism,courtesy,environment, price! the hotel is good for the price and the staff render such a professional service; you feel so wellcomed here; would love to visit again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank ann-christine a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Groningen, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again at our hotel in Groningen.

With kind regards,

Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

We arrived at the Hotel after midnight, despite booking on line and having a conformation e mail, we found that our booking had been cancelled. We were refused entry into the hotel lobby and all our exchanges were made via an intercom with the reception staff. We were offered no help, information or explanation and on a cold night, we were forced to sleep in the car park. Despite several attempts to complain, I have been offered no apology, or recourse. My last request was to have the address of the Hotel Group's Chairman. This was also ignored. I cannot feel more strongly about our shabby treatment at this amateur Hotel!
If yo plan to stay, make sure you are in bed at the prescribed time?

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Public Relations Manager at Bastion Hotel Groningen, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Dear Mister Ian W,

Thank your for your participation on the Tripadvisor.com Review of your stay in June 2011 Bastion Deluxe Hotel Groningen. Because of your review the Bastion Hotel Groep can increase the service to their guests.

We noticed that you have a complain about your reservation in Bastion Deluxe Hotel Groningen. Your review has been discussed with the management of Bastion Hotel Groep, we would like to get in contact with you in personal. Would you please be so kind to inform us about your contact details? You may reply on this e-mail e-commerce@bastionhotelgroep.nl or contact us by telephone 0031 (0) 267 16 16.

Thank your in advanced for your reply, waiting for your response.

Kind regards,

E-Commerce
Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Groningen hotels

Oxford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2010

On a campervan trip in vary bad weather, we saw this hotel beckoning to us from the Groningen bypass and decided to stay. We had a great view from our room on the top floor and spent a very comfortable night. It wasn't far to drive into the middle of Groningen for sightseeing and a meal. Breakfast was extensive, and the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlphabettyOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Groningen hotels
2.4 mi away
Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza
2.3 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - Plaza Groningen
2.4 mi away
Apollo Hotel Groningen
Apollo Hotel Groningen
#6 of 17 in Groningen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
NH Groningen
NH Groningen
#4 of 17 in Groningen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Student Hotel Groningen
1.8 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - City Groningen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bastion Hotel Groningen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastion Hotel Groningen

Property: Bastion Hotel Groningen
Address: Bornholmstraat 99, 9723 AW Groningen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Groningen Province > Groningen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Groningen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bastion Hotel Groningen 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bastion Hotel Groningen offers a 24 hour front office, comfortable rooms and an extensive choice of dishes from the a la carte menu in the atmospheric restaurant. Guests are always welcome in the cozy hotel bar or smoking lounge. This lounge contains an LCD television, air-conditioning and relaxing lounge chairs. The hotel also offers a fitness room which guests can use for free, air-conditioning and free wireless internet in the entire hotel. In the lobby the hotel has a computer available, for guests, for free use of the internet. Domestic animals are not allowed. Bastion Hotel Groep stands for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive rate. Location / accessibility Bastion Hotel Groningen offers, because of its ideal location, a good connection with several important traffic links to cities and regions. Within 5 minutes guests can reach the event building Martini plaza, the university and the hospital UMCG. In front of the hotel is a bus stop with busses in the direction of Martiniplaza, the centre of Groningen en the train/bus station. Rooms The hotel in Groningen has 40 comfortable deluxe and 40 comfort rooms. The comfort rooms are equipped with a television, telephone, a modem, airconditioning, a bureau, a safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with a shower and toilet. The deluxe rooms are more spacious than the comfort rooms and are extra equipped with a bathroom with bath and toilet. Food & Beverage The hotel serves breakfast on weekdays from 06:00 to 09:00 and in weekends from 07:00 to 10:30. The hotel has an attractive restaurant with an extensive a la carte menu. The restaurant is open from 11:00 until 23:00 for lunch and dinner. The hotel bar is open until 23.30. Free Parking at Bastion Hotel Groningen You can park your car free of charge at the parking of hotel Groningen during your stay depending on availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Bastion Hotel Groningen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing