We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant, room with plenty of space”
Review of Landgoed De Klinze

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Landgoed De Klinze
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Leeuwarden
Reviewed June 22, 2014

The hotel is charming and privately located. If you are so inclined you can take a lovely little walk around the grounds.

The restaurant was truly excellent. I have (difficult) dietary needs and - with prior warning - the staff managed splendidly. I had a dinner that was easily as good as that of my companions.

The room was great - spacious and high quality furniture. Large bathroom with all amenities. The only (small) drawback is a regular one with hotels - in summer, it might be nice to offer either a very light duvet or a cotton blanket instead of the regular duvet.

Breakfast is good enough, with coffee, tea, eggs, bread, rolls and viennoiserie offered, as well as orange juice, fruit, yoghurt and muesli. It cannot hold a candle to the quality of the evening meal, however.

Room Tip: We had the regular 'luxury room'. Very spacious, large bathroom, small desk and a sitting ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingrid_NN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 68 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2014

The hotel is situated in large landscaped grounds within a very prosperous looking village/town. The location is very convenient for the various ferries serving the Frisian islands.

The room was comfortable and very peaceful – the only noise intruding was an owl hooting from a nearby tree.

In general the room was clean although some of the paintwork was looking a little tired. Throughout the hotel itself again some of the marble flooring was showings it’s age and the internal doors etc. could do with a bit of painting.

Breakfast was simple, but good quality. The restaurant served a no-choice menu, which was excellent – lots of varied and very subtle flavorings in well balanced and executed dishes.

The pool area again could do with a little work on the tiles, but was generally good.

The free Wi-fi coverage was excellent with reasonable speeds

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nmcalba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed 2 nights in this excellent estate (landgoed). The hotel is indeed excellent and the restaurant perfect. The staff is extremely friendly and all our requests were fulfilled with a big smile. The park surrounding the estate is beautiful and invited us for a nice walk. The capital of the province Fryslân, Leeuwarden, is about 15 min. drive by car and worthwhile visiting.

We definitely return.

Room Tip: Request for room #2, you will then have multiple windows with a view on the terraces and park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjvberg-NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed here only one night, while visiting Friesland. A very nice, elegant place, with a small indoor swimmingpool our sons enjoyed. They have a spa and a beautician, but since she is not in-house, you have to make reservations, which I had not. The weather wasn't too good, so we couldn't enjoy the beautifull surroundings, but we did enjoy the restaurant and the wines!
Next day we went to Franeker to visit the Eise Eisinga Planetarium, a must see.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerdaNl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed for four days at the Landgoed De Klinze, a state from 1655. The hotel is surrounded by a large 8 ha park and there is a nice driveway leading upto the mansion. We had a spacious room - the Statekamer Hector - because it has airconditioning (it was around 30 degrees Celsius). Not all rooms have this facility. The nicest asset of the Klinze is the terras with ample protection against to much sun shine. We were there at breakfast, for our morning coffee, the afternoon tea (beer) and the diner. To dine in the Klinze, at the terras or in the restaurant is satisfactory but not the reason to stay at the hotel, although the restaurant is in classic and beautiful room. If you like, you can make nice and interesting cycling tours from the hotel as we did. Good bycicles are for rent at the hotel.
The hotel advertises it self as a 4-star hotel. I would say 3-star, but it is true that we had an atmospheric, quiet and comfortable stay. Finally, and this must be said: In the Klinze there was free Wifi, which is a nice surprise because in hotels in the Netherlands it is not yet normal to have free Wifi.

Room Tip: Some, but not all rooms have air-conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Countluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were looking for a quiet hotel within driving distance of water. This hotel is about 30 min to the North Sea and 45 min to Ijsselmeer (Makkum) The Makkum beach is nice, and especially suited for smaller children due to shallow water. It wasn't overcrowded, we had space to lay out all our stuff with the next people at least 3-5 meters away.
Back to the hotel: we booked a 5-night stay including two 3-course dinners and breakfast each morning. We received a welcome drink which we took on the nice patio/veranda (which due to the nice weather, was also used for breakfast). Besides the absolute quiet (with a nice park to walk in), one of the best things about this hotel is the food for dinner. I believe the chef is trying to get a Michelin star and I hope he will achieve this some day. The portions were a bit small, but the presentation and the food itself was absolutely fantastic. We had to pay for drinks for those 2 meals, but the prices were OK. We booked one of the suites and there was plenty of space. The only thing that was a bit strange: despite the size, the closets were a bit small (and only 7 hangars) - my wife took up most of the space for hanging up her clothes ;-)
We had a problem with the AC the first day but the hotel manager (a very nice gentleman, part of the very friendly staff) had it repaired and it worked fine for the rest of our stay. We had a very nice bathroom with a full bath and a seperate shower. Along with 2 wash basins, we didn't have to block each other when using the bathroom, which was very nice. Only minus point here: the toilet is in the bathroom behind it's own door. But there is no window and no (active) ventilation :-(
The hotel has it's own little swimming pool and sauna and spa. We only used the pool. The water was too warm for me (seemed like over 30° C), for my wife it was just right. The area could use some renovation, however. The nice thing was that we were practically alone. Very few people used it, so it was nice to cool off (outside temp was anywhere between 28-35 that week) every day.
WiFi was free, but the signal was pretty weak in the suite, it could only be used on the groundfloor in the lobby and maybe in the business rooms one floor up (we were 2 floors up from the lobby).
Breakfast: as mentioned above, was outside on the veranda, which we did almost every morning as the weather was mostly beautiful. The buffet was good, but nothing spectacular. Only orange juice the whole week (no apple, no tomato, just OJ!). One day we had to wait for bacon to be refilled (at 9:00, when breakfast is 8-10). Normally the waitress should see that on her own. But otherwise, the service was very good and friendly. Fresh fruit every day was also nice.
Here is my overall impression: On a scale of 1-10, including the location, quietness, sleep comfort, food, friendliness, etc, I would give this hotel 8.5 out of 10. My suggestions would be to renovate the rooms and the pool just a little and make the breakfast a little bit more interesting. Then this hotel would be in the 9 point category.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are quiet, the hotel is in the middle of a park. My mattress was a bit soft (I for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PRW67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is a lovely looking estate. The rooms were clean, the furniture was a bit dated, but not shabby, carpet is a bit tired looking. There was a lovely big marble bathroom with a beautiful big bath. Free wi fi. For 60 euro this was a great overnight stop.
The gentleman who checked us in was very friendly and helpful, he seemed to be the only person there and in charge of everything including table service at dinner.
Dinner was a set menu, there were only 2 choices for mains, beef or fish.
Not sure what the beef was but it would have to be one of the best meals I have ever eaten. The whole meal and service was fantastic. I was offered a dessert that they were making as a one off for another guest, not sure what it was but it was made with Friesian sugar bread and was delicious.
Did not have breakfast so cannot comment.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leeuwarden
6 mi away
Post-Plaza Hotel & Grand Cafe
16.6 mi away
Bilderberg Landgoed Lauswolt
Bilderberg Landgoed Lauswolt
#1 of 1 in Beetsterzwaag
398 reviews
6.9 mi away
WestCord WTC Hotel Leeuwarden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Paleis Stadhouderlijk Hof
3.9 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Hardegarijp
9.9 mi away
Hotel Weidumerhout
Hotel Weidumerhout
#1 of 1 in Weidum
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landgoed De Klinze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landgoed De Klinze

Address: Van Sminiaweg 36, 9064 KC Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Friesland Province > Leeuwarden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Leeuwarden
Hotel Class:4 star — Landgoed De Klinze 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Landgoed De Klinze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing