We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bastion Hotel Apeldoorn Het Loo
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Apeldoorn
Reviewed August 27, 2014

This hotel is extremely well located, not far from the center of town, close to the castle, and at the edge of the Veluwe.
The hotel looks more like a business hotel, but it certainly also suitable for holidays, good facilities and large rooms.
The breakfast buffet is extensive and good.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
Thank Hans J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (424)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 424 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2014

The room is spacious and clean. The bathroom is also quite large, especially by European standards. The hotel staff was quite nice and helpful except for one hilarious incident. We booked the reservation under the Bastion Hotel so that was the name of the hotel we were looking for. We were cycling in in bikes and no one knew the hotel as it's the Het Loo and not called Bastion. So we were completely lost. We were even literally right outside the hotel grounds and the clerk we spoke to on the phone couldn't tell delineate Bastion vs Het Loo. So we wasted a lot of time trying to locate the hotel. Once there I do have to say we were pleased by the accommodations and the dinner we had in the restaurant. Overall, a very good value.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulcCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Apeldoorn Het Loo, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Dear paulcCA,

We would like to thank you very much for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us at the Bastion Deluxe Hotel Apeldoorn / Het Loo. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all our guests have a great experience in our hotels.

We are very sorry that you have spent a lot of time on locating the situation, but we do not understand this because the hotel is called Bastion Deluxe Hotel Apeldoorn / Het Loo. Het loo is a palace that is situated near the hotel.

We are pleased to find out that you have enjoyed your stay and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon!

With sincere regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

If you are looking for a very basic hotel with a good location and don't mind about minimal/sub-par service, then this would be an ok place to stay. As others have noted it is directly across from the palace and easy walking distance to downtown, so the location is excellent. Apeldoorn is a beautiful city.

However, we did note a few areas that could use some improvement. First of all - THERE ARE NOT ENOUGH STAFF to do everything that needs to be done. Staff are literally manning the front desk, the bar, and the restaurant all at the same time. This makes for slow and frustrated service all around - frustration for the customer and for the staff. Some staff are friendly and want to be helpful; others not so much. That said if I had to check people in and make breakfast for others all at the same time I might be a bit grumpy too. A couple of times we needed assistance with phone calls as we don't speak Dutch - one person was marginally helpful (after we pleaded); the other person not at all.

Two rooms in our party had bats in their rooms. Not sure how this happened - both rooms on the same side of the hotel. We didn't have this issue in our room thankfully. Both parties were moved to different rooms. Personally I might have been tempted to move hotels if I'd had a bat as a roommate.

There is a sign in the hotel saying they will match prices found on other booking sites - however when the hotel was asked by a member of our party, this promise was not honoured. Pricing was generally confusing as the price I was quoted when reserving was somehow changed when we got to the hotel. Not sure why this was.

Towels are minimal, given the service I'm not sure if we would have ever gotten more if we had asked.

I would love to go to Apeldoorn again, but doubt very much that I will stay at this hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank mom2Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Apeldoorn Het Loo, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear mom2Canada,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us at Bastion Deluxe Hotel Apeldoorn/Het Loo. We hope you had a lovely stay in Apeldoorn, it is a very nice city! Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a great experience at our hotel.

We are pleased to find out that you have enoyed your stay! The Bastion Hotel Groep strives to provide an excellent service by trying our hardest to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon!

With sincere regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed here for a few days to explore Apeldoorn and its surroundings. Its location was a main selling point for us: the hotel is very close to Paleis Het Loo (royal palace) and the surrounding parks and forests. The city center is also within walking distance, and can easily be reached by bus.

Our room had a desk, two chairs, television, fridge, coffee and tea facilities, Wi-Fi, small safe (not large enough for a laptop), and climate control, all free of charge. The room was quite spacious, and the beds were good. The bathroom looked new and modern. However, the hotel website specifically states that the rooms have baths, and ours did not (nor did the other room we viewed—see below). For us this was fine, as we don't like baths, but still.

Everything was reasonably clean, especially where it matters most (beds and bathroom). However, the floor was quite dusty from the moment we entered the room, which made walking around on your socks not ideal. The cleaning staff had also missed that the safe in our room was still locked by a previous occupant, which we noticed shortly after arriving. As it turned out, he/she probably locked the safe and removed the batteries to stop the safe from beeping because it was broken. When we asked the reception desk about the locked safe we were promptly helped, and we were also immediately offered another room when it turned out the safe was broken. This was fully in line with the rest of our stay, during which service was always very good.

The hotel has a number of facilities that we didn't get a chance to use, including a swimming pool, lounge, and bar. We did eat in the restaurant one evening, and found the food to be alright but not special. We can't comment on breakfast, because we found it a bit overpriced and elected to go elsewhere in the morning.

Overall, the hotel offers good value for money. We would recommend it for business travelers, but also as a starting point to explore the surroundings. We've been here before (years ago), and would come back again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have some traffic noise (but nothing too bad).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank badeendje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Apeldoorn Het Loo, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear guest,

We want to thank you very much for your stay at Bastion Deluxe Hotel Apeldoorn / Het Loo. We are pleased to find out that you have enjoyed the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities and all of this you have translated in a nice review!

We hope you had a nice stay in Apeldoorn. Our hotel is perfectly situated for guests who want to experience and explore Apeldoorn. Close to the center and free parking is offered.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

My second stay at this hotel, the first had a lack of hot water due to a broken boiler which made for a horrible stay. This time was better and the room was clean if a bit dark, food was ok but not stunning and service was friendly.

The breakfast is ok but grows a bit dull after a few mornings.

Overall its kinda average, nothing stunning and the price is good for the overall experience.
For one or two nights it's not a bad place but you may want to stay elsewhere if you are in town for a few nights.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lordpercy_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Apeldoorn Het Loo, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear guest,

We want to thank you very much for your stay at Bastion Deluxe Hotel Apeldoorn / Het Loo. We are pleased to see that you have enjoyed the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities and all of this you have translated in a nice review!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

A Businesslike Business Hotel in a great location for business in the area. Rooms are exceptionally clean (a bit too hot), modern, tidy. The staff are very efficient and friendly. The breakfast is great and so is the WIFI, parking etc. But... it is missing something. There is not much character but if you are on business, that is not what you are looking for. The small bar is a nice oasis though. Restaurant was a big negative for me. The menu was dull and the service were painfully slow, especially for groups (of 6). I tried twice then decided there is a lovely town along a very nice walk with plenty of opportunities for food, drink etc. For walks there is the forest and royal park nearby
I would visit again as it is a great business hotel or to visit the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bazscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Apeldoorn Het Loo, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear guest,

We want to thank you very much for your stay at Bastion Deluxe Hotel Almere and for your review which you have posted on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to see that you have enjoyed the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities and all of this you have translated in a nice review!

You mentioned in your review that the service in the restaurant was very slow and the menu wa dull. We would like to apologize for the fact that you have experienced these inconveniences. Do you have any suggestion about what you would like to see on the menu? We value your comments and recommendations for assessments and to further develop our standards. The Bastion Hotel Groep strives to always meet and exceed the expectations of our guest.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

Team Bastion Hotel Groep

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

This is a great hotel they do everything well. Great rooms - tea/coffee in room / large tv / warm , late check out (12 o clock ) , very clean , reception - nothing to difficult . The area (as the town) is nice , close to the park and woods which is good for walking and cycling . If you are going to winter marathon/running events you are just over 800M to start/finish and can watch the race from the warmth of the hotel . 10mins walk to centre , 20mins walk to station but easy to walk (basically straight down to it) .

Not often I give 5 stars - impressed .



Anything to improve ---minor point / detail --- some more coffee and cream in the room please (rather than asking reception)

Room Tip: Room on the front to watch the marathon or rear for the slight traffic noise !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ptrabant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Apeldoorn Het Loo, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the review which you have posted on Tripadvisor.
As we can see you have experienced the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities of Bastion Hotel Groep and you have summarized it in a great review!

Thank you very much for that.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

Team Bastion Hotel Groep

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Apeldoorn hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel de Echoput
#3 of 7 in Apeldoorn
547 reviews
Binnenstad
Hotel et le Cafe de Paris
Hotel et le Cafe de Paris
#5 of 7 in Apeldoorn
93 reviews
Hotel-Pension Berg en Bos
#7 of 7 in Apeldoorn
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bastion Hotel Apeldoorn Het Loo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastion Hotel Apeldoorn Het Loo

Address: Loolaan 556, 7315 AG Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Apeldoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Apeldoorn
Price Range: $75 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bastion Hotel Apeldoorn Het Loo 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bastion Hotel Apeldoorn het Loo is a luxurious four star hotel. The hotel stands for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive rate. The Bastion Deluxe Hotel Apeldoorn het Loo offers a 24 hour front office, comfortable rooms and an extensive choice of dishes from the a la carte menu in the atmospheric restaurant. Guests are always welcome in the cozy hotel bar or smoking lounge. This lounge contains an LCD television, air-conditioning and relaxing lounge chairs. The hotel also offers wellness facilities, which guests can use for free, air-conditioning and free wireless internet in the entire hotel. In the lobby the hotel has a computer available, for guests, for free use of the internet. Domestic animals are not allowed. Location / accessibility Bastion Deluxe Hotel Apeldoorn het Loo is located close to Palace The Loo, with a view on the nice gardens. The natural environment with National Park the "Hoge Veluwe", offers a lot of possibilities for walking and cycling fanatics. The beautiful centre of Apeldoorn offers a variety of culture. Apeldoorn is the biggest city on the Veluwe and is known as residential of the Family of Oranje. Rooms The hotel has 70 comfortable deluxe rooms, 24 Junior Suites and 10 Suites. The deluxe rooms are equipped with a television, WiFi, a bureau, a safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with bath, toilet and hairdryer. The Junior Suites and Suites are more spacious than the Deluxe rooms and have a separate sitting area. The suites are also fitted with sofabed. Food & Beverage The hotel serves breakfast on weekdays from 06:00 to 09:00 and in weekends from 07:00 to 10:30. The hotel has an attractive restaurant with an extensive a la carte menu. The restaurant is open from 11:00 until 23:00 for lunch and dinner. The hotel bar is open until 23.30. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bastion Hotel Apeldoorn Het Loo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Apeldoorn
Apeldoorn Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing