We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fletcher Hotel Paleis Stadhouderlijk Hof
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Leeuwarden
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Tired....”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Stayed for one night, beautiful historic building in fabulous location, check in service was excellent...they're the plus points....we walked into this stunning building after efficient polite check in...got to our room.....basic with a mismatch of uncomfortable furniture....felt like it was there to fill the room, room was very hot , opened a window sooo noisy to point I jumped a few times... Bathroom mirror i couldn't see into just top of my head, windows look out onto hallway so people walking past can see into your room, so blinds down made room dark, no mini bar and stains on the cushions, although bedroom was clean......overall I know that this listed building certain things can't be changed but filling these rooms with mismatched furniture made me sad.....this could be a little diamond if the owners did it some justice.....we stayed 2days the next night we stayed in post plaza..........sorry ....very disappointed

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heavenljm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    64
    50
    16
    6
See reviews for
8
102
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Back in Leeuwarden and stopped at the Fletcher again. Different room and I'm afraid very tired and basic. Room at the front overlooking the square, tiny, narrow shower room with dodgy soap dispenser and shower curtain with little in the way of an extractor, so quite damp and steamy. Bedroom had grotty furnishings, no mini bar, tea/coffee tray. Nylon carpet and drab chipped furnishings. Breakfast good but overlooked untidy gardens and dirty windows. Very disappointed and needs a massive update - such a shame it has deteriorated so much. Will stay in B&B next time as friends had some super deals in lovely houses.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monikirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Leeuwarden hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed in the Anna van Hannover Royal suite which was very spacious with lounge, bedroom with four poster bed and bathroom with a jacuzzi and a separate toilet. The room also had a large balcony overlooking the town square. The room's decoration is a bit tired and is in need of updating. The jacuzzi was nice once we worked out how to get it going!
Breakfast was very nice with a good choice. Staff were helpful and efficient.
There is not very much car parking at the hotel, which is expensive but very convenient, so best to check in early if you want a space. There is however a public car park close by.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Jacuzii suite, jacuzzi did not work.
Artificial plants full of dust in the room.
Peeping sound of floor and bed
room service charge to bring two beers to the room 3 euro and 50 cents
No mini bar in the room
Wall-paper and tilles of bathroom broken.
Carpets in the hotels public area looks dirty
Reception area ugy
location good
house keeping did not do a good job, did not renew the candle lights around the jacuzzi ( bad attitude and not nice for a so kind honey-moon suite)

thisa was for the first time I stay at a Fletcher hotel but if they charge 3.50 for room service to bring two beers then I thik its for sure the last time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jean c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a really nice hotel, with great royal athmosphere, and very affordable. Especially in combination with the restaurant this makes a great stay in Leeuwarden. The location is just minutes away from the different sites and musea

Room Tip: We paid the extra €15 to upgrade to royal room. It's not really ryal, but it's space and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoP1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stopped just one night in Leeuwarden but will prob be back for a longer stay. The hotel is a mix of old and new, our room was at the front overlooking the square and was reached by going through the old passages and then up modern staircase. The room was huge with modern furniture and fixings. It was very clean with the usual toiletries and beverages. The bed was extremely comfortable and we were not disturbed by any outside noise. Breakfast was a well stocked buffet with plenty of choice.
Overall a great stay in the lovely town of Leeuwarden.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monikirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I loved the place, only stayed here for one night as I had a meeting in leeuwarden, the hotel is clean and comfortable. the furniture is new and the room I had was really big. the shower was awesome. As for the breakfast it is similar to all breakfast you get in hotels in the netherlands pretty simple but good.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NadiaFarhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeuwarden hotels
0.2 mi away
Post-Plaza Hotel & Grand Cafe
0.6 mi away
Stenden Hotel
Stenden Hotel
#3 of 10 in Leeuwarden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - Oranje Leeuwarden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
WestCord WTC Hotel Leeuwarden
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cafe 't Anker
Hotel Cafe 't Anker
#9 of 10 in Leeuwarden
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bastion Hotel Leeuwarden
Bastion Hotel Leeuwarden
#6 of 10 in Leeuwarden
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fletcher Hotel Paleis Stadhouderlijk Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fletcher Hotel Paleis Stadhouderlijk Hof

Property: Fletcher Hotel Paleis Stadhouderlijk Hof
Address: Hofplein 29, 8911 HJ Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Friesland Province > Leeuwarden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Leeuwarden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fletcher Hotel Paleis Stadhouderlijk Hof 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Hotel- Paleis Stadhouderlijk Hof situated in the capital of Friesland epitomizes the region's historic grandeur. The building is a former palace and was owned by the Dutch royal family until 1971. Each of the palace's rooms has retained its regal appearance. Enjoy a royal dinner or lunch with the 18th century decor on the background. The hotel's surrounding also offers a range of activities and sights. For instance visit the historic city centre with interesting museums or enjoy the nature in the city park, called the Prinsentuin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Fletcher Hotel Paleis Stadhouderlijk Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fletcher Hotel Leeuwarden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing