We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and spa”
Review of Sanadome Nijmegen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sanadome Nijmegen
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Nijmegen
Certificate of Excellence
Geislingen
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice hotel and spa”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The Sanadome hotel is a very nice hotel and includes a quiet huge spa area. The building and the foyer looks very modern. The breakfast is sufficient.

The biggest advantage is the spa area with a few pools, massage, etc. It is free of charge for hotel guests.

Parking is also free of charge.

The restaurant in the hotel is good but a bit to expensive.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzukidrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    144
    48
    20
    9
See reviews for
32
184
13
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Nice hotel but a bit dated. Good leisure facilities and food great

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScubaSteve69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

I loved this hotel and spa! I was on business and fortunate enough to have my client book me there. Everyone was very helpful and THE BREAKFAST - WOW! I ate too much. Room had a nice balcony and view of the forest. Gym was excellent and spa was nice, although crowded. GREAT place!

Room Tip: Get the back side with view of forest
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sadec1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

purchased a "last minute" deal which is discounted. so my level of expectation is according to what i paid for it.

location: public transpo is easy. it's a small ride with the bus from the train station, and a small walk from the bus stop to the door of Sanadome.

reception and personnel: attentive enough

room: we had a deluxe room. for what we paid a bit above my expectations. quite clean, modern and new (except for the non-flat screen tv but i didn't mind). i was happy to find a bathtub and a small balcony overlooking the greeneries in front of the hotel entrance. bed was comfy, not too soft not too hard. they're soap/shampoo smells so good! :)

hotel vicinity/hallways: pretty quiet and neat

restaurant: they have 4 restos. we dined in at "Flow". it was an asian themed buffet and they had a large selection, but food was not delicious in general. desserts are the best tasting. totally not worth 40 euro per person rate. 2 of the restos are in the spa area itself which is handy as you may go there with just your bathroom on.

SPA: majority of the facilities are water spa (pool, different kinds of whirlpools and bath with varying effects like relaxing, energizing, etc..) there was only 1 small sauna room, about 10 people max capacity. there was 1 steambath room which is larger than the sauna room, capacity about 20 people. there are special rooms for other (paid) treatments they're offering. there were a couple of loungebeds at a corner, loungechairs around the pool. there are small safe vaults near the pool even, so if wished you can bring your phone or ipad and chill at the cafe when you wanna take a break from the spa and have a drink, which we did and enjoyed.

Clothing room: there are medium sized cabinets with locks available, and small dressing compartments all around. there are sinks with mirrors on one side with hairdryers. these

miscellaneous: they got WIFI signal all around for free! :)

PROS:
-the area is conducive to a relaxing moment
-i'm happy it's required to wear swimwear all days as i'm too prude to go in the nude
-when you avail of the overnight accommodation, you can almost stay at the spa for 2 full days as they have a room where you can temporarily place your luggage (although without supervision, but hey, it's free!) so even before checking in, and after checking out you could still make use of the SPA.

CONS:
-you dont see a personnel checking periodically whether the water properties are still within specifications
-the door of the sauna keeps being opened by people and since it's small, it's always full. this makes the sauna inefficient due to loss of heat. there must be a system indicating whether the room is full so people dont have to open the door each time to check.
-hairdryers suck as there's barely any air blowing out of it, it will take ages for you to dry your hair if too long.
-the showers at the SPA could be very hot, the lesser the people there are taking shower at the same time
-if i had to pay the original price, i'll find it overpriced.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yennha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

I've booked a weekend looking for some good relax and a nice place, and the Sanadome definitely lived up to my expectations. From the very first moment at the reception desk where I've been welcomed by the friendly and helpful staff to the roomy and comfortable hotel room, everything has been pretty much perfect.
The spa deserves a mention on its own though: steam bath, Finnish sauna and lots of pools and whirlpools at different temperatures, including a wonderful heated outdoor pool equipped with waterfalls and a lazy river which you can even enjoy at night until 11PM - amazing! It is conveniently possible to reach the wellness area from your hotel room with a direct elevator, and you can choose between several different services when you're hungry including a self service and a restaurant by the pools. The resort is also offering a wide range of treatments and massages that will pamper you in any possible way.
The hotel restaurant provides nice menus and an international buffet, and continental breakfast is very good too.
The only reason why I'm not assigning five stars: I've had a hard time finding a way to hang and dry bathrobes and swimsuits in the room as it is equipped with tall, stylish heaters where you can't hang anything and the only suitable device was a small electric radiator in the bathroom. Other than that, this is a very pleasant place that I highly recommend if you are looking for great relax, quality service, good food and a truly amazing wellness center.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DriftSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

we did not expect such nice, big, comfortable rooms, did not expect the sauna facilities to be so wonderfull and nice, and did not expect the food and breakfast to be so elaborate and tasty - we loved it - i you are looking for a nice relaxing stay, look no furhter

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosalindaBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

On my way down to Cologne from Rotterdam, I chose a night at the Scandic Scandome in Nijmegen.
The Spa is just wonderful - swimming in the warm outdoor pool with the lazy river and bubble jets in the pouring rain at 11pm at night is an experience!
The Hotel, restaurant and the staff all work really well and I can see what a super conference venue this is.
However, it is busy - and I can only imagine that a weekend must bring so many more people. Perhaps a time to avoid.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tusters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nijmegen
Stadscentrum
Mercure Nijmegen Centre
Mercure Nijmegen Centre
#2 of 13 in Nijmegen
648 reviews
Bastion Hotel Nijmegen
#10 of 13 in Nijmegen
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadscentrum
Blue
Blue
#6 of 13 in Nijmegen
49 reviews
Amrath Hotel Belvoir
#11 of 13 in Nijmegen
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanadome Nijmegen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanadome Nijmegen

Property: Sanadome Nijmegen
Address: Weg door Jonkerbos 90, 6532 SZ Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Nijmegen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nijmegen
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nijmegen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanadome Nijmegen 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanadome is a 4 star plus hotel with a modern design interior; it has 96 deluxe and 10 superior hotel rooms. The rooms are spacious, almost all with a balcony and a view of the fountain or gardens, and furnished with very large and comfortable beds. Health Spa included with your overnight stay. From each floor, via the panorama lift, you have direct access to our Health Spa experience, which you can visit unlimited during your stay, and also enjoy our relaxing Beauty & Wellness treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Sanadome Nijmegen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Sanadome Nijmegen Hotel Nijmegen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing