We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in excellent location for travellers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Nijmegen Centre
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Nijmegen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel on many occasions previously during business trips but this was the first time that my wife joined me for a trip which combined business and pleasure purposes. In total, we stayed six nights in the hotel. The ground floor of the hotel has been modernised within the last few months and the new layout is very pleasant and functional. On arrival, the reception staff could not have been more helpful and efficient. The same can be said of all the staff in the hotel.
Our room was on the seventh floor with a view towards the south which helped a little in avoiding road and rail noise. The king-sized bed and pillows was perfect for enjoying a good sleep.
Breakfast was taken on each morning of our stay and the buffet style layout has hot and cold options. One small thing that could be improved is the choice of fresh fruits which were only offered in a single bowl which emptied frequently. We also had dinner on three nights and found the menu to be suitable to our needs and reasonably priced.
There is car parking at the side and rear of the hotel at a fixed cost per day with a barrier controlling access and egress.
Another enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: The higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jay_and_Kay6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (679)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 679 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is conviently located within a short walk from the Nijmegan central train station. It it also a short walk in the central shopping area with plenty of nice restaurants and shops. They also have several bikes to lend if you want to get around town like a local. The staff was super friendly and eager to help in any way they could

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 11DOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a business trip. It's located in perfect location, near Nijmegen train station and very close to the city center. Staff were friendly, helpful and professional. The breakfast service is really great, with very good selections of hot food and good coffee. Overall, it's a pleasant stay for a business trip.

Room Tip: Away from the rail track.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luke878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IvonnevanDeelen, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Nijmegen Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear Ben 5253,

Thank you for your kind review! We are happy you appreciated our location, services and staff.

We look forward to meeting you again.

Kind regards,
Mercure Hotel Nijmegen Centre

Ivonne den Hartog
Management assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

As other reviewers have said, this is in a wonderfu position, barely 100yds from the station, but you have to try hard to hear the trains from your room. As soon as we walked in, they knew who we were and how long we were staying, and we were made very welcome. Even though we got there just on 10.30pm, when the restaurant had just officially closed, we were provided with a small menu and had a very pleasant chicken broth and ham & cheese sandwich with a glass of wine at a very reasonable price.
The rooms were very clean and the bed was one of the most comfortable hotel beds I have ever slept in. There were 2 easy chairs and better than average lighting. We were across the corridor from the lift but were never aware of it.
We ate there for 2 evening meals and the quality of the food was excellent. The menu was quite restricted but adequate. The deserts were not really our choice so we did not have them. (probably to our benefit) The breakfast was rather pricey so we either ate at a nearby restaurant or at the Starbucks on the Station.
We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: As hey have excellent double glazing it really doesn't matter. Room 701 was 3 paces from the lif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IvonnevanDeelen, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Nijmegen Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Dear Mowley,

Thank you kindly for your great review.

It is good to read you experienced the benefits of our location, though as you indicate were not bothered by any noise from our location next to the central station in the middle of town.

We are happy with your good experience with the room and our restaurant.

The rate for breakfast is based upon the extensive assortment of items on the buffet. Our guests may choose as much as they like from this, so they have an healthy and good start of the day.

We certainly hope we may welcome you again on your next visit to our town.

Kind regards,

Ivonne den Hartog
Management assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This hotel is very well-located, clean and with a nice personal. I stayed here for a conference at the University and I could travel across the city without no problem. I slept very well and the room are clean. There is a nice hall where it is possible to work and discuss. I haven't tried the sauna.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giansilv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IvonnevanDeelen, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Nijmegen Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Dear Giansilv,

Thank you for your kind review.

We are happy to hear you slept wel and felt good in our hotel. Our employees enjoy making our guests stays pleasant and apparently they succeeded in this with you.

We sincerely hope we may welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Ivonne den Hartog
Management assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drtan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IvonnevanDeelen, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Nijmegen Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SparkyG72
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IvonnevanDeelen, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Nijmegen Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nijmegen hotels
Bastion Hotel Nijmegen
#10 of 13 in Nijmegen
115 reviews
Amrath Hotel Belvoir
#11 of 13 in Nijmegen
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Nimma
#5 of 13 in Nijmegen
53 reviews
Stadscentrum
Blue
Blue
#6 of 13 in Nijmegen
61 reviews
Sanadome Nijmegen
#4 of 13 in Nijmegen
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Nijmegen Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Nijmegen Centre

Address: Stationsplein 29, 6512 AB Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Nijmegen > Stadscentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Nijmegen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nijmegen
#3 Business Hotel in Nijmegen
Price Range: $80 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Nijmegen Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Hotel Nijmegen Centre is located in the city centre of Nijmegen, the oldest city of the Netherlands. The hotel is within walking distance of the vibrant shopping streets. All 112 rooms are non-smoking and include air-conditioning, flat screen TV, coffee making facility and minibar. You can enjoy delicious meals and drinks in the restaurant and bar. Private parking is available behind the hotel. You can exercise in the gym or relax in the sauna. The use of WiFi is free in the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Nijmegen Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Nijmegen Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing