We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice atmosphere; rather vogue-prone food; little here for the vegetarian” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bistro 't Gerecht

Bistro 't Gerecht
Reserve with
Bistro 't Gerecht is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #33 of 336 Restaurants in Groningen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Dutch, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere; rather vogue-prone food; little here for the vegetarian”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

I ate here two nights in a row, while staying in the adjacent (and connected) NH Hotel de Ville. This was arranged by our hosts, and was a set dinner for 6. Two of us were vegetarians and reported being underwhelmed by the quality of what they got instead of the set menu (also, the waiter did not spontaneously inquire whether anyone had this preference). We also noticed a lot of reliance on contemporary vogue, such as the extensive use of culinary froth.
There were nice touches, too: see accompanying pictures.
Overall the food was certainly good though not up to the level of truly first-rate restaurants.
(Note: I was not made acquainted with the price of the menu, but think it was reasonable)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank profgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    34
    4
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level Contributor
197 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Perfect meal in very pleasant atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Thanks to 'Groupon' the value for money was very very good. Three courses for 12,50 euro!! Including nice amuses and very tasteful bread. Good wines (25 - 100 euro per bottle). Perfect coffee with free liquer and chocolates. Friendly and accurate, gay-friendly staff. 'Bistro' is maybe not the right name, it is a mutch more upmarket restaurant. The restaurant has quality decoration with mirrors and beautiful chandeliers hanging from the ceiling. In a cosy up class atmosphere with four friends we had a perfect evening. We 'll be back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HenkPeterHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“not to my taste but everything was perfect”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

an easy place to go to, more upmarket than the rest, but not my preferred choice. Try other places in the city.. much cheaper too

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Victoria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Tasty, and taste never comes in quantity”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2011

Friendly service, balanced menu choices and good wines. Its interior could perhaps be a bit lighter, but it does not detract from the quality of the food.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert188633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prudhoe
Level Contributor
160 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“High quality food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

I dined here on a business dinner that was pre ordered, therefor didn't have the choice from the menu. Had a very enjoyable meal. Very well presented and cooked by efficient staff.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dimm_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro 't Gerecht also viewed

Groningen, Groningen Province
Groningen, Groningen Province
 
Groningen, Groningen Province
 
Groningen, Groningen Province
Groningen, Groningen Province
 

Been to Bistro 't Gerecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing