We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great place to stay in a lovely city” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stenden Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stenden Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Leeuwarden
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
176 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in a lovely city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

The start-point is that you're staying in a real teaching university hotel - I've only one this once before (at Cornell) and did it this time at the recommendation of an alumni... I am glad I did... Reception was excellent - a trainee was on duty and was guided through the process (which felt good), then to our room, which was perfectly ok... nothing special, but very clean and functional... We spent a great afternoon in Leeuwarden, then opted to eat in the hotel restaurant... My wife had to help a young student with a G&T (but that was actually charming!), then we settled down for what was a quite excellent dinner in "New Dutch" style.... and after a good night's sleep enjoyed an equally excellent breakfast... all in all a great stay in a very nice place, and so good to see the students working so well!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hooikade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    50
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
51
4
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East London, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

My wife and three kids were lucky enough to stay at the Stenden University Hotel in Leeuwarden. The hotel is a Learning Hotel and it was great to see young students trying their best to make our stay so comfortable. The hotel is situated within walking distance from town with safe parking. The rooms are clean, modern and very comfortable. The beds are amazing as they can be operated by remote control, very nice. The hotel has a focus on the environment so organic ingredients in the meals is assured. Unfortunatley the University was closed for the holidays so the hotel was very quite and did not have the buzz of a real learning hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

It appears that many B&B's are only offering an expensive breakfast option (12.5 euros per person). This puts the onus on the traveler to find and procure an economical breakfast. Since this B&B was far from town, we had to walk pretty far to find an alternative breakfast. Aside from this problem, we had no other complaints. The room and bath were modern and clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dbowdle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BritAbroad
Level Contributor
127 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

It is the concept that attracted me to this hotel and I am delighted that I chose to stay there. The students who staff the hotel and restaurant under expert supervision made my night there all the more special: they tried so hard to please, always smiling and polite - nothing was too much trouble for them.

The hotel rooms are a short walk across the university concourse from the reception and restaurant, which was a nice reminder that guests are actually staying in a university, the life of which is very much going on as usual.

My room was spacious, clean, comfortable and well presented. I slept very well in the comfortable bed. The en suite bathroom was well equipped with plenty of soft towels.

I ate dinner in the restaurant where I experienced very good cooking and it was also the venue for a lovely breakfast.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Britabroad22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Hessen, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stenden University hotel is a great spot to stay-over for a night or two, while being in Leeuwarden. I stay there every time I travel to Leeuwarden, to visit friends and family. The hotel is very stylish and modern, and the service, brought to you by Students, is simply perfect. The highlight of this hotel would for sure be the Restaurant. The personalized service and ambience are satisfying. Staff (students) are supervised by knowledged instructors who surprise you with their presence, to check whether every thing is alright. The menu is fairly Dutch, you'll be flabbergasted by the preparation of the components and its heritage. All in all, a must go! ENJOY!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank du_frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUH8917, General Manager at Stenden Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Frank,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback! We are especially proud that you enjoyed our unique concept of the New Dutch Cuisine in our restaurant. We are looking forward to welcome you back in our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

I stayed several times at this hotel which is operated by Stenden University Leeuwarden as part of their "real life learning" philosophy.
It is run by their students going for a degree in hospitality. You should accept that the staff are not professionals yet and have a bit of tolerance and patience for them. In turn, you will experience a refreshingly young and motivated team that will go the extra mile to make your your stay enjoyable. If something goes wrong, there is usually a supervisor to help out.
The rooms are actually on the campus, but provide the same standard as you would expect from any other business class hotel. The location is not bad, the city centre is still in walking distance. There is also a bus connection that runs very frequently.
The room rates are sometimes so cheap that I still wonder if the hotel is a non-profit organization after all - you certainly get good value for the money.

Room Tip: I stayed several times and always were happy with the rooms, could not identify big differences. I p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
198 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

For the second time we stayed here one night with dinner. If you appreciate the added value to wittness the learning curve how to become a good hotelier it's the place to be.
The university in full operation is a very special experience. Dinner was very good but you have to be careful that it can take a little bit longer. But one thing is sure. To meet a friendly staff with a great smile and doing her utmost as if it's a 5 star level here it is!
If you are in a hurry, or stressed for what ever reason don't go.
Oherwise it's a great upportunity. Book it.

Room Tip: If you need an elevator take the rooms at the groundfloor with numbers starting with one hundred. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Family Sanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeuwarden hotels
0.7 mi away
Post-Plaza Hotel & Grand Cafe
1.3 mi away
WestCord WTC Hotel Leeuwarden
1.0 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - Oranje Leeuwarden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fletcher Hotel Paleis Stadhouderlijk Hof
1.7 mi away
Bastion Hotel Leeuwarden
Bastion Hotel Leeuwarden
#6 of 10 in Leeuwarden
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cafe 't Anker
Hotel Cafe 't Anker
#8 of 10 in Leeuwarden
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stenden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stenden Hotel

Property: Stenden Hotel
Address: Rengerslaan 8, 8917 DD Leeuwarden, The Netherlands (Formerly Stenden University Hotel)
Location: The Netherlands > Friesland Province > Leeuwarden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Leeuwarden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stenden Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stenden Hotel is a modern 4-star hotel located within 10 minutes walking distance of the historic center of Leeuwarden. A bus stop is located right across from the hotel. Free parking is also offered on premises. The hotel offers spacious guest rooms all equipped with modern facilities, such as flat screen TVs, free Wi-Fi, air-conditioning and Nespresso coffee machines. The new restaurant, ' Wannee', offers an all-day dining experience. Here you can enjoy fresh and organic dishes according to the 'New Dutch Cuisine' concept in a relaxed and modern atmosphere. In the cozy bar and lobby you can relax and enjoy a drink or small bite. Right across the street you will find the beautiful Rengerspark, where you can enjoy a walk or a run. Extensive gym facilities are available for hotel guests at the fitness studio next door, for a small fee. Stenden Hotel is committed to training and inspiring international young hospitality professionals within a dynamic and hospitable environment which allows them to evolve and grow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Stenden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing