We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Molendal
Nearby Hotels
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
$102
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveler rating
54
34
5
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
34
5
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno elevatorhigh ceilingstop floordutch housefire escapesteep stairsfirst floorcosy feelcentral train stationcold meatsgreat hotellock the doormobility issuesboiled eggsclean roomstea and coffeebreakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 99 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2012

This is a very nice place, but if you are driving, be prepared to spend some time to find a place to park. We had to park about 5min walk away. Once you get to the hotel, it is very homely and staff are very nice, helpful and speak (as the Dutch generally do) very good English. There is a conservatory where a tasty breakfast is served, and which also doubles as an afternoon tea room/bar. There is no restaurant, but the hotel is an easy walk away from the centre of Arnhem, where there many nice food options. And it's another 5-10min walk to the (now re-built) "bridge", if you are in town for Operation Market Garden history.

Our room was very spacious and clean, although quite basic. It had a nice balcony with a view of a small canal. A fridge in the room would have been a bonus, especially in July. There is a WiFi available for free. As it's quite an old building, the staircase is quite narrow and steep, and there is no lift, so it's probably not great for anyone with mobility difficulties.

Had it been a bit cheaper, we would have been very satisfied with our stay. We paid 140 euros for a deluxe room, which felt overpriced for the facilities that the hotel offers.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony facing the canal - sunny and spacious.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johannes P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

I stay in this hotel, everytime I visit Arnhem. It has so much history and character. The staff are really friendly, they speak perfect English and the food is superb.
The rooms are big and spacious and are almost wasted on me travelling alone on business, would suit couples, families.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bazza0070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

The Molendal is in an Art Deco building, 5-10 minutes from the train station and close to the old town. To my knowledge, it's easily the prettiest hotel in Arnhem.

The rooms seem to differ quite strongly. I had a single room at the top, which was comfortable, but quite plainly furnished and a bit cold (in summer probably hot, as it was under the roof). It's important to note that there is no elevator and it can be a long haul to the top.

The breakfast is good, in a pleasant room. In fact, other than my room, the hotel had quite a pleasant feel.

On the whole, the place is probably at its best if you take one of the larger rooms for a leisure stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeyondBlame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Built in 1904 and a national historic monument, the Hotel Molendal was a lucky find. The hotel is situated on a canal within easy walking distance from Arnhem Central Station and the shopping areas of the city, as well as local parks.

We stayed in Room 6, a deluxe room with a balcony overlooking the canal. The room has en-suite loo and shower, and the bed was extremely comfortable (although the pillows were pretty solid - a lot harder than we were used to!)

As already commented by others, a very generous Dutch breakfast buffet is served in a light and airy glass fronted sun-room. The staff are on hand to make toast or assist with any special requirements (we had none - it was very tasty with a broad selection of hams, cold cuts, fruit, lovely fresh yoghurt, cereals and granola, various breads and cakes, cheese etc on offer)

We noticed when we checked in that the room was on a bus-route, and at first were worried that this would be noisy. We did not find it so - a peaceful sleep was enjoyed!

All in all a great stay - will most certainly return when we go to Arnhem again!

Room Tip: Ask for either room 6 or 7 - they have a balcony overlooking the wee canal
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oxford_visitors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

I stayed one night in a 'Comfort' room which was located on the top floor. Good bed and bathroom, and very friendly service. The room where they serve breakfast is gorgeous! (I'd rather have one of their other rooms which are more decorated (and located on the 1st and 2nd floor - but unfortunately they were all booked).

5 minutes walk from the train station, 5 minutes walk from the city center and 5 minutes walk from the park.

Highly recommended if you're staying in Arnhem!

The only downside I can think of is that they do not have (yet?) an online reservation module, this means that you have to contact the hotel directly by phone or email to see if a room is available.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vaneegh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews