We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small friendly restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Het Savarijn

Het Savarijn
Reserve with
Het Savarijn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 262 Restaurants in Nijmegen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Dutch, European, French, Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Stadscentrum
Loughborough
Level Contributor
185 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Small friendly restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

We were looked after very well at this small restaurant. The food was excellent, and I can certainly recommend the fillet steak with stilton cheese. Good wine list. I shall certainly return on my next visit to Nijmegen.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CalellaDePalafrugell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    32
    8
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food & service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Overall excellent experience, went with a group of 7 friends on a Saturday evening; and with a friendly welcome, some good bread,butter and olives had a good start.
Surprise menu was really nice but also the 'regular' menu was cooked beautifully. Price to quality is great. Quality wine list as well.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dickus101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“the "Savarijn" menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is a tiny restaurant in the center of Nijmegen, situated in an old corner building, with the entrance right on the corner of the building. I'm saying this because sadly, I almost walked past it.

The interior is rejuvenated classy sixties I guess. Comfortable and not too tightly packed, but actually really small. Staff is friendly.

We went with the "Savarijn" menu, a sea bass tartar for starters with TX65 shrimps and some chive (according to the chef: these shrimps come from the Texel-65
boat and are the only shrimps that do not leave Holland for manual peeling in Marokko.), followed by two amuses: respectively frogfish, a mix of quail and iberico pork medallion, the main course involved some ratatouille and tasty but classic honey and rosemary to accompany the lamb (allot of red pepper in my opinion, but then again some might argue, that it's the main ingredient). For dessert, raspberry with mascarpone and cheesecake.

Very tasty, albeit classic.
Good job

If I'd have to add something its that the bread in our opinion was dry, and the espresso's should be accompanied by something home made rather than still in the wrapper chocolate.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stukken J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
150 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Fresh food, friendly service, made to feel welcome. Open on a Monday night as well!! Smart casual is the style and above average prices. Would recommend happily.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank dguycar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent food and a top rate experience.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

This wonderful bistro is tucked in a row so you might walk by.
Step inside and the atmosphere is very classy and if the weather is good enough head out the back into the leafy courtyard.
The service is good but not that obsequious type that you get with some high end places. The food is superb and I can recommend that you check out the specials board as there are daily fish specials.
All in all a fantastic experience and this is reflected in the price but you are getting a near Michelin quality experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RoamingRowly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Het Savarijn also viewed

Nijmegen, Gelderland Province
Nijmegen, Gelderland Province
 
Nijmegen, Gelderland Province
Nijmegen, Gelderland Province
 

Been to Het Savarijn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing