We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“VERY quiet hotel with friendly service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Landgoed De Klinze - Hampshire Classic

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Landgoed De Klinze - Hampshire Classic
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Leeuwarden
Viersen, Deutschland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“VERY quiet hotel with friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were looking for a quiet hotel within driving distance of water. This hotel is about 30 min to the North Sea and 45 min to Ijsselmeer (Makkum) The Makkum beach is nice, and especially suited for smaller children due to shallow water. It wasn't overcrowded, we had space to lay out all our stuff with the next people at least 3-5 meters away.
Back to the hotel: we booked a 5-night stay including two 3-course dinners and breakfast each morning. We received a welcome drink which we took on the nice patio/veranda (which due to the nice weather, was also used for breakfast). Besides the absolute quiet (with a nice park to walk in), one of the best things about this hotel is the food for dinner. I believe the chef is trying to get a Michelin star and I hope he will achieve this some day. The portions were a bit small, but the presentation and the food itself was absolutely fantastic. We had to pay for drinks for those 2 meals, but the prices were OK. We booked one of the suites and there was plenty of space. The only thing that was a bit strange: despite the size, the closets were a bit small (and only 7 hangars) - my wife took up most of the space for hanging up her clothes ;-)
We had a problem with the AC the first day but the hotel manager (a very nice gentleman, part of the very friendly staff) had it repaired and it worked fine for the rest of our stay. We had a very nice bathroom with a full bath and a seperate shower. Along with 2 wash basins, we didn't have to block each other when using the bathroom, which was very nice. Only minus point here: the toilet is in the bathroom behind it's own door. But there is no window and no (active) ventilation :-(
The hotel has it's own little swimming pool and sauna and spa. We only used the pool. The water was too warm for me (seemed like over 30° C), for my wife it was just right. The area could use some renovation, however. The nice thing was that we were practically alone. Very few people used it, so it was nice to cool off (outside temp was anywhere between 28-35 that week) every day.
WiFi was free, but the signal was pretty weak in the suite, it could only be used on the groundfloor in the lobby and maybe in the business rooms one floor up (we were 2 floors up from the lobby).
Breakfast: as mentioned above, was outside on the veranda, which we did almost every morning as the weather was mostly beautiful. The buffet was good, but nothing spectacular. Only orange juice the whole week (no apple, no tomato, just OJ!). One day we had to wait for bacon to be refilled (at 9:00, when breakfast is 8-10). Normally the waitress should see that on her own. But otherwise, the service was very good and friendly. Fresh fruit every day was also nice.
Here is my overall impression: On a scale of 1-10, including the location, quietness, sleep comfort, food, friendliness, etc, I would give this hotel 8.5 out of 10. My suggestions would be to renovate the rooms and the pool just a little and make the breakfast a little bit more interesting. Then this hotel would be in the 9 point category.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are quiet, the hotel is in the middle of a park. My mattress was a bit soft (I for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PRW67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    22
    13
    4
    0
See reviews for
4
34
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Central Coast NSW
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is a lovely looking estate. The rooms were clean, the furniture was a bit dated, but not shabby, carpet is a bit tired looking. There was a lovely big marble bathroom with a beautiful big bath. Free wi fi. For 60 euro this was a great overnight stop.
The gentleman who checked us in was very friendly and helpful, he seemed to be the only person there and in charge of everything including table service at dinner.
Dinner was a set menu, there were only 2 choices for mains, beef or fish.
Not sure what the beef was but it would have to be one of the best meals I have ever eaten. The whole meal and service was fantastic. I was offered a dessert that they were making as a one off for another guest, not sure what it was but it was made with Friesian sugar bread and was delicious.
Did not have breakfast so cannot comment.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed for 1 night only should have stayed longer, what a great hotel yes it may have been a bit faded but the service & food made up for it.
I thought 5 star at a 3 star price, nice & quite in a lovely part of Holland

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mr_cow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed from Friday till Sunday in a 'verwen arrangement' to celebrate my parents wedding anniversary. Couldn't have picked a nicer place. The snow made the whole scenario super romantic! We enjoyed the horse carriage ride around the estate and the spa treatments. The dinners were wonderful, some people may find the service slow but we enjoyed family conversation between the different courses and were in no hurry. The service was excellent and the staff very friendly. We would come back here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2010

Stayed here for one night on a Sunday - one of only about 5 guests.
Exterior of hotel and grounds are beautiful, but the interior is faded! Paint chipped from doors. carpets stained, dated furnishings etc. The pool was OK and the water seemed clean, but the wooden trim around the pool (hard to explain) was broken and looked mouldy. The sauna was just OK, but the Turkish steam room smelled of drains - I don't think it was a natural sulphur smell. I didn't stay for breakfast as I walked throught the breakfast room and the tables were set .......... with the orange juice already poured in the glasses - no thanks!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eld1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeuwarden hotels
6.9 mi away
WestCord WTC Hotel Leeuwarden
6.0 mi away
Post-Plaza Hotel & Grand Cafe
5.6 mi away
Stenden Hotel
Stenden Hotel
#4 of 10 in Leeuwarden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - Oranje Leeuwarden
6.1 mi away
Fletcher Hotel Paleis Stadhouderlijk Hof
6.6 mi away
Eurohotel Leeuwarden
Eurohotel Leeuwarden
#9 of 10 in Leeuwarden
3.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landgoed De Klinze - Hampshire Classic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landgoed De Klinze - Hampshire Classic

Property: Landgoed De Klinze - Hampshire Classic
Address: Van Sminiaweg 32-36, 9064 KC Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Friesland Province > Leeuwarden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Leeuwarden
Number of rooms: 268

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing