We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cheerfull hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Nijmegen Centre
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Nijmegen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A cheerfull hotel”
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is well located overlooking the satiation and short walk from historical city center with all the restaurants and the market. Rooms are not large but well decorated creating a positive environment with excellent room lighting including bed side reading light. Breakfast is ordinary not bad but not wow. Staff very friendly and helpful. Enjoyed my stay

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Amr A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IvonnevanDeelen, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Nijmegen Centre, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Amr A,

Thank you for your kind words.

It is the pleasure for our employees to provide a welcome feeling with every guest. It is good to read we succeeded in this goal with you.

Please visit us again in future, we will be happy to welcome you.

Kind regards,

Ivonne den Hartog
Management assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    326
    72
    17
    2
See reviews for
55
216
72
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Nice one night stay for a busines trip, recommendable hotel for its central location. Good service and friendly personnel, would stay there again. Sometimes you can here trains moving, as the hotel is located right beside the central station, but that in itself is no big issue. The food in the restaurant and also the breakfast are of good quality. An alternative option are the smaler restaurants close by, which you can find by foot within 10-15 minutes of walking.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McGrayPower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IvonnevanDeelen, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Nijmegen Centre, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear McGrayPower,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay with us.

Since you added positive words regarding our restaurant, it is our pleasure to inform you that we have a new project in our restaurant: Meeat the locals. With this we present 4 local craftsmen, each with their own speciality, such as beer, wine, meat and pastry. Of course we serve their speciallities in our restaurant now too.

As you can see, we continue to surprise our guests and will pursue to strive for complete guest satisfaction. We hope we may give you another nice stay in the future.

Kind regards,
Mercure Hotel NIjmegen Centre

Ivonne den Hartog
Management assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Next to the railway station - although little associated noise. 10 minute walk to the town center. Very friendly, helpful and positive staff - couldn't praise them enough. Good quality breakfast and well decorated and presented rooms. Very enjoyable experience!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JGSF5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IvonnevanDeelen, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Nijmegen Centre, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear JGSF5,

Thank you very much for your kind words! We are very happy to read that you had such a good experience in our hotel.

Our staff is very happy to make your stay even just a little bit better.

We hope you will visit us again.

Kind regards,
Mercure Hotel Nijmegen Centre

Ivonne den Hartog
Management assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Located within an easy walk to the city center it is a good choice. They add 7.50€/day for parking - which they did not make clear when booking the room. Skipped the hotel breakfast,so can't comment on that. The staff was helpful in giving directions and making recommendations for dinner. Nice add-on of robe & slippers for the room. Room was small, but typical for the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yellowhaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IvonnevanDeelen, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Nijmegen Centre, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Yellowhaus,

Thank you for your kind review. We are happy to read you experienced our staff and hotel as positive.

It is too bad you did not make use of our extensive breakfast buffet. We hope we may welcome you another time and that you then have a good stay again and a great breakfast!

Kind regards,
Mercure Hotel Nijmegen Centre

Ivonne den Hartog
Management assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed last weekend for one night in the basic room. Simple business-hotel room with a bathroom. Location is next to the station and OK. All in all a decent hotel.

Unfortunately, we had an argument with the staff. We booked a room through booking.com and the day after this they had a promotion for the same price but with free breakfast. When we asked if we could also get this promotion, their answer was a simple "no", with no motivation. Even though we repeatedly asked kindly for a motivation for this no, we didn't get a real answer. Also when we checked in the woman at the reception was pretty rude in her communication and didn't give us a real answer why not. Very poor service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris_ToscaAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IvonnevanDeelen, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Nijmegen Centre, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear sir and madam,

Thank you for your review. It is unfortunate you feel this, especially since we responded adequately to your emails prior to your arrival.

As we have mailed you on 19th and 22nd January last already: You had made a definite booking for a special rate, which could not be changed or cancelled anymore. These restrictions are clearly stated on the website.
After making this booking, you discovered the offer in a magazine. In our emails we explained that this offer is only available for direct bookings, not through a website or travel agent and only based on availability. For the weekend of your stay, all rooms for this offer were already booked.

In our last mail, we have offered you the breakfast for a 25% discount. Though you have not replied this email anymore. Upon arrival you demanded to obtain the breakfast for free, which might have prevended our receptionist to give you her usual warm welcome. Our receptionist again offered the breakfast for the discount rate, which you refused.

We regret that, despite our efforts, you have been right in what you wrote in your second email prior to your stay: that this would for sure badly influence your review. However, we feel we have taken your complaint seriously both before arrival and during your stay.

Kind regards,
Mercure Hotel Nijmegen Centre

Ivonne den Hartog
Management assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I stayed at the Mercure Nijmegen Centre before, but was amazed at the reform they have undergone. They have done an excellent job and it seems to reflect on the people as well.

The staff is helpful, friendly, courteous, humorous and a pleasure to be around.
Also had dinner at the restaurant and the food/price ratio was good.

All in all a very pleasant stay, and will certainly recommend this to other people.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hendrikus N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IvonnevanDeelen, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Nijmegen Centre, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Mr or Mrs Nieuwmeijer,

Thank you for your praising comment.

All our employees find a great pleasure in their job, however, guests like yourself make our jobs even more fun!

Again we thank you kindly for these compliments and we look forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Mercure Hotel Nijmegen Centre

Ivonne den Hartog
Management assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nijmegen hotels
Stadscentrum
Blue
Blue
#7 of 13 in Nijmegen
46 reviews
Sanadome Nijmegen
#4 of 13 in Nijmegen
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amrath Hotel Belvoir
#11 of 13 in Nijmegen
215 reviews
Bastion Hotel Nijmegen
#10 of 13 in Nijmegen
109 reviews
Benedenstad
Hotel Courage
Hotel Courage
#12 of 13 in Nijmegen
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Nijmegen Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Nijmegen Centre

Property: Mercure Nijmegen Centre
Address: Stationsplein 29, 6512 AB Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Nijmegen > Stadscentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nijmegen
#1 Green Hotel in Nijmegen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nijmegen
#3 Business Hotel in Nijmegen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Nijmegen Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Hotel Nijmegen Centre is located in the city centre of Nijmegen, the oldest city of the Netherlands. The hotel is within walking distance of the vibrant shopping streets. All 112 rooms are non-smoking and include air-conditioning, flat screen TV, coffee making facility and minibar. You can enjoy delicious meals and drinks in the restaurant and bar. Private parking is available behind the hotel. You can exercise in the gym or relax in the sauna. The use of WiFi is free in the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Nijmegen Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Nijmegen Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing