We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful building with great character and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Molendal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Molendal
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Arnhem
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful building with great character and great service”
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here a few times now and I'm never disappointed. The service is exceptional, the rooms are large and comfortable and the breakfast is really good. It's walking distance to Arnhem city centre

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bazza0070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    23
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
29
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
116 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Our daughter lives in Arnhem, so we decided to spend 2 weeks visiting her and stayed at the Hotel Molendal -- a marvelous hotel built circa 1900 right near the center of Arnhem. During our stay, we had two rooms -- both roomy (with balconies) and very tastefully put together with period furniture and decor. Every corner of the hotel was, in fact, tastefully decorated -- even the silk flowers had an authenticity to them! Breakfasts were basic, but adequate. The staff were extremely friendly -- and made us feel right at home.
The only two shortcomings were -- no elevator (so quite a haul up the stairs with luggage) and the bathrooms, which were basic at best (no tub). But the overall nostalgic charm of the hotel far outweighs these slight inconveniences. I look forward to visiting my daughter again -- and, of course, staying at the Molendal! Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Room #12 has a lovely view and a balcony. Room #10 is very spacious, also with balcony, but not as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riosupermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Beautiful Dutch taste combined with excellent service. Friendly and helpful staff. Owner was often around and that always seems to make a difference. Crisp white sheets. Delicious breakfast. Lovely atmosphere. Location great, easy walk into town and yet beside fields and a canal too. Space for the car in the street. Public areas included a lovely outdoor terrace that would be super in the summer. Overall was very sorry to leave

Room Tip: We didn't get one but there is a family room if you need it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Nice owners, the staff knows what hospitality is!
Nicely decorated rooms with sometimes a balcony with view over a canal en Sonsbeek park.
We can recommend this place.
In walking distance (5 min.) from citycentre (shopping + 'Korenmarkt': bars & restaurants).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Umberto123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stokesley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I have been using The Molendal Hotel in Arnhem for over 6 years now, staying on average 4-5 nights per month. During this time the owner, Thea and all of the staff have been very helpful, very friendly and provided a real home away from home experience for me. The hotel is easy walking distance from the main station in Arnhem which has a half hourly train service to Schiphol (journey time is 75 minutes). You can walk into the centre of Arnhem very easily from the Molendal meaning it is an ideal base for work or for pleasure. There is no restaurant in the hotel but the breakfast is a cross between continental and typical Dutch cuisine. i can heartily recommend The Molendal to all, I will miss my visits to Arnhem.

Room Tip: There is no elevator in the hotel so if you find climbing stairs difficult you should ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmr230467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

More like a B&B than an hotel, its an old victorian house, charmingly decorated, but beware there is no elevator and that stairs are steep, we had difficulty getting our small rolling luggage to the 2nd floor, if you can't do stairs ask if there's a ground floor room, or find another hotel. Full buffet breakfast is included. Arnhem is a charming city, unfortunately a good portion of the original buildings were destoyed in WWII and the battle of Market Garden, Deventer looks more like Arnhem did during the war.

Room Tip: quiet area, I don't believe there's any AC, we traveled in October so it wasn't a prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 60763Nancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
73 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

This hotel is my favorite discovery on a recent trip to the Netherlands-- beautiful, comfortable, conveniently located, with excellent breakfast, friendly service, and free Wi-Fi that actually works (but no elevator, for those concerned with accessibility).

ROOM: Rooms 6 and 7 are large and lovely, with high ceilings, chandeliers, beautiful clean quilts on comfortable beds, draperies framing french doors to balconies overlooking the canal and with views of Sonsbeek Park. There is also a minibar, desk, and TV. The bathroom has a shower stall, and is overall a good size. Couples on a romantic getaway might find the pretty rooms perfect. The hallways of the 1st (2nd) and 2nd (3rd) floor were also beautifully decorated with flowers and antique-looking pieces, and the rooms there are probably as beautiful as rooms 6 and 7 on the 1st (2nd) floor. The top floor hallway though was plain, and it seems so are the rooms there.

BREAKFAST: Breakfast was served on zero (ground/1st) floor in a conservatory at the front of the building. It's a beautiful and intimate space, with more flowers and beautiful pieces and light fixtures. The food was also a mouth-watering selection of breads, pastries, cheeses, cold cuts, fruit, cereals, juices, coffee, tea, and yogurt.

LOCATION: From Arnhem central station, take the "back" exit (opposite side from the "centrum" exit), cross at the pedestrian crossing light, turn right and walk downhill. Cross the large street at the lights, and take the middle of the small streets, and the hotel should come up on the left side at the corner where the street intersects a lovely canal-side street. Those coming in by car might have to park a block away on the street running alongside the rail tracks.

SERVICE: The staff were friendly and offered suggestions for sightseeing.

DINING AND ATTRACTIONS: There is no restaurant at the hotel, but an easy walk gets to downtown Arnhem and its shopping and dining options. It was interesting, for example, to window-shop at stores that seem to be offshoots of graduates of the design school in the city. The bus toward the Zoo and the Open Air Museum stops right outside the hotel door.Arnhem is also a good base for WWII history exploration, for art at the Kroller-Muller Museum, and the rest of the Hoge Veluwe Park.

Room Tip: Aim for Room 6 or 7, which are large, romantic rooms with balconies overlooking the quiet street and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sputnika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arnhem hotels
0.9 mi away
NH Arnhem Rijnhotel
NH Arnhem Rijnhotel
#1 of 14 in Arnhem
601 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Arnhem
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Haarhuis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Landgoed Hotel Groot Warnsborn
0.4 mi away
Mode Design Hotel Modez
Mode Design Hotel Modez
#9 of 14 in Arnhem
80 reviews
2.3 mi away
Postillion Hotel Arnhem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Molendal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Molendal

Property: Hotel Molendal
Address: Cronjestraat 15, 6814 AG Arnhem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Arnhem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Arnhem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Molendal 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Molendal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Molendal Hotel Arnhem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing