We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ghee at hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Van der Valk Hotel Sneek

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Sneek
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sneek
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ghee at hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, smartly decorated, very friendly, outgoing staff, good food and lovely rooms.

I was pleasantly surprised after arriving after 11:00PM, the bartender lit up the kitchen and served up a tasty local dish without nary a snitch. Great service with a smile.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Superfinicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    62
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
89
2
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

One of the newer Valk Hotels. Sitting on the edge of a large pond and grassy area with walking paths. Again Clean Comfortable and beautifully decorated. The Bath tub and shower were seperate and the Bath was Massive. Fryslan has a saying that is special to the area. The carpets have it incorporated. I loved that.

Check out the bathroom in the lobby. It was cool.

Both Dinner and Breakfast were excellent and the staff very hospitable.

NOTE: We were travelling and staying at places as we found them. I went in and requested the rate and was told E109 plus breakfast. We decided that was more than we wanted to pay. After driving around and checking out other hotels we went back and the last minute rate was E102 including breakfast. A signidficant difference for 2 rooms and 4 people.

Room Tip: we loved the ground floor and ability to step out onto the grounds and patio and go for a walk by th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadianWomanAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is a very comfortable and modern hotel; the conference rooms were superb and I enjoyed very day of my stay; food was excellent as was the service... oh i do so miss the breakfasts, all in all I would rate this hotel very highly for business or pleasure; easy access to the motorway and to find.

Room Tip: They are all good as far as I could see
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Review: Outstandingly good hotel (but expensive for area pricing standards). Rooms are just amazingly spacy, bueatifull bathrooms with nice showers. Nice working-desk at the rooms. Good (not exceptionally good) boxspring beds. An exceptionally good, divers & complete buffet-breakfast. The same exceptionally good, divers & complete buffet is present in the evenings (for only 25 EUR!!).
Negatives: rooms could be desuted better, pitty that the diner buffet is closed on Wednesday. Staff in the buffet-area is unfortunately not always very friendly & attentive (depending on your waiter, and that's a pitty in this kind of luxory-hotels).
Positives: Spendid rooms, beatifull bathroom, extraordinary breakfast- & evening buffet.
Variables: Mutiple business-stays, mostly one/few nights. All including breakfast buffet, attending evening buffet as well several times.

Room Tip: Ask a room at the pond/garden-side of the hotel. it gives you a great view from you room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Verheyden_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purmerend, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The van der Valk concern is changing from standard to luxury. This hotel is an example of the new luxury direction. There are standard and special suites to choose from. We booked a Honeymoon room which was a surprise if you look at the amenities, design, comfort and SPA facilities. Yes this room has a romantic Jacuzzi with led light, a sauna and a double rain shower. It was perfect after a great a la carte dinner in the beautiful designed restaurant with very friendly waitresses. In the summer the hotel offers a big terrace by the water .If you want to take a little walk then there is a park nearby with big animals ;-) There are also good shopping facilities nearby. Sneek is a lovely city. I heard that the hotel offers little boats now. We’ve been two times in the great hotel and already thinking to go for a third time.

Room Tip: Book the Honeymoon room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vnijhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turriff, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is the perfect hotel for visiting the Friesland area of Holland, about an hour from Schipol, handy for the motorway, loads of parking and a very modern, comfortable hotel. The staff were fantastic, they spoke perfect English and could not have been more helpful. We attended a dinner for 250 potato execs and the 8 course meal was cooked and delivered to us perfectly. Breakfast is cooked live for you as you wait and the rooms were fantastic and immaculately turned down each day. The lake in front of the hotel provides a lovely nature walk and opportunity to view ducks and geese of all types. I strongly recommend the hotel for business or pleasure

Room Tip: Rooms with a view over the lake are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maretta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IJsselstein, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The hotel Sneek from Van der Valk was amazing. Beautiful trendy design. Big rooms with everything what you need. We had a nice dinner and the breakfast was also excellent. Good location. You can rent bikes, e-bikes

Room Tip: although the hotel is situated near the highway, you did not hear a thing. very good isolated. the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DellaM48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sneek
17.1 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Wolvega-Heerenveen
17.2 mi away
Bilderberg Landgoed Lauswolt
Bilderberg Landgoed Lauswolt
#1 of 1 in Beetsterzwaag
4.5 of 5 stars 251 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel de Wijnberg
Hotel de Wijnberg
#4 of 5 in Sneek
3.5 of 5 stars 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
De Daaldersplaats
De Daaldersplaats
#3 of 5 in Sneek
3.5 of 5 stars 22 reviews
0.6 mi away
Amicitia Hotel
Amicitia Hotel
#5 of 5 in Sneek
3.5 of 5 stars 48 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hampshire Hotel – St. Nicolaasga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Sneek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Sneek

Property: Van der Valk Hotel Sneek
Address: Burgemeester | Rasterhofflaan 1, 8606 KZ Sneek, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Friesland Province > Sneek
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sneek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Sneek 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Sneek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing