We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mercure Nijmegen” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Nijmegen Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mercure Nijmegen Centre
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Nijmegen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    307
    71
    17
    2
See reviews for
49
206
72
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Although very close to the train station, was well sound proofed as did not hear any trains. Staff were very welcoming and genuinely obliging. Very good breakfast options, cereal, cold cheese/hams, selection of bread types, fresh squeezed orange juice, hot option of bacon, sausage, scrambled/boiled eggs and tomatoes, fruit and yoghurts. We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salsatravellers5864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IvonnevanDeelen, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Nijmegen Centre, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear salsatravellers5864,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very happy to read you had a pleasant stay with us.

Our staff has a lot of pleasure in giving our guests a welcome feeling, your words are a good compliment to them!

Many thanks again and we look forward to welcome you on your next visit to Nijmegen!

Kind regards,
Mercure Hotel Nijmegen Centre

Ivonne den Hartog
Management assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

I found this hotel to be very easily accessible for the rail station - 1 minute's walk, but was not disturbed by noise of the frequent trains, due to excellent double glazing.
A modern, clean hotel, ideal as a base if travelling by rail. Bedrooms were comfortable with plenty hot water, toileteries and towels. The hairdryer was not too powerful but adequate. The hotel was no more than 10 minutes walk from the main town centre, where there were plenty amenities. The hotel itself served meals all day, which we did not use, but the menu looked interesting and we would consider it on a future visit.
The staff were friendly and helpful. While we were there, the main reception & dining areas were undergoing a total refurbishment and the staff handled this very well. The work was completed during our stay and the new areas looked very smart.
Breakfast was excellent and I must recommend the freshly squeezed orange juice, which was delivered from a state of the art juicer. There was a very good choice at breakfast time.
I would certainly be happy to visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaybabeglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IvonnevanDeelen, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Nijmegen Centre, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Holidaybabeglasgow,

Thank you kindly for your praising review. We are happy you, inspite the adjustments we had to make in order to arrange the reconstructions, had a good stay with us.

It pleases us to read you appreciated our new ground floor with reception, bar and restaurant so much, in particular the breakfast we serve.

Our team is happy to give our guests a welcome and good feeling at all times. Your review indicates that we succeed in this.

We certainly hope we may welcome you again some other time.

Kind regards,
Mercure Hotel Nijmegen Centre

Ivonne den Hartog
Management assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Basic centre city hotel convenient to railway station and public transportation. Website indicated an onsite fitness center, which turned out not to exist. Front desk personnel told different, confusing stories about this at check-in. Health club was available offsite. Hotel was being renovated at time of stay, but misinformation on website remained for weeks after our complaints. Air conditioning was scarcely evident, leading to open windows above noisy street. Very nice informal tapas restaurant right across the street.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Schmotterj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Nijmegen Centre, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Schmotterj,

Thank you for your review.

As indicated in our previous contact, it appeared that changing information on the websites takes quite a long time. Since the reconstruction would not last very long, we made the decission not to put this on the sites. We are very sorry you experienced this as misleading, though this was defenitely not our intention.

We do have fitness facilities, however during your stay the sauna/fitness was under reconstruction too. We purchased new equipment and refurnished this room completely.

As of last Wednesday all constructions have ended and we can welcome our guests in our modern front desk and lobby, excellent bar and restaurant. Also guests can make use of the brand new sauna/fitness area.

We invite you to give us the opportunity to convince you of our excellent service and experience our new hotel yourselve.

Kind regards,
Mercure Hotel Nijmegen Centre

Ivonne den Hartog
Management assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
248 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

the hotel is really aside the railway station, so very easy to reach but also silent (nevere heard a train). Our room was at the seventh floor, a enough large double with a good minibar, cashbox with a large bathroom w/shower&tub too (a good strong shower, that's always important for me). Desk people nice, they also received an email with my plane web check in and printed it for free. No comments about the breakfast as I didn't eat at the hotel, but seems good on Mercure standard. unfortunately these days the basement is on refurbishing so they have a sort of temporary tent for entrance, tv and breakfast too, but it works. The only think I didn't like is the fact you must use your key to take the elevator (probably for security reasons, but very noisy sometimes, especially if you have baggage and at the check in nobody told you...)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Freng0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Nijmegen Centre, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Freng0,

Thank you for your positive review.

We are happy to inform you that our reconstruction is finished and we welcome our guests in a modern and luxurious entourage now.

You are right, the elevators work on your roomkey only for safety reasons. We will be more attentive to give clear instructions at check in about this.

Kind regards,
Mercure Hotel Nijmegen Centre

Ivonne den Hartog
Management assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brescia, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

the hotel is next to the Nijmegen train station. Bedrooms are small and noisy. Breakfast food is minimal with nothing really interesting. Prices are quite high considering the level. It is only recommended if you have an early train start.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Nijmegen Centre, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear SQEChanel,

Thank you for your review.

We are sorry to read you experienced your stay with us as dissapointing.

The breakfast we serve is an extensive buffet with a variety or bread and rolls, fresh cheese, meat, yoghurts, cereals and fruits. Also guests find boiled and scrambled eggs, sausages and bacon on the hot buffet. And everyday we have a specialty, such as a special cake or bread.

Our rooms are well isolated. However, if you are a light sleeper, you could hear some noise from the city, since we are located so central in Nijmegen. In case you visit us another time, please indicate to our frontdesk (preferably prior to arrival) that you wish to have a very quiet room.

We are always happy to assist you and provide you with the best stay in Nijmegen!

Kind regards,
Mercure Hotel Nijmegen Centre

Ivonne den Hartog
Management assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

I spent 2 nights here with some friends when going to the Rockin Park festival. Great location right next to the railway station. The reception area was being refurbished, but this did not cause us any problems – at least you know they are trying to keep the standard up. We did not eat in the hotel as there are so many nice little cafes and bars in the town centre which is about a 10 minute walk away. Beautiful town with lots of history.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gordonburns1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Nijmegen Centre, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Itsowerview,

It is a pleasure to receive such a positive and enthusiastic review, thank you kindly for it.

We are happy you understand we have done our best to offer the best service during the reconstructions in our hotel, as we always do. We are very proud to inform you that everything is finished and look forward to welcome you and all other guests in our new lobby, bar, restaurant and sauna/fitness area.

In case you visit us in the future, please consider booking one of our new Privilege rooms. They are also brand new and give you a real feeling of modern luxurity!

Kind regards,
Mercure Hotel Nijmegen Centre

Ivonne den Hartog
Management assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nijmegen hotels
Benedenstad
Hotel Courage
Hotel Courage
#10 of 14 in Nijmegen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Stadscentrum
Blue
Blue
#8 of 14 in Nijmegen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bastion Hotel Nijmegen
#9 of 14 in Nijmegen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Amrath Hotel Belvoir
#12 of 14 in Nijmegen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Stadscentrum
Hotel Credible
Hotel Credible
#5 of 14 in Nijmegen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Nijmegen Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Nijmegen Centre

Property: Mercure Nijmegen Centre
Address: Stationsplein 29, 6512 AB Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Nijmegen > Stadscentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Nijmegen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nijmegen
#3 Business Hotel in Nijmegen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Nijmegen Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Hotel Nijmegen Centre is located in the city centre of Nijmegen, the oldest city of the Netherlands. The hotel is within walking distance of the vibrant shopping streets. All 112 rooms are non-smoking and include air-conditioning, flat screen TV, coffee making facility and minibar. You can enjoy delicious meals and drinks in the restaurant and bar. Private parking is available behind the hotel. You can exercise in the gym or relax in the sauna. The use of WiFi is free in the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Nijmegen Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Nijmegen Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing