We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't be better!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Hertogplein

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Hertogplein
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Nijmegen
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Couldn't be better!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

The owners could not be more friendly, when the GPS got confused by the local construction, I had to drive around for 20 mins. Then I phoned the hotel, I could not believe that she asked to stay where I was and drove to pick me up!
The location is most convenient, with nice restaurant next door. The room is spotless clean and larger then it shows on pictures. It is nicely decorated , chic and luxury, with European tall windows and doors. Bedding are as comfortable as 5 star hotels. The breakfast is fantastic in terms of choices and quality level. It is more like a high end boutique hotel rather than a 3 star. (Sorry at rating, I accidentally selected pool and fitness, which it doesn't have; don't know how to redo)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blackpaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
37
1
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

The owners are extremely welcoming and even lent us their bicycles to ride around the polders. The buffet breakfast is one of the best - everything is high quality and fresh. The room is stylish and very well appointed. They have thought of everything. My laptop didn't work well, but they have a laptop in the lounge area that you can use and the wifi is free. There are umbrellas in the hall if it is raining. The only possible negative is the steepness of the stairs, so maybe not a good choice if you have trouble with this.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helene Christin... P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

As others have said, a new hotel of only 5 rooms with fantastic owners - friendly, helpful, efficient and just the right amount of attention. It had the feel of a high end, boutique hotel. We had one of the cheap rooms, room 5, and it was larger than it appears on their website. Clean, clean, clean - bathroom spotless, double bed great. Nespresso machine in room, little bar fridge with free water and you could help yourself on an honour system to other drinks from the breakfast room downstairs. Aircon and window opens. Small terrace for included breakfast - which had a good choice - cereal, yoghurt, fruit, eggs, meats, cheeses, fantastic bread, orange juice, coffee - more than enough choice and quantity. There are steep steps from the street so if you need an elevator this hotel may not work for you. Central location and short walks to main shopping area and sights/river/parks. My only small suggestion would be to put some fresh milk in a jug in the room fridge - I am not a fan of powdered creamer. Otherwise, perfect! Well done!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geekgirl_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

No need to repeat earlier comments – Hertogplein is as good as it gets. My compliment and best wishes to the owners for a successful future. We will be back. (Sorry, I have to fill this up until it reaches 200 characters to be displayed. So: Make sure to stay here in sunny weather to have breakfast on the tiny terrace...)

Room Tip: We had the room with the french balcony overlooking the place. Good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJHH_999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

This small modest hotel is tucked away but in the city centre. The rooms are fantastic and to a very high standard and spotlessly clean too. The air conditioning in the room was a blessing as it was very hot outside during my stay.
The staff are the owners and run a very pleasant and relaxed breakfast- time with a good continental selection again to a high standard.
There is a restaurant next door for those who don't wish to wander far.
The hotel has good fast wifi and rooms have tea coffee and a minibar too.
Highly recommended for a small luxury feeling hotel at good prices.
It is a town house so you do need to be able to walk up a staircase but don't fret about luggage as the friendly helpful service included my ridiculously heavy suitcase being taken up for me.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoamingRowly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Marvelous place to stay when visiting Nijmegen.

Lovely older building completely remodeled with all the modern conveniences, but the original design and charm of the building still shines.

Near the city center, train station and good restaurants.

Francien is immensely helpful and accommodating.

Some might call it a Hotel, others an Inn, still others a Bed and Breakfast.

I think everyone will agree it is a delightful place of rest -- just like home.

I was traveling on business, but would definitely bring family on any holiday visit.

The owners also own a restaurant, so they know how to make a most satisfying breakfast!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SierraFaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

My coworker and I stayed here during a trip to Nijmegen and found out once we checked in that they'd only been open three weeks! The house has been re-done beautifully but comfortably. We had a great stay, so much more pleasant than your average work trip! I'd definitely recommend it for work or for fun. It was a great location, the owners are sweet and accomodating, and the hotel itself clean, well run, and comfortable. I'd love for my home to be this pretty!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nijmegen
Stadscentrum
Mercure Nijmegen Centre
Mercure Nijmegen Centre
#2 of 13 in Nijmegen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Benedenstad
Hotel Courage
Hotel Courage
#10 of 13 in Nijmegen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Stadscentrum
Blue
Blue
#8 of 13 in Nijmegen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadscentrum
Hotel Credible
Hotel Credible
#5 of 13 in Nijmegen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Fletcher Parkhotel Val Monte
#2 of 3 in Berg en Dal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hertogplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hertogplein

Property: Hotel Hertogplein
Address: Gerard Noodtstraat 143, 6511 ST Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Nijmegen > Stadscentrum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Nijmegen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Hertogplein 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3-star hotel is located in the historic centre of Nijmegen. Hotel Hertogplein offers modern rooms with free Wi-Fi. Lively Molenstraat is a 5-minute walk.Each individually decorated room features tea-and-coffee-making facilities, a minibar and flat-screen TV with DVD player. The bathroom is fitted with a shower.Hotel Hertogplein offers a breakfast buffet every morning. There is a wide variety of cafes, bars and restaurants in the direct surroundings.Valkhof Museum is 260 metres from Hertogplein. The hotel is 8 minutes by foot from St. Stephen’s Church. Nijmegen Central Station is a 12-minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Hertogplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing