We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (537)
Filter reviews
538 results
Traveler rating
183
198
106
32
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
183
198
106
32
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station superior room business trip fourth floor central location smoked salmon nice hotel single room fresh orange juice coffee machine very friendly and helpful staff walk in shower would stay again town centre bars and restaurants bread stayed one night
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 538 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2019 via mobile

This has to be one of the nicest hotels I had the pleasure to stay in. The staff on reception were spot on, friendly pleasant with good recommendations of where to eat and enjoy the pleasures of Arnhem.
I booked a double, the room was tastefully decorated. Extremely comfortable bed, perfect as on this trip I was doing a lot of walking. Bathroom was small but again perfect. Coffee machine, WiFi and tv was also in the room. I dined in the restaurant within the hotel again the hotel Haarhuis did not disappoint, very reasonable portions food was piping hot and great service. I’m certainly going to be re booking this hotel again on any further trips to Arnhem. This hotel is situated directly opposite Arnhem main train and bus station, around an hour by train from Schiphol Airport. Pictures are of hotel front, my view from my 3rd floor corner room, the train station, hotel lift and the famous Arnhem Bridge.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank chutney453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHaarhuis, Front Office at Best Western Plus Hotel Haarhuis, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2020

Dear mr. Chutney,

Thank you so much for your heartwarming review!
We are so happy to receive your compliments and positive feedback.
Good to see that you are satisfied about our hotel, the staff and also the hotel rooms!
You are always welcome for a next stay, so we would like to see you again soon.
The best wishes for 2020!

With kind regards,

Elke
Best Western Plus Hotel Haarhuis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2019 via mobile

We booked this hotel due to its proximity to the train station and the city center. We booked with the triple A rate on the BW site, which gives you a better rate than 3rd party resellers.

The king bedroom was a good size and very quiet. The king bed was no bigger than a queen size bed. We did not raise it as an issue with the hotel and do not know if that is a European thing, but when I book a king, I would like a king.

A couple of things to consider:

The lighting in the room is extremely dim including in the bathroom. Thus this is not a good room if you are elderly or have poor eye sight.

The bathroom was enclosed by glass and the door was not lockable. You could see the user naked on the toilet and in the shower. Thus this room is this not appropriate for business or family where privacy is required.

There was odd placement of furnishings which made the room feel smaller than it was.

To get to the hotel from the train station one has a half a pedestrian crossing that is guarded by traffic lights. The other half closest to the hotel is a service road and is not guarded and you put your life at risk to cross it, with bikes and fast moving cars, particularly during rush hour. The hotel should work with the city to get a full side walk installed. You could cross more safely by going the long way, however do you really want to do that in the Dutch rainy climate ( it is about 3 times as far to walk).

The breakfast is over priced and there are better options in the city nearby.

The location of this hotel is excellent and would be the main reason for selecting it again. There are better options in the city at other locations, if location is not a priority.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank berendv2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2019 via mobile

We had a room on the 3rd floor, which was in the MIDDLE of a contraction... Dust everywhere! The ceiling was falling apart (see pictures). Our room was in the front of a contraction area. We couldn't get another room since they had no rooms left. The lady, assistant manager, at the front desk literally told us that we should be happy with our room since there are worst rooms at the 3rd floor. She didn't show any interest.
We had to ask twice for an iron and an iron table. And finally we received a mini version of it...
The coffee machine was not working properly. The walls are too thin etc.
We mentioned everything when checking out but they lady at the front desk tried to defend everything instead of showing a little bit of sympathy...
We are really disappointed.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank ss0783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2019

This hotel was a disappointment. Shabby rooms in need of refurbishment. We thought it was 4 star but it wasn't up to the standard of a British Travelodge.
Worst of all, it was horribly noisy. We could hear doors slamming, TV and music from other rooms and a group of men talking / shouting till very late. Not much sleep as a result so we left early and found another hotel.
The receptionists were good and cancelled our booking so we only paid for one night - though maybe they could have not charged us that since I didn't sleep.
Parking was terrible. We queued for ages for an elusive space in the station car park.
Only good thing was breakfast which was delicious. They even had a machine making freshly squeezed orange juice.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHaarhuis, Front Office at Best Western Plus Hotel Haarhuis, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2019

Dear Jennifer,

Thank you for writing some feedback to us.
I already saw your review on another channel, and gave you an answer on it.
Again, my sincere apologies for this inconvenience.
We would like to get in contact with you to think about a solution for you.
If you would like to, can you please send us an e-mail to info@hotelhaarhuis.nl
Thank you in forward, and we hope to make this up with you.

With kind regards,

Elke Rakhorst
Best Western Plus Hotel Haarhuis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2019

We stayed at this hotel during our first motoring holiday in 2017 and enjoyed the place then. What we liked then we still like now, smart and friendly staff, nice spacious rooms and good food.
The bathroom in the fourth floor was bigger than the entire cabin of the DFDS ferry we didn't enjoy the previous night. Only minus point is the overhead collider style square shower head flooded a good proportion of the area around the walk in shower. The people who ooh and aah at these designer features presumable never use them! Otherwise the place was very clean, comfortable and well appointed. There are ongoing exterior building works, set to last well into 2020. The contractors use the rear carpark and start at 07.00. Due to a miscommunication, our car impeded their progress. That said, the foreman was very pleasant and hosed off the dust on our car. Thank you for that!
The restaurant also doubles up as the breakfast bar, spacious and well served. The evening meal was very tasty, the following breakfast outstanding. My wife went nuts for the dripping honeycomb, it took three visits to the breakfast bar for a 'fix'.
Prices reasonable, only the sterling exchange rate made it seem more expensive.

Room tip: Centre of town location, expect some city noise with window open.
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews