We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Much Fun!”
Review of Aan de Rijn B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arnhem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aan de Rijn B&B
Ranked #9 of 20 Arnhem B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The only bad part about staying here was finding it! Our GPS got us close, but it took my sister and I about a half hour or more to finally locate the B&B. We asked at a large hotel that is nearby and finally got correct directions.
Easy parking out on the street. A little tricky getting your big American luggage down the ramp, but once there -- SO worth it all! It is a houseboat, so two of us needed Dramamine or Scopolamine patches to stay there the two nights. We had an entire apartment for the four of us! Two bedrooms, a sitting area, bathroom, a portion of the beautiful deck just for us! Comfortable beds, and the attention to detail in the decorations and amenities offered was amazing. They also offered us "welcoming drinks" to toast our stay there!
We only met Jaap as our host, but we know his wife Jetty had something to do with the incredible breakfasts we were served each morning. The photos on the website don't do the meals justice. It was different and so beautifully presented each morning! Jaap would also explain any typical Dutch treats he presented so we'd know how to eat them. He was readily available for all of our questions, restaurant recommendations and directions.
We can't recommend Aan de Rijn highly enough! You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (15)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 15 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

Just the thought of sleeping on a houseboat is fascinating, and we were not disappointed. Would not have minded in the least had it rocked a bit more, but it was quite stable.
We had the largest unit, which created two private sleeping areas (technically one bedroom, I guess). Plenty of room to knock about but as another reviewer noted, a teensy (but spotless and functioning) bathroom.
The breakfasts were ample and pretty typical Dutch menu, which is not a disappointment. Our daughter learned from the owner that the purpose of "sprinkles" is to put them on a slice of buttered bread, and here I thought sprinkles were just for ice cream!
A little pricey, I thought, at 125 Euro/night.
Our bed was comfortable. A queen in name only, consisting of two twins pushed together.
Parking, and getting in and out was a bit convoluted. That said, it's a pleasant walk to old town Arnhem.
In all, it was a pleasant and unique experience. I held back from a higher rating because it seemed a bit lacking in ambiance (which is but one's person's opinion who probably got spoiled by having seen all the really cool houseboats in Amsterdam!)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtnbike4evr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We were starting a bike trip from Arnhem in the Netherlands on the eve of the new king's coronation, so we engaged Tulip Cycling to make reservations for us rather than taking a chance on finding accommodations ourselves. They delighted us with the first night's B&B in this charming tethered boat on the Rhine River in the center of Arnhem. The proprieters were friendly, the bed very comfortable, and the bike storage convenient. We were charmed by the nautical features of the bedroom -- hardwood built-in cabinets all around, a stairway that was best viewed as a ladder, and a tiny but functional toilet/shower room. We were served an excellent breakfast in the morning before setting out on our bike tour. We especially liked that the friendly owners asked the night before about our food preferences (vegetarian) and provided a corresponding meal. The boat is moored next to their riverbank home, which extends over the water and is decorated with pots of blooming flowers. Passing ships and barges gently rocked us to sleep in the night. From the windows, we watched geese and cormorants on the river. The location of the boat was a manageable walk from the railway station -- important because we had quite a bit of luggage with us and had not yet exchanged it for bikes and panniers for our tour. Low ceilings and steep climbs would make this a poor choice for very tall or arthritic travelers, but for moderately adventurous tourists, it's magical.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank livewombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

This made a change. Our friend booked us here for a night on our cycle tour of Holland. It is situated on the north bank of the Rhine, just on the edge of the centre of the town. We actually drove into the city centre (<2km) for dinner. There is a car park at the entrance and bike storage inside the front gate.

It is a clean and quirky barge. The proprietors were friendly. They looked after us around their normal working lives, which made it all the more homely. We shared the barge with some friendly Scots that were also touring the country.

This accommodation is cheap and you are on a boat so you have to make some allowances for the lack of space. The bedrooms are cramped. The bathrooms do not have room to swing a mouse, let alone a cat. The water pressure for the shower is low and you are crushed between the toilet and the sink whilst trying to clean yourself.

The breakfast was familiar; a full continental breakfast with fresh ingredients. I wouldn't recommend staying here for a week. But for one or two nights, it was lovely.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clerkenwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil2800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank nicotam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Wir hatten ein geräumiges Zimmer (links) im Erdgeschoss mit Terrasse und eigener Dusche/WC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arnhem hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Arnhem Rijnhotel
NH Arnhem Rijnhotel
#1 of 14 in Arnhem
687 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Old Dutch
Hotel Old Dutch
#11 of 14 in Arnhem
35 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Arnhem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Haarhuis
2.1 mi away
Landgoed Hotel Groot Warnsborn
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
B&B Townhouse10
#7 of 20 in Arnhem
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aan de Rijn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aan de Rijn B&B

Address: Onderlangs 124, 6812 CJ Arnhem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Arnhem
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Arnhem
Number of rooms: 1

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing