We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good hotel, nice location, bad beds” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Van der Valk Hotel Arnhem

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Arnhem
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Arnhem
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good hotel, nice location, bad beds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I spent a night at this hotel as our home base for visiting the Köller-Müller museum and Arnhem.
The hotel's location is very convenient, it offers a sauna and the rooms are spacey.
Keep in mind that the rooms have no double beds, but only 2 very small single beds on wheels. Just a reminder for couples ;-)
Better bring something to tape the beds feet together.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    160
    80
    22
    4
See reviews for
53
165
15
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

2 night stay over a weekend. Great value (through Laterooms.com) and room spacious and clean.

Positives:
- value for money
- easy location
- spacious room with excellent bathroom

Negatives:
- bed too soft
- need aircon control per room
- cooked breakfast 'dry' - needs beans/ mushrooms/hot tomatoes
- a la carte dinner gets expensive

Would stay again

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
202 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in two Van der Valk hotels now and am extremely satisfied. The rooms here are positively enormous with large bathroom and jacuzzi tub. Quality is high and price-value was good for what you get (paid €112 for one night, incl breakfast). Internet is free and breakfast is a high point, with a very comprehensive buffet. Room very quiet.

Downsides are the rather remote out-of-town location and the large bed is actually two singles put together rather than 1 large bed.

I definitely will use the v.d.Valk hotels again in the future.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank TexBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esbjerg, Denmark
Level Contributor
202 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Nice looking hotel a bit outside Arnhem. When we went there we had not booked and probably would not have found it unless a local told us about it.
Rooms were fine - we liked the shared version with two separate rooms - since we were 2 couples. Good way to save a bit.
Only one bad thing to say... it was a kind of "computer says no" moment... in the morning we checked out and expected to find another accomodation, but just in case we had asked for the room rate for one more day when we checked in... we then actually decided to spend one more day in Arnhem - so we came back to the hotel, which then gave us a higher price... simply saying the system could no longer give us the price they had told us a day before...
Kind of bad customer service in my view...

Room Tip: Choose some of the rooms away from the large restaurant. You can get rooms for 4 persons, where ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kynde22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brugge, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level Contributor
207 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

I booked a room for 2, as a surprise for my boyfriend. We had a weekend without the kids, and I wanted to spend some time as a couple. My boyfriend new I planned something for the weekend, but did not know what. I wanted to combine shopping, biking in "de veluwe" and musea. When I booked the room online (paid by visa), I called the hotel and asked if they could arrange a bottle of chilled champagne in our room, at arrival. And I underlined it was a surprise, for a romantic weekend with my boyfriend. When we checked in, the friendly lady at the desk simply said: "you have to pay the bottle of champagne 1st"! Ok, gone was the surprise. I tried to keep the romantic mood, but I was clearly pissed. My boyfriend tried to cheer me up, by saying it was still a nice surprise and he loved it. But I imagined it totally differrent: arriving in our room and finding a nice bottle in ice bucket on our bed..

for the rest the hotel was nice, rooms were perfect and the breakfast was super. To make-up for the blooper, they booked a bowling alley for us and we got a cocktail from the hotel at the bowling :-)

Arnem was really nice, lot of green and nice restaurants and shops

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salima K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

I guess I shouldn't complain for the price we paid, but I have to say the hotel was a disappointment. The location was lovely, out of Arnhem center, really quiet, close to the woods. However, I felt cheated. Nice to look at but a lack of love of detail. Too little is invested in the quality of the rooms. Although they are refurbished, the mattresses are "cheap" and the linens not large enough to cover the mattress. As a result, if you toss and turn (as we did since there were party goers in the rooms next to us, but that was not the fault of the hotel) you ended up sleeping on the mattress as the linen was hanging off the side :-( Also, the supplies in the bathroom were minimal and the hairdryer REALLY old fashioned. Honestly, I would have expected more from a Van der Valk.

Room Tip: Pick a room to the back of the hotel, away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Akilah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in December, while exhibiting at a nearby conference. As expected, the restaurant was good (both the breakfast buffet as well as the a-la-carte diner). The rooms have been recently remodelled and look very modern and spacious. The modern wellness area (with sauna and steam bath) was simply fantastic...especially after a day of work it's fantastic to relax! Location is great, amidst the forests of the Dutch National Park 'Hoge Veluwe'. Service was friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arnhem hotels
3.5 mi away
NH Arnhem Rijnhotel
NH Arnhem Rijnhotel
#2 of 14 in Arnhem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Arnhem
0.4 mi away
Hotel Papendal
Hotel Papendal
#6 of 14 in Arnhem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Haarhuis
2.0 mi away
Landgoed Hotel Groot Warnsborn
4.8 mi away
Postillion Hotel Arnhem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Arnhem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Arnhem

Property: Van der Valk Hotel Arnhem
Address: Amsterdamseweg 505, 6816 VK Arnhem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Arnhem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Arnhem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Arnhem 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Van der Valk Hotel Arnhem lies in the heart of the countryside (Veluwe), but has excellent transport links via the A12 and the A50 motorways. The hotel has 100 comfortable hotel rooms ranging in luxury. Besides comfort rooms there are rooms for the disabled, family rooms, Junior Suites with Jacuzzis and deluxe lofts with a private balcony facing south. The (non-smoking) rooms have all mod cons and a phone, free wifi, a bathroom with a bathtub and a separate shower, and a balcony or terrace with table and chairs. During your stay the use of the gym and wellness facilities at the hotel is free of charge. The wellness room has a sauna, a steam cabin, a sunbed and reclining seats where you can just lie down and relax. The vicinity is worth exploring, so why not visit Park de Hoge Veluwe, Burgers' Zoo or the Openluchtmuseum, all within a stone's throw. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, HRS, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Arnhem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing