We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb gastronomy but prizy”
Review of Hotel de Echoput

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de Echoput
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Apeldoorn
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Superb gastronomy but prizy”
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

We spend a weekend with the family in Echoput as we are all foodies. We do this every year so this is getting a tradition. Have been here several times and never disappointed. The dinner with wine arrangement was superb, staff in restaurant very capable and service minded. The staff in the bar was not as attend but was during apprative and the main thing is the dinner. Rooms and facilities and location great and every time it excites us ! The only issue I have is the overall price for the whole experience, that is firm and increasing every time ....

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Herman H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeEchoput, Manager at Hotel de Echoput, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear guest. Thank you very much for your stay, with the family, in the Echoput.
We are pleased to hear that the dinner, our staff and the hotel with all her facilities are as wished.
We hope to see you again at Hotel Gastronomique de Echoput.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    163
    50
    31
    3
See reviews for
48
293
7
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband's and my two day stay was magical. I just read some recent reviews and want to say that our experience with the staff was exceptional: they were professional, kind and sincere in their efforts to please.. Our meals were totally top-notch. The exclusivity was a pleasure. Being next to the King's forest and breathing in this clean, fresh air is priceless. The Hotel name comes from the well that was dug by Napoleon's men. Echoput: the well with an echo....it is deep. The new well water supply is from a 90 meter deep aquifer. The water is very soft; my allergy prone skin loved it....that is... taking a dip in the private indoor swimming area. Enjoy! Tilly Dunn,Ottawa,Canada.

Room Tip: Our room was gorgeous, peaceful...the sounds of the highway traffic were muffled, even with the pati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinD91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeEchoput, Manager at Hotel de Echoput, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear guest. We are very pleased to hear that your stay was 'Magical'.
And we hope to welcome you again at Hotel Gastronomique de Echoput.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apeldoorn
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Good service and good standard on everything but the breakfast was a bit overpriced. Nicely furnished rooms with all necessary items in the bathrooms and good space for luggage and personal belongings.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Sigrid D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeEchoput, Manager at Hotel de Echoput, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Echoput-guest.
Thank you very much for this positive feedback regarding your stay at The Echoput.
We hope to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oostende
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We were 2 nights in Echoput during Hotel Week.
Wonderful location.
Unfortunately the restaurant was closed, only the Bistro was open. The first evening service was below average, a young trainee had to manage everything on his own. The second evening service was better. Food was okay but not more, wine very expensive. Other staff was friendly but not warm or welcoming.
Rooms are spacious and nice, although not 100% clean. Beautiful but small pool and sauna. Golf hole in the cellar is not a good idea, unpleasant.
Not a good experience, without doubt because of (very) low season. If it's not the management's idea to offer the five star service also during Hotel Week, they better close the hotel for some time. This is bad publicity. We would have gone back if we had been treated on the level they undoubtfully normally offer, now we won't.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HendrikOostende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeEchoput, Manager at Hotel de Echoput, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear guest.
Thank you for you review. We were pleased to have welcomed you during the Hotel Week.
Our Restaurant is closed on Sunday and Monday. But our Bistro is open 7 days a week. So, that's why is wasn't possible to eat in our Restaurant the first evening.
Regarding our hotel, we have an Indoor Putting Green close to our Fitness area, Swimming Pool and Sauna. So even when the weather is not that good, you can be active and relax in the wellness-area our five star Hotel.
We hope to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We visited De Echoput during the 'Hotelweek', so we had a good price on the room.
Add-ons were very expensive though. But that was anticipated.
But when you book a 5 star hotel you expect a 5 star experience.
Unfortunately, in my opinion rooms were 4 star quality and breakfast was 3 star.
We had a large room (all rooms are large), but the interior is a bit outdated. We had a bath and a shower which is very nice. The hotel has free wifi.
The minibar is not stocked because of environmental friendly policy, but I can hardly believe that argument as the shower has 2 shower heads, half a meter from each other which cannot be operated separately, so one beam is always spoiling water, unless you shower with 2 people. The room had 18 lights; from which 10 are under 1 button and 1 is always on, in the closet. Please mind the environment...
The room temperature was quite warm. That's one of the reason that I didn't sleep very well here, another reason is that pilows are of poor quality, very thin. I asked for more firm pillows, but this was not good taken care of.
The breakfast was disappointing because it was nothing special and orange juice was full of water, tea and coffee came in thermos, eggs & bacon from au-bain-marie and a too slow clearing policy.
The surroundings are great and the building looks nice. But I would not pay rack rate here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PimH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Echoput, Manager at Hotel de Echoput, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear guest. Thank you for your review.
Our luxury five star Hotel has 42 rooms and suites. The rooms have wonderful luxurious beds, specialy designed bathrooms with double douche and bathtub and have every comfort like airconditioning, floorheating, lcd-television and laptopsafe. You mention that the room was warm, we are sorry for this. You have had the option to lower the temperature down by turning on the airconditioning.
You also tell in your review that you prefer thicker pillows. There are extra pillows in the closet in the hotelroom, which can be used.
Our breakfast serves products of local entrepreneurs. We only serve high quality products, like fresh Orange Juice, different kinds of milk- and breadproducts, teas and coffee.
So, we were pleased to welcome you and we hope to meet you again at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

the hotel is clean, modern, nice design, comfy bed, spacious room. We liked the balcony. Nice but small pool and hot sauna. We had 4 course set menu on new years eve- food was good, reasonably priced, but not exceptional. Wine choice was good.
Breakfast at €22:50 was overpriced in my opinion.

I am struggling with the 5 stars as there are some things missing that i would expect in a 5 star hotel, namely no tea/ coffee facilities or even a complimentary water in the room; bathrobes were available but not in the room- you had to ask for them; the lack of staff, causing a reasonably long wait at reception to check in and out and at breakfast there was only 1 staff member on duty so tables weren't cleared. We saw guests having to sit at dirty tables and search for clean cutlery themselves. Perhaps this was due to holiday period??
The hotel claims to be environmentally conscious hence the reason why they said there is nothing in the mini bar, however in the bathroom and in the poolside 2 showers switch on at the same time wasting lots of water... Is this environmentally responsible?
To conclude, we enjoyed our stay and would probably go back again sometime in the future.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gil978344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeEchoput, Manager at Hotel de Echoput, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Google Translation
Geachte gast. Wij danken u hartelijk voor uw beoordeling.
In uw review geeft u aan te hebben gedineerd in onze Bistro. Onze Bistro&Wijnbar Flavours wordt gekenmerkt door de informele sfeer en is 7 dagen in de week geopend voor lunch en diner, dit in tegenstelling tot Restaurant de Echoput (met Michelin-ster). De menukaart bij Flavours is beperkter dan de kaart van Restaurant de Echoput, maar dit doet zeker niet af aan de kwaliteit.
U geeft aan dat u de prijs van het ontbijtbuffet te hoog vindt. De basis voor ons ontbijt ligt in onze kernwaarden; ons buffet bestaat uit producten van lokale boeren, kaasmakers en andere ambachtelijke producenten. Daarnaast bakken we ons eigen brood, serveren we vers fruit en diverse soorten koffie en thee.
Wij hopen van harte dat u van een fijn verblijf heeft mogen genieten en graag verwelkomen u nog eens bij Hotel Gastronomique de Echoput.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed at the Echoput for 2 nights and had the wellness package. This review is about the hotel and the restaurant. The hotel looks very modern, with up to date furniture, a beautiful bathroom and the room is spacious. The problem is the lightning and temperature. It is very ill lit and especially in the bathroom, this is a problem. The rooms are very warm, we opened the balcony doors but couldn't get the room cooled down to a more reasonable temperature. The hotel itself is very close to a busy road and with the balcony doors opened, we had a lot of noise during the night from driving by cars. We had dinner at Flavors, which is the "simple bistro" and had a wonderful night. The food was good, the wine was reasonable priced, service was a bit slow, but not bad. The other night we had dinner at THE restaurant. The food was very good, but service was so-so. They didn't try to make you feel welcome and at ease. We had the 5 course dinner, which was really good, but it took too long. We were really looking forward to a nice night out, but this took more than 4 hours...... Anyways, both mornings we had breakfast, which was just ok. A buffet with different things, but nothing spectacular. All in all, this was ok, but could have been better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chantal_Verbeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeEchoput, Manager at Hotel de Echoput, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Google Translation
Geachte gast. Hartelijk dank voor uw reactie op uw verblijf en uw positieve ervaringen.
U geeft aan gedineerd te hebben in onze Bistro en in Restaurant de Echoput (met Michelin-ster)
Een diner in onze informele Bistro wijkt af van een avond dineren in Restaurant de Echoput. Wij bieden een andere menukaart aan en de ambiance in beide restaurants verschilt.
In uw review meldt u dat u uw hotelkamer te warm vond. Echter alle hotelkamers zijn uitgerust met een airco, die u ten aller tijde kan en mag gebruiken.
Ons Hotel is gelegen aan een N-weg, dus men mag hier maximaal 80 km per uur rijden. Deze weg is naar onze mening, en naar die van vele gasten van ons, geen drukke weg, zeker niet in de avond. Dit aangezien deze N-weg door de bossen van de Veluwe gaat en je langs dorpen als Uddel en Hoog Soeren rijdt.
Wij hopen u desalniettemin nog eens te mogen verwelkomen bij Hotel Gastonomique de Echoput.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apeldoorn
4.1 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Apeldoorn - de Cantharel
3.0 mi away
Bilderberg Hotel De Keizerskroon
2.9 mi away
Bastion Hotel Apeldoorn Het Loo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Hotel de Sterrenberg
Hotel de Sterrenberg
#1 of 3 in Otterlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
7.5 mi away
Bilderberg Residence Groot Heideborgh
14.7 mi away
Kasteel Engelenburg
Kasteel Engelenburg
#1 of 2 in Brummen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Echoput? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Echoput

Property: Hotel de Echoput
Address: Amersfoortseweg 86, 7346 AA Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Apeldoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Apeldoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de Echoput 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 5-star Hotel de Echoput in Apeldoorn is a beautiful designhotel and wellknown superb restaurant, in the center of Holland in the national park The Veluwe. Hotel de Echoput is surrounded by 11.000 hectares of forests, the original hunting grounds owned and used by the Dutch Royal Family itself. The Royal Palace ‘Het Loo’ is less than five kilometres from Hotel de Echoput and has been turned into a national museum. We gladly welcome you in our clean air hotel in the Netherlands. Hotel de Echoput offers: 42 luxury hotelrooms and suites, all with balcony or loggia and airconditioning, a famous Gourmet Game Restaurant, several private dining and conference rooms, and indoor swimmingpool. There are wonderful hiking and biking tracks. Hotel de Echoput is named after the historic very deep well, built under the reign of King Louis Napoleon, between 1809 and 1811. The well is famous for its sounding echo. The rooms are ready for check-in at 2 PM. Early check-in is possible in consultation, based on availability and surcharge. The next day check-out time is 11 AM. A late check-out is a great possibility to extend your stay and to enjoy the facilities of the hotel, based on availability and surcharge. Restaurant de Echoput is famous for its delicious game-dishes and lies amidst the royal woods belonging to the Palace Het Loo, in one of the largests natural parcs in Europe. The restaurant is modern chique decorated and has a lovely garden and terrace. Since there is a lot of game living in the national forest around us, we like to keep as close to nature as we can. Restaurant de Echoput is also wellknown for wine and food pairing, thanks to the owner Peter Klosse, who is the founder of the modern theory about flavour and tasting. New is our Multi-sensory Dining concept. Restaurant De Echoput celebrates its 60th anniversary. Restaurant de Echoput has private diningrooms for groups. Hotel de Echoput is a luxury location for private dining, meetings, seminars and conferences, weddings, receptions and banquets, situated in the center of Holland, Gelderland, easy to find (intersection highway A1/ highway A50) with a large free parking facility and 50 minutes drive from Amsterdam/Schiphol and the border with Germany (direction Arnhem). We have a large free parking facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel de Echoput reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing