We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant, modern spa hotel in a park”
Review of Sanadome Nijmegen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sanadome Nijmegen
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Nijmegen
Certificate of Excellence
Freiberg in Mähren
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pleasant, modern spa hotel in a park”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This hotel is really for people who want to use the pool and spa facilities and is located in an area of parklands within a residential zone. It's several kilometres from the railway station, about 14EU by taxi.
Wifi is free and good enough for email and web browsing.
The restaurant serves European cuisine with an emphasis on healthy choices. The breakfast buffet offers a wide selection of breads and yogurts, better than average for a European hotel. Staff are efficient, everyone speaks excellent English,
I did not use the spa facilities, but I believe this is the main reason why people visit, and is the reason for the high room rate - there are also day packages available. The spa facilities appear average for a European hotel and low-grade if you have visited South-East Asia.
There is a very pleasant garden at the back of the hotel with a few rabbits wandering around.
The location is not great - you need a car or taxi to get anywhere in the town. However, this hotel is trying to provide a tranquil retreat within a residential area - it succeeds. If you have business in town, then you are better off staying at the hotel next to the train station.

Room Tip: The setting sun hits the front-facing rooms - some people like this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Psychochicken_Freud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    140
    46
    18
    9
See reviews for
31
177
13
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
France
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Hotel options are somewhat limited in Nijmegen, this hotel is pricier than the alternatives but the rooms are bigger and the facilities are, in general, better but you have to pay for the privilege.

The staff are friendly but dining here is expensive and the menu options are limited, fortunately, down town Nijmegen, where there are plenty of bars and restaurants, is only a 5 minute drive away.

Having to pay extra for parking is pretty annoying and the gym also costs extra as it is not owned/run by the hotel. I didn't use the spa facilities so I can't comment on those.

I am not sure whether I would stay here in future as the hotels in the centre of Nijmegen of more convenient dining out...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lgmd2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I went with a friend this weekend and had a lovely day. The facilities are very clean, very well organised and are mixed sex. You can either hire dressing gowns, slippers and towels or bring your own; you can also use the spa for a day with or without treatments, or just have a treatment. The choice of pools, Jacuzzis and steam rooms is impressive, as is the list of treatments provided. There are several places to eat and very reasonably priced. I would recommend this as a day for friends or family.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We visited today and I was surprised how great the facilities were. Lots of option for baths and despite being busy, we didn't feel cramped for space. We ate at the restaurant downstairs. I had a smoked salmon salad which was huge and very delicious and we enjoyed the cocktails. We both had 2 treatments. I can thoroughly recommend the special facial, worth every penny. The staff were excellent throughout and spoke perfect English. I like the fact that you don't have to carry any money as it all goes on your wristband. I'll definitely be returning.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachel69inman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Good hotel. Proper maintained and clean.
Breakfast and dinner good - fantastic bread. A bit expensive.
Personnel friendly and helpful.
Possible to get slippers and rent bathrobe and towels for the spa.

Spa area is nice, but small. No (real) sauna's (?) Just one 70 degrees celcius, small, crowded sauna, where you have to wear swim outfit, and a larger turkish steambath. Relax chairs of plastic lined up around the swimming pools. Difficult to find a good spot, due to most of them being reserved by towels. No dedicated space to relax, which is a must in spa centers. Outside area with many more relax chairs of better quality.

Overall good experience, but it's a much better choice to go to Carolus Thermen in Aachen (DE), Claudius Therme in Köln (DE) or Thermea 2000 in Valkenburg (NL)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sander_Stulemeijer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in 2012 for 2 weeks. I know this is a late review however I wanted to let travellers know what a great place this is. The check in was very easy and the staff also were extremely helpful on any requests we had. We stayed on the 3rd floor looking at the back gardens. The room was beautiful, the washroom very nice and the finishes great. There is a beautiful deck off which is quiet and perfect for relaxing after a busy day. The pool area and spa are fantastic and the services at the spa just amazing. We had breakfast every day and the food was very good and there was a good selection and the coffee... the best I have ever had. We also had lunch and dinner and again the food was very good. We will stay here again everytime we visit family in Holland

Room Tip: We would recommend the rooms at the back, looking at the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the hague
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My boyriend and I went to the spa and stayed in the hotel for the Easter period. When we arrived, we encountered a slight problem with the guarantee, but the problem was solved quickly and without fuss by Lisette, one of the receptionists. From the minute we arrived to the minute we left, our cares floated away. Partnered with the superb breakfast every day, the quality of the food at room service and at dinner, and topped off with the excellent service of the staff, I can only highly recommend this spa.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viajeraTheHague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nijmegen
Stadscentrum
Mercure Nijmegen Centre
Mercure Nijmegen Centre
#2 of 13 in Nijmegen
642 reviews
Bastion Hotel Nijmegen
#10 of 13 in Nijmegen
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadscentrum
Blue
Blue
#7 of 13 in Nijmegen
46 reviews
Amrath Hotel Belvoir
#11 of 13 in Nijmegen
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanadome Nijmegen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanadome Nijmegen

Property: Sanadome Nijmegen
Address: Weg door Jonkerbos 90, 6532 SZ Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Nijmegen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nijmegen
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nijmegen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanadome Nijmegen 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanadome is a 4 star plus hotel with a modern design interior; it has 96 deluxe and 10 superior hotel rooms. The rooms are spacious, almost all with a balcony and a view of the fountain or gardens, and furnished with very large and comfortable beds. Health Spa included with your overnight stay. From each floor, via the panorama lift, you have direct access to our Health Spa experience, which you can visit unlimited during your stay, and also enjoy our relaxing Beauty & Wellness treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire and HRS so you can book your Sanadome Nijmegen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Sanadome Nijmegen Hotel Nijmegen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing