We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great design”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Het Paleis Groningen
Ranked #3 of 13 Groningen B&B and Inns
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great design”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Wonderfully decorated - each room had been designed by different artist. The rooms have this modern, minimalistic, yet chick look and they are in pristine condition. The area is very quiet, and so is the hotel. It is located about 7 min walk from the main square of the Groningen, and very close to a great park. Kitchen and lobby are awesome, I really enjoyed using them, they have this fancy yet friendly character.
The only thing I did not like is that for almost a week that we stayed there, the room got not cleaned even once, and despite my requests. I am not that surprised they got ignored, the place does not have a proper reception desk, all, like keys and payments, is arranged in the restaurant by the waitresses. I ended up swiping the floor with toilet paper, and no, I am not crazy, I stayed there with a 19 month old baby who was all over the floor. Hence two stars down.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    13
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
8
12
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
120 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Het Paleis in Groningen, NL, is a different place to stay and sleep, in a good way. I like it when I experience cool places or cool people, especially if I didn’t expect it. This is a treasure for people who are interested in art, design, functionality or just genuine cool stuff.

My family and I booked a room at Het Paleis when we decided to make a stopover in Groningen. It looked a bit odd on hotels.com, but when we arrived it was just cool and nice. It’s not a traditional family place to stay, so prepare your kids for a different experience they will remember.

The room was extremely practical with “invisible” beds on the walls and a creative interior. It must have been 4 meters from the floor to the roof, and there were super tall windows. We didn’t get our own toilet or bathroom, but the shared facilities were more than good enough. The shared living room was worth a visit by itself.

The staff was friendly and smiling, and the vegetarian food was excellent, even for a non-vegetarian man.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abernethy, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

A real pleasure to stay here. Each room individually themed room is great, all appear to be very comfortable, my one was definitely. It's very central yet very quiet and peaceful. Very well equipped also, great lounge area with a fantastic selection of books, I wouldn't want to cook in the kitchen as basic but the brasserie downstairs is lovely. The staff during our stay couldn't be more helpful and I have to thank you all for that. A fantastic week and I look forward to returning!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Declan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

The Het Paleis is a really refreshing find. I've stayed four or five times now and have thoroughly enjoyed working my way through the differently themed bedrooms - all themed after particular art movements.

Situtated in a quiet area of the city, it's still an easy walk into the city centre where there are a number of good bars and restaurants. The hotel has it's own brasserie and is close to a good supermarket and has a well equipped kitchen next to the lounge area if you feel like eating in.

I always look forward to going back to a friendly welcome from the really helpful staff.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyMacDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2010

We stayed in this hotel 3 nights. Each room is different with its own decoration. There is a common loungde with one TV and the Internet. This hotel is really quiet and peacefull, it means no noizes. There is a restaurant. The first time we went there because it was the closest. For 10€ , disches are excellent! One problem : they don't accept for the moment french credit card or similar (carte bleue, carte VISA...). So you have to pay by cash.
Otherwise, ths staff is nice and helpfull. I recommend this hotel if prices are right for you.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChassiR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Groningen hotels
Binnenstad-Zuid
Hampshire Hotel - Groningen Centre
Binnenstad-Zuid
Martini Hotel
Martini Hotel
#12 of 17 in Groningen
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadscentrum
Prinsenhof Hotel
Prinsenhof Hotel
#1 of 17 in Groningen
251 reviews
NH Groningen
#2 of 17 in Groningen
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Het Paleis Groningen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Het Paleis Groningen

Property: Het Paleis Groningen
Address: Boterdiep 111, 9712 LM Groningen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Groningen Province > Groningen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Groningen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Het Paleis Groningen 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Het Paleis Groningen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing