We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fulfills your basic needs, but nothing more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bastion Hotel Apeldoorn Het Loo
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Apeldoorn
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,609 helpful votes
“Fulfills your basic needs, but nothing more”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I stayed one night at this hotel due to a business meeting nearby. I did not choose it for other purposes than convenience for my meeting, and in that way the hotel was a success. How ever it is really basic, nothing more. The staff is nice and polite, and the lobby is in its own way quite cozy, with a fire place and some book shelfs.

The restaurant / breakfast area is of average quality. I had a late evening meal - some sort of cold salmon - which was ok.
The breakfast however was not good; not even for this kind of hotel (I like to call it touch and go hotels). Very poor selection of food, though the food that was available was good enough.

My room at the first floor was big - the bathroom was huge, but very sterile; institution like.
I did not find my bed comfortable at all. It felt like the mattress was worn out. The worst thing however, was that the second I laid down, I started itching all over my body. I changed bed (there were two) but the itching continued. I haven't speculated on the reason for this; I hope its not something alive, but rather an allergic reaction to the detergent.

This ended up as a really bad review, but this hotel is actually not that(!) bad. My experience is of course a subjective one, and the reason for the itching could have been very benign. But for me this hotel is touch and go; check in, sleep (hopefully), eat (not the best breakfast) and check out.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Imedvindfranord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Apeldoorn Het Loo, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our associates in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you accept my apologies ,

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    144
    78
    44
    12
See reviews for
61
134
22
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hellevoetsluis, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Booked this hotel way in advance and got a good deal on the price. Stayed two nights ( Feb. 2nd - Feb. 4th ) in a suite (room #156) on the second floor facing the main street.
I had small problem at check inn. The lady behind the desk showed me a bill that was 50 Euro's
(approx. $65 ) higher than the price that was stated on my confirmation notice. After some help from her colleague it was sorted out and I got the key to my room.
The room is very large, has a mini fridge, a comfortable king size bed and even though it faces the main street ( Loolaan ) you won't hear any street noise. Noises from people walking in the corridor or in the room above can be heard though.
There was hardly any information about the hotel and surroundings to be found in the rooms.
I only had breakfast once in the hotel. It has an average selection. And I noticed, by looking at the other tables, some things were not re stocked.
if you are in town and are looking for a decent hotel then I would surely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I loved the large room ( suite ), so if you are looking for a larger than average room book the suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nieb20475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Apeldoorn Het Loo, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again at our hotel in Amsterdam.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Well, the guy was shorter and younger than John Cleese but he manned the reception (eventually) served me in the restaurant (eventually) and poured me a beer in the bar (yep, eventually). Either that or there are three triplet brothers running this hotel!!

Oh, and it is soooooooo cold! They turn the heating off overnight so if you arrive late (as I did) and go early (as I was very pleased to) then expect to get frostbite in the winter!

On the plus side the food was very good....if a little dear.

My impression is that this hotel is being run on a shoestring.

Room Tip: Bring a hot water bottle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Apeldoorn hotels

Chertsey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Clearly feeling the economic pinch, the service is run on a shoestring with staff seemingly doing several jobs at the same time (front desk, bar and waiting in restaurant) so restaurant service can be slow at times. Despite this the staff are all very friendly and eager to help.
The hotel is fairly well presented with plenty of parking but for some unfathomable reason the car parks are covered with gravel/shingle that creates a lot of noise when driven over, especially annoying when trying to get off to sleep!
My room was large but two single beds. During my visit the bathroom towels are left where you leave them. Maybe maid service is only done when you check out.
The internet is OK but If you need it for sending emails from your email client, you will be disappointed because the system is not SMTP enabled. You have to use webmail to send.

Room Tip: Ask for rear of hotel (away from the main road).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Manager at Bastion Hotel Apeldoorn Het Loo, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our associates in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you accept my apologies ,

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights on a business trip.
The hotel value is good for these price ranges. If you need to spend a few nights in Apeldoon, this is a very solid chain hotel.
Rooms are clean and look ok. Not sure why the beds are separated.
Breakfast is very nice and so is the lounge and bar areas. The hotel is very accessible from the local businesses and is about 5-10 minutes fro the city center.
WiFi is a bit slow but ok, and the staff are nice and helpfull.
Bottom line: a solid hotel with good value, but I would probably not come spend my vacation here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ohad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Apeldoorn Het Loo, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again at our hotel in Apeldoorn.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I ended up here after a gathering in Apeldoorn and no public transport anymore to take me home. The hotel does not check in late at night, and the staff doesn't know anything (no clue how far they are from the train station, or at what time breakfast starts in the morning).

The last room available was a "suite" but that is just a large room. And it's cold, boy it's freezing! The heating does not help. The bed was fine though and in the morning checking out was fast and easy.

I would not recommend this hotel for a luxurious weekend and that's a pity because the area is one of the most beautiful of the country of Holland and the hotel is close to sights such as the Royal Palace and the National Park. Perhaps the management should get inspired again?

At 140 euro the room was not overly expensive. Oh, and by the way, this hotel is branded "Bastion" now, not Best Western anymore.

Room Tip: Don't book a suite if you expect an en-suite bedroom. Suites are just large single rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogiervanderheide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Apeldoorn Het Loo, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our associates in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you accept my apologies ,

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I stayed at Hotel "Het Loo" twice when doing business in Apeldoorn and I am not likely to come back or recommend the place.
The location is one of the better compared to other hotels in the area. The property is near the palace and park but it is still easy to go to the city by bus. If you are driving, you can park your car for free.
The hotel building probably saw better days 30 years ago and could definitely use a lot of restauration work. The rooms reflect this impression, the furniture is worn and old fashioned - but not antique enough to have any flair. The windows are not well insulated, despite the heating being fully turned up it was still cold in my room.
There is a swimming pool and a small gym (1 treadmill, 1 bike, 1 indoor rower and 1 resistance machine) available - enough to get a bit of exercise in the morning or evening.
The room rates are not terribly expensive but you will find better quality for the same money elsewhere in Apeldoorn. The restaurant is nothing special, ok if you do not want to go out for dinner.
For reasons beyond my understanding the staff was unable to provide me with a correct invoice (needs to show company address for tax reasons) on check-out, although I had provided the details with the reservation and told them again when I arrived. That happened twice and I am not willing to go through any extra hassle because of a hotel chain's inefficient processes - thus they will not see me again.

Room Tip: I did not like any of the rooms I stayed in. One was bigger than the other, but decorated the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Apeldoorn Het Loo, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our associates in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you accept my apologies ,

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Apeldoorn hotels
Hotel de Echoput
#2 of 7 in Apeldoorn
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Binnenstad
Hotel et le Cafe de Paris
Hotel et le Cafe de Paris
#5 of 7 in Apeldoorn
77 reviews
Hotel-Pension Berg en Bos
#6 of 7 in Apeldoorn
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bastion Hotel Apeldoorn Het Loo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastion Hotel Apeldoorn Het Loo

Property: Bastion Hotel Apeldoorn Het Loo
Address: Loolaan 556, 7315 AG Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Apeldoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Apeldoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bastion Hotel Apeldoorn Het Loo 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bastion Hotel Apeldoorn het Loo is a luxurious four star hotel. The hotel stands for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive rate. The Bastion Deluxe Hotel Apeldoorn het Loo offers a 24 hour front office, comfortable rooms and an extensive choice of dishes from the a la carte menu in the atmospheric restaurant. Guests are always welcome in the cozy hotel bar or smoking lounge. This lounge contains an LCD television, air-conditioning and relaxing lounge chairs. The hotel also offers wellness facilities, which guests can use for free, air-conditioning and free wireless internet in the entire hotel. In the lobby the hotel has a computer available, for guests, for free use of the internet. Domestic animals are not allowed. Location / accessibility Bastion Deluxe Hotel Apeldoorn het Loo is located close to Palace The Loo, with a view on the nice gardens. The natural environment with National Park the "Hoge Veluwe", offers a lot of possibilities for walking and cycling fanatics. The beautiful centre of Apeldoorn offers a variety of culture. Apeldoorn is the biggest city on the Veluwe and is known as residential of the Family of Oranje. Rooms The hotel has 70 comfortable deluxe rooms, 24 Junior Suites and 10 Suites. The deluxe rooms are equipped with a television, WiFi, a bureau, a safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with bath, toilet and hairdryer. The Junior Suites and Suites are more spacious than the Deluxe rooms and have a separate sitting area. The suites are also fitted with sofabed. Food & Beverage The hotel serves breakfast on weekdays from 06:00 to 09:00 and in weekends from 07:00 to 10:30. The hotel has an attractive restaurant with an extensive a la carte menu. The restaurant is open from 11:00 until 23:00 for lunch and dinner. The hotel bar is open until 23.30. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bastion Hotel Apeldoorn Het Loo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Apeldoorn
Apeldoorn Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing