We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Customers an afterthought” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arnhem Centraal

Hotel Arnhem Centraal
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Arnhem Centraal
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Arnhem
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Customers an afterthought”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

An unwelcoming and dark reception area greeted us. The room wasn`t ready. The keys to the room didn`t work. There is no one on Reception after 11 o`clock in the evening and entrance is through a side door using room key.......that didn`t work and we had to knock loudly on the door to rouse a member of staff to let us in. Rooms are not cleaned on a daily basis. The breakfast was very limited....bread stale, scrammbled eggs cold, no fruit on some days. The casually dressed staff had a limited knowledge of places of interest around Arnhem. On the positive side the location is good for the train station, bus station and city centre. The rooms were adaquate and the shower and bathroom good. However, this is not a place I would recommend to anyone and was extremely poor value for money.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PEGASUS186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
3
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire. England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2010

Taking a business trip to Arnhem we had planned to stay in a 'branded' hotel, but our customer decided to select something a little more 'cost effective'... This did not seem to bode well. However, my worries were Totally unfounded...

The Hotel Arnhem Centraal is in central Arnhem and is located directly in front of Arnhem railway station (very simple for transfer from Schiphol airport) and also 100 meters from the central bus station (very good for local travel). Parking is in the central car park under the bus station and is EUR 12.50 per day, it seemed secure and safe. We arrived, parked outside then took the empty car to the car park and walked back, we did this daily and it was no issue at all.

Upon arrival at the Hotel we were met by extremely friendly and helpful staff and a quirky (the main part of the ground floor is a Greek restaurant) but really very nice hotel. I travel excessively, normally stay in 4-5 Star Marriott's and don't suffer middle of the road hotels very well at all - but the Hotel Arnhem Centraal was really very good and I have no complaints at all.

The hotel boasts a lift to floors 0-2 (you need to walk from 2 to 3) or an almost Vertical staircase (beware visitors with small children this is very steep - no reason not to go, but beware). All rooms have card key entries. My room 104: was spacious in the extreme (note others said their rooms were smaller) but had a none too impressive view of Arnhem railway station which is behind the hotel (no noise issues though).

Each room has a small flat screen TV, free internet, phone and a mini fridge (not minibar) and an individual aircon unit. The bathroom was bidet and shower (no bath) and quite new and Very clean. The shower was powerful and easy to operate and they supplied sachets of shampoo and baby soap (take your own shampoo). They offer a simple room service including breakfast in the room. Breakfast is served in the lobby restaurant and includes cold and warm food. There is a smokers room off the lobby.

As described above, the hotel also has a large Greek restaurant (complete with Greek Urns and Statues..) which offers either a la carte, or a Greek Buffet. Having lived in Cyprus for many years I like 'Good' Greek food and was Very Impressed with the buffet, such that I ate there twice in three days and would have eaten there again had I not been out voted!

The hotel is fairly central in Arnhem and is in easy walking distance from bars and restaurants in town. It seemed safe and is in a well lit well travelled area.

I had one free morning during my trip and wanted to get to the Airborne Museum Oosterbeek, but was pushed for time and transport (no car that day) so I walked to the central bus station, jumped on the bus and in 20 minutes I was there. An excellent and moving museum by the way and well worth the effort. I took the bus back and then set off for Schiphol via the station (3 minute walk from the hotel lobby).

All in all, I would unreservedly and thoroughly recommend this hotel on the basis of cosy friendliness, service, location and ease of access from Schiphol and transport links to the rest of Holland.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Truebrit50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

The hotel is easily located from Arnhem train station and can be reached in a minute's walk. It is located above a Greek restaurant with the main reception accessed through the restaurant entrance. The room was modern and clean with spacious twin beds and good shower / bath facilities with a monsoon shower and air-conditioning. You can also access the main shopping and tourist district within a minutes walk. The tourist information office is on the same street.

We were required to pay on checking into the hotel but could not be provided with a receipt until the main receptionist started work. Though a fridge was provided in the room, no other drinks facilities were available e.g., kettle, tea, coffee, or minibar. I recommend you walk to the station to buy these before returning to the hotel as we were charged EUR5.00 for two cups of tea even though the menu said they cost EUR1.85 each.

I'd stay again as Arnhem seems to have pricey hotels (converted into British Pounds) and at EUR98 per night, this hotel was one of the cheapest. However, at this price, I would have at least expected some shampoo!

For what we wanted it was a fantastic location, and I would stay again as I'm very picky about how clean a hotel is. There are also some good touristy things to do such as Sonsbeek park, the water museum, Burgers Zoo, two other parks, good shopping area - I think the previous reviewer just didn't do his research because there is a map available online.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank haikugirl_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

We stayed here to visit the Airborne Museum and do a little history/culture stuff. We hadn't appreciated that much of what we wanted to see was at Oosterbeek, around a 10-15 minute bus ride out of Arnhem, and this area was much prettier and more picturesque. If you're going for the WWII history, I'd stay there instead. The hotel is clean, with very modern and pleasant rooms (although the one we stayed in in the attic was a bit small) and really nice full bathrooms, fluffy towels and toiletries etc. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was good. As the name suggests, the hotel is situated adjacent to the train station and on a fairly busy main road, which isn't great for a leisure break, although as far as value for money goes, it was pretty good. I personally was disappointed in Arnhem as a town - not a lot to see or do and won't be going back, although was very glad to have gone to Oosterbeek.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoBNorfolk_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arnhem hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Arnhem
0.8 mi away
NH Arnhem Rijnhotel
NH Arnhem Rijnhotel
#2 of 14 in Arnhem
4.0 of 5 stars 510 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Haarhuis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Molendal
Hotel Molendal
#9 of 14 in Arnhem
4.5 of 5 stars 70 reviews
4.2 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Arnhem
2.5 mi away
Postillion Hotel Arnhem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arnhem Centraal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arnhem Centraal

Property: Hotel Arnhem Centraal
Address: Willemsplein 18, 6811 KB Arnhem, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Arnhem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Arnhem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arnhem Centraal 3*
Number of rooms: 272
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Arnhem Centraal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing