We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed vegan”
Review of Restaurant Bla Bla

Restaurant Bla Bla
Ranked #131 of 358 Restaurants in Groningen
Price range: $21 - $23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Meat nor Fish "Nothing will benefit human health and increase the chances of survival of life on earth as the evolution to a vegetarian diet" Albert Einstein We love to serve delicious food without using meat and fish. Our kitchen is naturally suitable for both vegetarians and vegans, but also for those people who like to experiment with original vrgetarian dishes Restaurant Bla Bla is the place to be. We do not use the so called meatreplacers but we love to show that by using creativity and passion for the ingredients a varied and delicious meal can be served. You won't miss meat or fish, that's a promise. We also have a big choice of starters and desserts and a minimum of three maincourses to choose from, these maindishes consist of a minimum of five different components. We change the menu several times a year. Our kitchen is a worldkitchen, and our dishes are inspired by tastes from all over the world. Our chefs know the art of combining different tastes and textures into an exiting meal. Children are welcome. We also serve meals for different diets. Please ask us at least one day in advance. We have a restaurant in Rotterdam and in Groningen.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
“Disappointed vegan”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The food was nothing special. Nothing you couldn't have done at home, and not innovative at all. My plate had lots of different items, but most of the food had the same basic flavorings - lots of salty peanuts and coconut and then some sweetness from banana. That's just too easy - almost anything tastes good with those ingredients.
The wine wasn't interesting - you'd be able to find something far better for half the price in any supermarket.
Being vegan I was quite disappointed. The only vegan dessert was lemon sorbet, which you can get at almost every ice cream stand. For that reason I didn't have any dessert, but my fellow eaters were very pleased with their chocolate cake (which anyone would be able to veganize!).

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrkLene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    19
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“microwave restaurant”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This vegetarian restaurant uses a microwave to heat up the food which is cooked earlier that day. Adding some fresh salad and fried items makes it looking freshly cooked. Restaurant prices do not justify the quality of the food (which is reasonable not good ). You can find better restaurants in town that have good vegetarian items on their menu.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank r w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
478 reviews
267 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Good value vegetarian restaurant”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This is a slightly old fashioned vegetarian restaurant, of the sort I used to visit in London about twenty years ago. The decor is simple and the food pleasant, without being exciting. I had a plate which consisted of a selection of small Indian style dishes (including somosa, chutney, rice, dhal), which was OK, but would probably have been better if prepared by the nearby excellent Indian restaurant Kleine Moghul. Also serving it as a Thali, instead of a heap on a plate would be more attractive.

Previously they used to do a Southern Indian selection (including Dosas), which I hope returns to the menu since Southern Indian food is very rare in the Netherlands.

Prices are very reasonable and the service pleasant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingCelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Vegetarian Food near downtown”
Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

One of the best vegetarian restaurants we've ever eaten at (and we used to live in California!). Simply great food, a creative menu of wonderfully varied ingredients, and a warm atmosphere. It's worth the detour (located just outside downtown Groningen) for great vegetarian food!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
439 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Very good vegetarian restaurant”
Reviewed September 17, 2010

This restaurant we wished to have discovered before. They serve really good and tasty vegetarian food at reasonable prices. Service was friendly, but a bit slow: only one waiter on a Friday night. With a bit of patience that should not be a problem.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GroningenCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Bla Bla also viewed

Groningen, Groningen Province
Groningen, Groningen Province
 
Groningen, Groningen Province
Groningen, Groningen Province
 

Been to Restaurant Bla Bla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing