We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uninspired and cold”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel – Grand Cafe Atlanta
Ranked #5 of 24 Nijmegen B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 25, 2012

The Hotel Atlanta is above the cafe/restaurant of the same name, on the market square. The reception is within the cafe.

The location is as central as it can get, but as it's on a square with several cafes, there can be street noise. Furthermore, given Nijmegen's layout, it is convenient for sights and shops, but not for public transport connections.

My room was quite small and cold. I generally like rooms on the cold side, but this one was especially difficult to heat. Staff were indifferent and the breakfast lacklustre.

All this makes it quite similar to the Hotel Centraal (see my review of this hotel), another uninspired three-star accommodation that is somewhat cheaper. Both hotels benefit unduly from Nijmegen's scarcity of hotel rooms. There are cheaper and equally decent rooms to be got at The Prince nearby or at Nijmegen's many bed-and-breakfasts. For a little more money, it is possible to get significantly better quality at the Courage (convenient for sightseeing) or the Mercure (convenient for connections).

The Atlanta is not bad, but I cannot find any particular reason to recommend it.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
Thank BeyondBlame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 37 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2012

The hotel is right in the centre of town, close to the river as well where many nice restaurants are located (Riva is a great place on the river to have a drink or cocktail at night). The rooms are ok, although it's easy to notice the hotel isn't exactly new. We had a nice view to the river. The hotel is above a restaurant, after the restaurant closes you have to ring a bell and someone comes to open the door (there all night). The staff wasn't the most friendly I've experienced, but the rooms are clean and provide all the minimum necessary. Being in a pedestrian area, it is a bit more quiet than some other areas, although those travelling by car will have to oark a bit further away (the easiest is the parking at the Valkhof or Eiermarkt since other parkings mean walking uphill with suitcases).

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Wderks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

this hotel was centrally located and very hard to find! Parking is also a problem. The room was tiny and needed updating. Breakfast was ok

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Overall rating was good and the hotel is in a great location. The only drawback was that the receptionist had a very bad attitude at the time we arrived and during our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julianmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011

Hotelpersonel was very friendly and the service and food were fantastic. The hotel is rather noisy though, so I didn't get much sleep... Good hotel when you need to be in the citycenter.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annejanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2008

We booked by email via the hotel's website, and that worked fine - we were expected on arrival. The hotel is situated in the very centre of Nijmegen, on an extension to the Grote Markt. Traffic on the street is restricted to buses and taxis, so there is no private vehicle access or parking. We left our car in a secure public parking building about 5 minutes' walk away - cost Eur8/day.

The ground floor of the hotel is entirely occupied by a cafe/bar, which is very well patronised - but not noisy, at least during our stay there. The bedrooms are above this, and there is a small lift giving access to them. Our room was of good size, in good condition, not luxurious, but with a reasonably-modern, somewhat spartan decoration. It was more of more modern style than we'd anticpated from the outside of the hotel. It had a small ensuite bathroom, which was fine. We found the twin beds to be very comfortable.

The room had a tv set, albeit a small, old, one, and it received many channels, including the BBC. There were no tea/coffee facilities. Our room faced the street, but we were not troubled by traffic noise - the street has restriced access, as mentioned above.

Our day of arrival, Monday, was market day, so the street in front, and the adjacent Markt, were busy with stalls - always interesting to see.

The room price included a good breakfast - not a simple croissant affair, but with eggs, meats, etc.

Nijmegen is an interesting place to explore, including the magnifecent River Waal with its ceaseless river traffic. The hotel is very well situated for this and we enjoyed a comforable stay there in this unpretentious hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Capelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2007

We stayed here in May 2007. This hotel was O.K., it was definately rough around the edges, and needs upgrades to some of the rooms - some of fixtures and furniture looked as if it had been there for 60 years.

It was clean enough, and the staff are very nice, but it's definately
NOT worth 80 EUR a night for a single room in comparison to other hotels throughout europe. The photos of the rooms on their website are a bit misleading.

I would reccomend this hotel for people who are need of a place to stay when in a pinch, or to younger people who like night-life. It is located in the middle of the bar district in the main Market Square.

I would probably not stay here again because I could spend that money
on a nicer hotel, but I would'nt tell people to stay away either.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luckyitem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nijmegen hotels
Stadscentrum
Mercure Nijmegen Centre
Mercure Nijmegen Centre
#2 of 13 in Nijmegen
665 reviews
Stadscentrum
Blue
Blue
#6 of 13 in Nijmegen
58 reviews
Stadscentrum
Hotel Credible
Hotel Credible
#7 of 13 in Nijmegen
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadscentrum
Hotel Hertogplein
Hotel Hertogplein
#9 of 13 in Nijmegen
68 reviews
Amrath Hotel Belvoir
#11 of 13 in Nijmegen
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel – Grand Cafe Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel – Grand Cafe Atlanta

Address: Grote Markt 38-40, 6511 KB Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Nijmegen > Benedenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Nijmegen
Price Range: $89 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel – Grand Cafe Atlanta 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel – Grand Cafe Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlanta Hotel Nijmegen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing