We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love the 1980s” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amrath Hotel Belvoir

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amrath Hotel Belvoir
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Nijmegen
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“I love the 1980s”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I love this hotel. It is so uncritically and unaware of its retro look that I love it. The rooms are huge. i had THREE beds. Who needs that many? The bathtub is amazing and the hairdryer has the kind of energy that is unparalleled. The breakfast is also pretty good--lots of things to eat on bread, including varieties of sprinkles--that apex of Dutch breakfast eating. But also you can make your own eggs, which I did not do, but was amused to watch. The breakfast is included, as is the wifi. The hotel is not really that near anything--if you are an American. But it is walkable and Europeans walk--and so I was able to get into the town in like 7 minutes. B

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ohdesi74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    43
    65
    28
    18
See reviews for
11
70
10
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
190 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I arrived at the hotel several hours before check-in, but they managed to accommodate me with one of the larger rooms anyway. When I told the receptionist I had parked in one of the hotel spaces, she told me that the public spaces were free on Sunday and I would save money by moving across the street! (Just love the frugal Dutch). My room was clean and spacious, with a good sized bathroom. The furnishings were just a little bit out of date: a punchcard key entry, unobvious (but free) WiFi, an older model TV set, but if you had simply checked in ten years ago, you would have thought nothing of it, because everything appeared to be quite new. Breakfast was included in my rate, and it was the usual Dutch thing with scrambled eggs, bacon, and a lot of sandwich fixings with six kinds of bread and koek.

The only quibble with this hotel is that the staff seemed almost invisible. The reception desk was empty most of the time, the hotel was eerily quiet, and the breakfast waitresses hung out in back. I was quickly helped when I called them, or rang the reception bell, but it seemed a little strange nonetheless. Perhaps Sunday - Monday is a very slack time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Iron_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was our first stay at this hotel. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the room was as promised. It was a little hard to get to as the "roundabout" nearby was one of the most complicated we encountered in our travels.

The room was quite basic - felt like it was in need of an urgent refurbishment but clean and spacious. Parking was a bit of an issue. The hotel had a limited number of spaces, all of which were taken but we could park in the street paying at a pay-station that took credit cards. However there were parking spaces available nearby but we were there on a Saturday and don't know what it might be like during the working week.

The restaurant had a pleasant gemutlich atmosphere and was extremely accommodating of our dietary special needs and created a good quality meal on the first night - the wines were also good quality and quite well priced. On the second night it all got too much for them and the meal was rather poor, overcooked steak and fruit for dessert recycled from the breakfast buffet.

The ambience is good, the staff are lovely and the sense of faded gloire adds to its charm. It is close to the city centre which was humming with a street market and a lively atmosphere on the Saturday we were there.

David C

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Beach
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Excellent location and easy to find. Park your car, unpack and the friendly staff will show you how to best explore Nijmegen. Rooms are spacious and clean. Very flexible with checking in before time. Nice bar to relax and good food in the restaurant. Did not use the pool, but looked very attractive. Sometimes wonder though how high peoples expectations are: not every hotel is new and there is nothing wrong with that, as long as it is clean, comfortable and taken care of. I can totally recommend this hotel and I am thanking the staff for being so helpful and friendly at all times. We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Breakfast was not brilliant. Rooms were a little bit old fashioned but comfortable. Bar was fine. Reasonably central. Parking was expensive and places were limited. Would pick somewhere else next time. I do not like walking. Wi-Fi was good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomMac_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
135 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed one night for golfing holiday in single room (two beds). Room was clean and comfortable. Mini-bar was empty. Didn't use safe. Not luxury but it is only a 3 star hotel. Breakfast was fine but not extensive. Bar was open late but not busy.

Overall, I'd use it again if I was in the area as price was OK. No problem with anything for me but you get what you pay for so don't expect perfection.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dguycar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sopron
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

It is a nice Hotel. The WIFI was working properly and was free. I found a small bug in the bathroom and a spider above my bed, but if you happen to travel a lot these things might just happen, otherwise the facilities seemed clean. The soap was not working, but at the bath they had an other equipment, so one could solve the problem.
Breakfast was OK, although wouldn't say the choice was wide. The food however was tasty and enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pál S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nijmegen
Stadscentrum
Mercure Nijmegen Centre
Mercure Nijmegen Centre
#1 of 13 in Nijmegen
4.0 of 5 stars 551 reviews
Benedenstad
Hotel Courage
Hotel Courage
#8 of 13 in Nijmegen
4.0 of 5 stars 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadscentrum
Hotel Credible
Hotel Credible
#3 of 13 in Nijmegen
4.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Sanadome Nijmegen
#4 of 13 in Nijmegen
4.0 of 5 stars 259 reviews
Bastion Hotel Nijmegen
#9 of 13 in Nijmegen
3.5 of 5 stars 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amrath Hotel Belvoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amrath Hotel Belvoir

Property: Amrath Hotel Belvoir
Address: Graadt van Roggenstraat 101, 6522 AX Nijmegen, The Netherlands (Formerly Best Western)
Location: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Nijmegen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nijmegen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amrath Hotel Belvoir 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amrath Hotel Belvoir enjoys a superb location close to the banks of the river Waal and just a few minutes from the lively centre of Nijmegen with its fine old streets and alleys. Thanks to its central location the hotel is a great location for both business and tourist guests. With our generously proportioned, comfort rooms and large junior and senior suites, you can be sure of a fine stay in our hotel. What's more, our Brasserie and Lobby offer you free WIFI internet from KPN HotSpot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Amrath Hotel Belvoir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nijmegen
Nijmegen Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing