We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Arnhem
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Arnhem
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
“True hospitality”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I agree with what most of the other reviews above have said -- this is a great, well-run hotel, with modern, clean rooms, and it’s centrally located. But I’d like to add that the staff here is truly wonderful, and goes beyond mere professional hospitality. My family and I were in Arnhem for an extended period over the last month visiting my dad in the ICU at Nijmegen after he fell ill while travelling. The staff did just about everything they could to make the situation more bearable and less anonymous, and their warmth and generosity were a great comfort at a difficult time. (Melanie and Nicole were particularly wonderful.) I highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Interior rooms are quieter, east side exerior rooms have a better view. Noise will only be a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    161
    27
    3
    3
See reviews for
48
117
26
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The hotel has only been open a few months and it shows - no scuffs or marks, every amenity in top condition, clean and bright. The rooms are well-thought out, if a little small. The bed is large with a selection of firm and soft pillows, TV well positioned with plenty of channels and good reception, many lighting options, WiFi worked well.
The hotel is between the market/shopping area and the river. 5 minutes walk to shops and to an area with lots of restaurants, most with outdoor tables too. We slept soundly and noticed no noise overnight.
Staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast was fine. The room rate was pleasingly low
For a chain hotel this place is very good. We will use this hotel again, for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K0lya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Arnhem, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear K0lya,

Thank you for the time you have taken to share your experience with us.

Good to hear that you appreciated the choice of pillows in the room and the service of the staff.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Linda Hundersmarck
General Manager
Holliday Inn Express Arnhem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This new build is in Arnhem city center and walking distance from the train station as well as restaurants and bars. The entrance takes you to an open, well-lit lobby with a bar-lite area. The rooms mirror other Holiday Inn Express designs and are just as clean and well designed. Very friendly service with helpful desk clerks and other staff. A very reliable go-to hotel in the city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I had read before we left home that this place can be hard to find,well it sure lived up to that reputation,yes it is in Nieuwe Oeverstraat but one end of the street is closed off to vehicles & you can guess which end our satnav kept taking us to,on the third time frustration took over & I parked on a pavement & went on foot for a look & there it was,so turn off the satnav & go down the next street & turn left,simple!
This place also lives up to the other reviews I've read,it is lovely,bright,colourful,clean & in a great location for eats,drinks & shops.
Check in was superb thanks to Dennis who was fast,efficient,friendly & so helpful with advice,we were in room 528 which again was clean & bright,not much room to store your clothing but we only there for 3 nights & had already decided to 'live out of our suitcases',a lovely bathroom,no bath but a massive shower cubicle.
The breakifast buffet was always kept well stocked & again was clean & bright,we could have been alone as we heard virtually nothing when in our room but visiting the breakfast room proved that we certainly were not!
We had reservations about going to Arnhem as we weren't sure how much we would like it,we are impressed & will be going back,better prepared for finding the place next time!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a1snaefell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Very modern, clean and spacious rooms. The service was superb. Breakfast buffet was normal central European - bread, lunchmeat, cheese, müsli. Close enough to the central station to walk and the old town with all its restaurants was just outside.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gzumba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This brandnew hotel has nice rooms, friendly service, a parking garage. It is situated in the middle of interesting and cosy Arnhem city. Restaurants galore in the neighbourhood and you will be surprised by the number of shops. The RR station can be reached on foot. Standard continental breakfast, no further indoor restaurant.
Construction work has been going on and this makes the garage hard to find for drivers who are not familiar with Arnhem city.
For users of GPS:
take Vossenstraat as adress, (not the Nieuwe Oeverstraat where the entrance is situated). Entering the Weerdjesstraat coming from the West, turn left after 50 meters, entering Vossenstraat heading North. The parking place entrance will be at your left hand side.

Room Tip: If arriving by car, check al detailed Google map. This will help you a lot if you drive the wrong st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bommelstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
67 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I was searching for a hotel in Arnhem and came across this new Holiday Inn Express. I normally do not stay in this chain and I usually prefer more historic hotels, but this was a very nice find. It is a short walk (about 5 minutes) from the train station, and it is also a short walk to everything in the city center and the restaurants on the river bank. It is very new so everything is nice and fresh. The staff is friendly and there is a reasonable breakfast included with the room. It also has important things for me, quiet air-conditioning, a nice shower in the bathroom and a comfortable bed. The view was not much, but I would rather walk around to see things than stay in a hotel room. The weather was unseasonably hot, but the room was nicely cool.

The hotel does not have a restaurant, but does have a small lobby bar. There are many restaurants nearby so that is not a problem. I have only two complaints. The first is that the rooms do not have any enclosed place for clothes. I would like to have at least a drawer to put clean clothes. There are shelves, but not anything that can be closed up. This is a problem with budget hotels in general.

I stayed at this hotel for several nights and all but one was great. The bad one had to do with hearing base notes from music in the adjoining room. I did call the desk and they took care of the problem for at least most of the night. This does indicate that the sound proofing between rooms is not great, but it I only had a problem under this extreme condition.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again if I am in the area.

Room Tip: My room was toward the end of the long hallway and it was fine, but it did look directly at the buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MercuryChase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arnhem hotels
0.9 mi away
NH Arnhem Rijnhotel
NH Arnhem Rijnhotel
#1 of 14 in Arnhem
626 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Haarhuis
4.3 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Arnhem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Postillion Hotel Arnhem
0.4 mi away
Hotel Molendal
Hotel Molendal
#9 of 14 in Arnhem
83 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mode Design Hotel Modez
Mode Design Hotel Modez
#8 of 14 in Arnhem
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Arnhem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Arnhem

Property: Holiday Inn Express Arnhem
Address: Nieuwe Oeverstraat 50, 6811 JB Arnhem, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Arnhem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Arnhem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Arnhem 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Holiday Inn Express Arnhem is ideally located in the heart of Arnhem. Whether you are visiting Arnhem for business or leisure purposes, this hotel is your place to be! Located next to the Knowledge Cluster of Arnhem and only a few minutes away from the Gelredome, the hotel has the perfect location for every purpose. Arnhem is popular for its diversity of shopping and dining and offers a wide range of historical buildings like the Duivelshuis, Eusebiuskerk, Koepelkerk and the Petersgasthuis. Do you want a day to relax? Enjoy the beautiful nature at the Hoge Veluwe and visit the Kroller Muller Museum. The sound proof, well furbished and spacious rooms offer modern equipment like LCD TVs with 50 international channels, free wireless internet, coffee and tea facilities and a spacious walk-in shower. On top of all these facilities, our guests are served a complimentary Continental breakfast. The hotel offers a modern decorated lobby and bar, where our guests feel at ease and can relax with friends and colleagues. Arriving at the hotel is very easy by car or public transport. To reach the hotels parking garage, please use Vossenstraat for your navigation device (without a housenumber). The hotel provides private parking for 65 cars and the central train station of Arnhem is only 5 minutes away. Therefore the hotel also has the perfect location for visiting other cities in the area like Nijmegen, Ede and Wageningen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Arnhem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing