We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Hotel need to adjust to this century”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bastion Hotel Apeldoorn Het Loo
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Apeldoorn
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“This Hotel need to adjust to this century”
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

I booked a suite. Much to my surprise this is only a mega version of a standard room. There is no 'feeling home' in that suite due to the lack of decorations or furniture. You got the impression that you are in some home retreat for elder people. Yes, there is a piblic swimming pool and sauna and the breakfast is sober but fresh and good quality food. The staff does his best, but this Hotel needs to step into the reality of better quality Hotel. For the time being I'm affraid I could not recommend this Hotel dispite of the efforts of the staff.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DickVanGelder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Apeldoorn Het Loo, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our associates in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you accept my apologies ,

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    144
    78
    44
    12
See reviews for
61
134
22
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

After a turbulent flight and a less than enthralling train journey I was ready for a good room with a good meal and that's exactly what I got.
The restaurant menu was good. The breakfast was adequate and I especially like the fact that a waitress was on hand to cook your eggs how you wanted when you wanted them.
It's location is fairly quiet and Apeldoorn has many trees so noise is absorbed by them.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Apeldoorn Het Loo, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again at our hotel in Apeldoorn.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel have swimming pool, little gym, restaurant and bus stop in front of the hotel (very convinence).
It's 10 minutes drive by taxi from Apeldoorn train station or you can use a bus for 2 euro.
Overall is a very convinience hotel for business / leisure.

Room Tip: Facing the street is a good option
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SETYADARMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Apeldoorn Het Loo, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again at our hotel inn Apeldoorn.

With kind regards,

Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed for one night, large room, comfortable bed, free wireless internet access, good brewakfast, helpful and friendly staff, great location. I would certainly use this hotel again - perhpas next time with my wife ratehr than on a solo work trip!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnGrosvenor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Apeldoorn Het Loo, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again at our hotel in Apeldoorn.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Good hotel in a nice location, handy and quiet. I stayed for several days and while I had a pleasant experience overall, I have to mention the patchy cleaning of the room (towels left in the bathtub, garbage bin not emptied) and the overly expensive basic breakfast. The restaurant in nice for a rainy day when you don't want to go out, but there are much better restaurants in Apeldoorn, 5 minutes drive or 15 minutes walk away. A big plus is the free wifi which I've found fast and reliable. I would definitely stay there again but without breakfast included.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BravoNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Europe
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

This is a cute looking hotel. Free parking in front of the hotel. There are meeting facilities and there is an okay restaurant.

The room was spaceous, as was the bathroom. The room could be cleaner though. The beds are soft and comfortable. Service is nice and professional from front desk to restaurant.

There is a pool, steamroom and fitness area. The steamroom is indeed full of steam, which you will need when you want to swim as the pool is not heated (so: cold) and undeep by the way.

All in all a good hotel for business or travel. It is close to the Castle and not far from the city centre of Apeldoorn.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DutchyCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

I am currently sitting in my junior suite as I type. I booked this hotel because the Best Western website (http://book.bestwestern.com/bestwestern/NL/Apeldoorn-hotels/BEST-WESTERN-Hotel-het-Loo/Hotel-Overview.do?propertyCode=92691&srcPage=SelectHotel&isMapOpen=true&selectedHotels=) indicates that the suites and junior suites "have a seperate sitting room" which would have been perfect for the crib we needed for our infant son. I have now been informed that no room in this entire hotel actually meets this description. Had we known this, we would have looked for other accomodations.

The second issue relates to the restaurant. While the information book inside of my room says "our restaurant is daily opened from 11.00 till 23.00 hrs for lunch and diner" (grammar mistakes present in the book), we have now been informed that this is also untrue. So instead of being able to eat while my son is peacefully napping, we have to wait for the restaurant to reopen in another hour. This would not be such an issue if there was room service, which there is not.

All in all unimpressed. I will be making a formal complaint as well.

This place is not recommended for families with small children or those who believe in truth in advertising,

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank txex1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Manager at Bastion Hotel Apeldoorn Het Loo, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our associates in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you accept my apologies,

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Apeldoorn hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Apeldoorn hotels
Hotel de Echoput
#2 of 7 in Apeldoorn
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Binnenstad
Hotel et le Cafe de Paris
Hotel et le Cafe de Paris
#5 of 7 in Apeldoorn
77 reviews
Hotel-Pension Berg en Bos
#6 of 7 in Apeldoorn
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bastion Hotel Apeldoorn Het Loo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastion Hotel Apeldoorn Het Loo

Property: Bastion Hotel Apeldoorn Het Loo
Address: Loolaan 556, 7315 AG Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Apeldoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Apeldoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bastion Hotel Apeldoorn Het Loo 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bastion Hotel Apeldoorn het Loo is a luxurious four star hotel. The hotel stands for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive rate. The Bastion Deluxe Hotel Apeldoorn het Loo offers a 24 hour front office, comfortable rooms and an extensive choice of dishes from the a la carte menu in the atmospheric restaurant. Guests are always welcome in the cozy hotel bar or smoking lounge. This lounge contains an LCD television, air-conditioning and relaxing lounge chairs. The hotel also offers wellness facilities, which guests can use for free, air-conditioning and free wireless internet in the entire hotel. In the lobby the hotel has a computer available, for guests, for free use of the internet. Domestic animals are not allowed. Location / accessibility Bastion Deluxe Hotel Apeldoorn het Loo is located close to Palace The Loo, with a view on the nice gardens. The natural environment with National Park the "Hoge Veluwe", offers a lot of possibilities for walking and cycling fanatics. The beautiful centre of Apeldoorn offers a variety of culture. Apeldoorn is the biggest city on the Veluwe and is known as residential of the Family of Oranje. Rooms The hotel has 70 comfortable deluxe rooms, 24 Junior Suites and 10 Suites. The deluxe rooms are equipped with a television, WiFi, a bureau, a safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with bath, toilet and hairdryer. The Junior Suites and Suites are more spacious than the Deluxe rooms and have a separate sitting area. The suites are also fitted with sofabed. Food & Beverage The hotel serves breakfast on weekdays from 06:00 to 09:00 and in weekends from 07:00 to 10:30. The hotel has an attractive restaurant with an extensive a la carte menu. The restaurant is open from 11:00 until 23:00 for lunch and dinner. The hotel bar is open until 23.30. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bastion Hotel Apeldoorn Het Loo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Apeldoorn
Apeldoorn Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing