We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Arnhem
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Arnhem
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed in this hotel 7 days for business. This place is beautiful. The rooms are beautiful, huge and very clean. The service is great. Breakfast is ok. The restaurant, i honestly didn't like the food at all. I was expecting better food quality. So , if you can go out for dinner, much better. One thing i didn't like is that they open de fitness center at 8 am, so if you are a morning person to workout, like my case, your options are your own room, like i did, or go out for running, which was not an option for me because it was cold outside.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csofia76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,062)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 1,062 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

And the restaurant gets a really good rating from us! first of all the waiters were so friendly that it reminded me that it was long time ago I didn't people so friendly! and then of course the food was also really good, so both together I would for sure go againif I have the occasion to!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gaffange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Positives:
Friendly staff; large room; large bathroom; good breakfast; good restaurant; nice surroundings if you like to run, bike, walk etc.

Negatives:
Rooms are not always as clean as you would expect (some mold and hairs in shower).

Room Tip: No specific advise as to which room to ask for, all rooms I have stayed in were good/the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_CG83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

After reading some of the moans about this hotel, i cannot helpmwonder did these people give the hotel a chance to sort problems out. First off this hotel is excellent not just a bussiness hotel but for familly and couples.

Its not far out of Arnhem either. The staff are all very pleasant and help you every way they can. Please if your going to moan put down that at least yountold them of a problem instead of moaning on trip advisor like silly wimps.

We can all find little problems but here i cannot. The food is exceplory, rooms nice and clean and nothing wrong with the bedding.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank deepsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I could not fault this hotel. All the staff were very friendly and helpful.
The restaurant served good food with perfect service.
The bar is part of the restaurant, a little confusing at first. Nice terrace.
Rooms clean and nicely furnished.
Location a little out of town.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavioliuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just back from this hotel, stayed over four nights. Ideal for the various Market Garden sights nearby . Clean tidy, pleasant staff , rooms well appointed . Nice balcony. Bedding could be better .Large choice for breakfast. Tried the pool and sauna which were good after a busy day sightseeing

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
Thank gatekeeper10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This Van der Valk Hotel, close to the city of Arnhem, is situated close to the city (10 minutes by car/14 minutes by bus), the Burger's Zoo, and the Hoge Veluwe National Park. The hotel is older, but updated, so although it looks old and dark on the outside, the interior is actually pretty welcoming.
Like most Van der Valk hotels (it is a Dutch hotel chain) the hotel consist of small hallways, doors, corners and little steps to take before you will get to your room (unless you are on the first floor). The rooms are surprisingly spacious, with dark brown and orange or blue interiors, flatscreen tv, roomy bathroom and more.
Staff is friendly, although the staff in the restaurant is pretty much 'tired' and 'beat-up' and walk around like any minute can be there last (another thing Van der Valk hotels are known for).
The hotel restaurant is big and designed to handle big groups. Not very cozy.
Breakfast buffet is okay. I was early, so most things looked pretty fresh. Scrambled eggs tasted horrible (probably powdered eggs), but the rest was good.
The only negative are the balconies. They are not private (3 or 4 rooms can enter one big balcony) and is mainly used for smoking. People will sit in front of your room to smoke and talk, so if they do that early in the morning or late at night, you might have an issue with that.
Overall: Fairly good hotel, good price. I would probably go back there if I had to be in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from stairs and elevator. Two step stairs to the rooms is wood and makes a lot o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisfromlakeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arnhem hotels
3.5 mi away
NH Arnhem Rijnhotel
NH Arnhem Rijnhotel
#2 of 14 in Arnhem
707 reviews
4.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Haarhuis
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Arnhem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Papendal
Hotel Papendal
#5 of 14 in Arnhem
186 reviews
4.8 mi away
Postillion Hotel Arnhem
2 mi away
Landgoed Hotel Groot Warnsborn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Arnhem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Arnhem

Address: Amsterdamseweg 505, 6816 VK Arnhem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Arnhem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Arnhem
Price Range: $81 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Arnhem 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Van der Valk Hotel Arnhem lies in the heart of the countryside (Veluwe), but has excellent transport links via the A12 and the A50 motorways. The hotel has 100 comfortable hotel rooms ranging in luxury. Besides comfort rooms there are rooms for the disabled, family rooms, Junior Suites with Jacuzzis and deluxe lofts with a private balcony facing south. The (non-smoking) rooms have all mod cons and a phone, free wifi, a bathroom with a bathtub and a separate shower, and a balcony or terrace with table and chairs. During your stay the use of the gym and wellness facilities at the hotel is free of charge. The wellness room has a sauna, a steam cabin, a sunbed and reclining seats where you can just lie down and relax. The vicinity is worth exploring, so why not visit Park de Hoge Veluwe, Burgers' Zoo or the Openluchtmuseum, all within a stone's throw. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Arnhem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing