We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”
Review of Hotel Papendal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Papendal
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Arnhem
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This a relaxt Hotel, verry nice and lovely people there, the rooms are excelent. The location is nice and relaxing, the food is also good, toilets are clean. It is a verry nice place for walking and playing golf.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lolke V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 179 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Good first impression. Reception area was modern and the lady at the front desk very friendly. The restaurant was closed but we were able to order a few options from the menu and they served it downstairs at the bar. Quality food and big portions. Restaurant staff was very helpful as well. No complaints there. Unfortunately, the bathroom in room 319 was a disaster. Mold on the walls, floor and shower curtain, pubic hair in the tub and no toilet brush. Bowel movement is actively discouraged at Papendal. Beds were comfortable, service was great and it was ok for one night but we won't go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Persephone83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I booked this hotel for the 'Nijmegen Four Day Walk Arrangement' they offered. Although there were aspects that could have been approved, I wasn't disappointed. The peace and quiet I sought after a day of walking, was more than delivered.
I stayed in a 4 star room. It was modern and clean with a great shower, great bed,free wifi and airco, much appreciated with the 30+ temps during my 4 day stay. The toiletries offered were amusing and generous, so much so I took a few home with me, something I never do, but how can you refuse a hair conditioner called 'the sleek shall inherit the earth'? The hotel itself is situated in a secluded wooded area, about a 30 minute drive from Nijmegen, and just off a major roadway. They offer golf and bike rentals, both of which I would have tried, had my days not been filled with walking the 4daagse. There is also a fitness room, which was also spotless and equipped with the basic equipment, Turkish sauna and dry sauna.
As for the food, it was good, when you ate at the restaurant 2028. As part of the package I booked, a packed breakfast and lunch were included, as well as the main course in the evening.
First off, the packed meals were terrible. Sorry, but there's not much more to say about that. Hotel Papendal is an Olympic Sports Training Centre, so you would expect something better than white buns with a smidgen of butter and a slice of cheese or ham. There was no thought given whatsoever as to the physical needs of a participant in this gruelling walk. This was the consensus of every other person who booked the same package.
The dinners, on the other hand, were delicious and served quickly and with consideration. If you wanted a starter and dessert, that was charged extra. I didn't mind to pay the extra, as the main course itself just wasn't sufficient, but again, many walkers were disappointed that this was not more clearly stipulated while booking the package.
Over all, I would recommend this hotel. I plan on doing the Nijmegen Walk again next year, and if this hotel offers a similar package, I need not look elsewhere. One sidenote--I rated the breakfast terrible, simply because I never experienced the 'normal' breakfast offered by the hotel, only the packed breakfast we were given.

Room Tip: Book a room with airco and shower---clean, quiet, modern and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dutchcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Thought that the locale was very pretty. It was rural, quiet and pretty. The room and bathroom was large, very clean, modern, well furnished and comfortable. Thought that the hotel was luxurious and a bargain.
Breakfast was very good buffet. We did not eat dinner in the hotel restaurant partly because the menu did not have many choices and I thought that the restaurant prices were high.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stanton G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This hotel have very nice view and located nearby sport events. Official hashtag #papendal. Very good breakfast and nice golf view from restarant. This hotel have very nice view and located nearby sport events. Official hashtag #papendal. Very good breakfast and nice golf view from restarant.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aleshkov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I stayed in the Papendal hotel when I was attending a congress there. It was very convenient as most of my activities were taking place in the hotel dependencies. Service was great, the room was very good - clean and warm - and the wifi worked in most of the places in the hotel. Breakfast was great, bur there was not many options for dinner. I stayed there for 3 nights and it was hard to find different dishes for each meal. It is sited in a beautiful green area, although a bit far from the city.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParadiseDiscoverer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Hotel papendal is nicely situated in the woods around Arnhem. It is part of the Dutch sport academy “papendal”. Stayed here because of our annual congress. There are two different classes of rooms, we stayed in the three star room. Even though these rooms are in a bit outdated part of the hotel the rooms are modern and with very good beds. As it is part of a big “sport” complex many things are possible around here. Breakfast is good. Not a typical romantic hideaway, however if you are looking for a good hotel to explore Arnhem and the Veluwe this could be a very nice option.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank masasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arnhem hotels
3.1 mi away
NH Arnhem Rijnhotel
NH Arnhem Rijnhotel
#1 of 14 in Arnhem
690 reviews
0.4 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Arnhem
1.8 mi away
Landgoed Hotel Groot Warnsborn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Arnhem
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Haarhuis
4.6 mi away
Postillion Hotel Arnhem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Papendal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Papendal

Address: Papendallaan 3 | Postbus 484, 6816 VD Arnhem, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel en Congrescentrum Papendal)
Location: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Arnhem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Arnhem
Price Range: $91 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Papendal 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Papendal is unique, with its lively, dynamic and energetic ambience.Guests at Hotel Papendal can sense the presence of top Dutch sporting talent, although you don’t have to practise top-class sport in order to live the experience. On arrival the expansive site with its woodlands and panoramic views feels like a breath of fresh air. All that space and greenery just on the doorstep! Hotel Papendal demonstrates the importance of light, air and space for a pleasant experience. Papendal has something for everyone, and not just in the field of sport and recreation. Papendal likes to put in a top performance for its business guests, too, offering facilities for training courses, congresses and overnight accommodation. The same high standards are offered to business groups getting together for team-building days or special events – and to all who fancy a weekend break or just want to enjoy a cup of coffee in the morning sun. Visit Papendal and experience our hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Papendal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing