We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value”
Review of Amicitia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amicitia Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sneek
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Very good value”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Friends of ours checked this place out before we stayed here. We found the hotel quite charming and the accomodations very clean and reasonable. The breakfast is top notch and the best we experienced in the Netherlands. The people at the front desk were friendly and fawned over the kids. Great family hotel. Free parking right at the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    34
    20
    3
    2
See reviews for
7
33
2
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Well situated and clean hotel. Rooms are big and so the beds. The hotel is easy finding and have a large parking area, and it is for free.
The restaurant at the hotel called "sowieso" is as it it " so wie so", which means no bad-no good.
You will not starve, but dont expect "cuisine".

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flemmingt123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

A good clean hotel with fine polite personnel. Easy access to highways to go around Friesland region (maybe they should add a "AMICITIA" to their light "HOTEL" so you cannot go around missing go there the first time). Not too far from the center of Sneek (1,5 km by feet), so with good weather there is no problem walking there.
Their buffet breakfast is really good as in quality as in quantity (kudos to all).
We tasted the restaurant too. This is a buffet restaurant where you can have your steak, for instance, cooked for you at the moment (but there are other dishes prepared the same way for you at the moment). Do not be fooled by the name "buffet" , because you can find really a lot of things, continuously added by the active personnel. Maybe the only problem is in you, because it should happen you want to taste everything.
If I should mark a critical point, I would say that missing air conditioning in the rooms is a pity for an otherwise great hotel. But this will not prevent me to stay there if I will be back in Sneek.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PirouetteLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
's-Hertogenbosch
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The Hotel Amicitia in Sneek (Friesland) The Netherlands is situated 10 min from the Centre
of the County Town of Sneek in Friesland. Sneek is the area where Dutch watersport (boating)
can be found. The hotel offers clean rooms with a good breakfast for reasonable prices.
Parking space available at no costs,

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krijger195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Amicitia (Friesland) Hostel is a very really cool place to stay in Amsterdam. It’s pretty cool, this hostel is literally an old converted boat! Super cool! You can hear the sound of the waves on the boat, its nice to fall asleep to. The location is god, it’s an easy walk to the main train station, city centre, Nemo Museum and other attractions. The rooms are small, but that is to be expected as you are on a boat. Free breakfast is delicious and the staff are really friendly. There is even a bar on the boat! Great, unique experience. www.FrieslandHostel.com

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carrie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vlaardingen, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2010

We stayed two days in this hotel. Location is at industry premises, but despite this, we loved to stay there. Very warm welcome, nice clean room, comfortable bathroom and quite! As we do not like "wokking" so much we did not have dinner but went to Sneek. Sneek offers a wide variety of restaurants, so no problem. Breakfast was included and is quite sufficient. Reception offers tips for trips and a even a bike can be rented. Good service!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald010-27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2009

We were supposed to celebrate my parents 40'th anniversary and decided to stay at this hotel. The rooms were spacious and comfi in comparison to most other hotels, but if the hotel is worth 4 stars? No, not at all.
This hotel is just a 3 star European/Boutique alike hotel or a 3 star luxarious motel as we know across United States.
The beds are awful, the rooms too warm and it is located in the outscirts of the city away from any cafe/restaurant or shopping districts. You need to walk for about 10 minutes to get to the small city center with shops and cafes or to the harbour.
Parking lot is free which is good, there is a buffet but the quality of the food wasn't that good and I won't advise this hotel to those who might think are going to stay in a luxarious 4 star rated hotel, but more to the common travellers amongst us who just need a night stay and not more and surely not to those who seek for romance or fancy dinner out.
The hotel is further more a good choice as long as you need clean, spacious rooms, with spacious bathrooms, friendly staff and a free parking lot. good value for the money? yes and no.
But as there isn't much choice in and around Sneek, the Netherlands, so this is the only and best place you can indeed stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shahbanoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sneek
0.6 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Sneek
0.9 mi away
Buitenplaats T Ges
Buitenplaats T Ges
#3 of 3 in Sneek
9 reviews
13.4 mi away
Post-Plaza Hotel & Grand Cafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
WestCord WTC Hotel Leeuwarden
17.5 mi away
Bilderberg Landgoed Lauswolt
Bilderberg Landgoed Lauswolt
#1 of 1 in Beetsterzwaag
346 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel de Oorsprong
Hotel de Oorsprong
#1 of 1 in Sint Nicolaasga
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amicitia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amicitia Hotel

Property: Amicitia Hotel
Address: Graaf Adolfstraat 37, 8606 BT Sneek, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Friesland Province > Sneek
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sneek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amicitia Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Amicitia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amicitia Hotel Sneek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing