We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Oranje Leeuwarden
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Leeuwarden
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good hotel, good service”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Positives:
Friendly staff; relatively large room; nice bathroom; opposite the train station and other public transportation; close to the city center.

Negatives:
Bathroom could have been cleaner (mold and some hairs in the shower).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel_CG83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ieteke, Front Office Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Oranje Leeuwarden, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Google Translation
Geachte Travel_CG83,

Wat een fijne reactie dat uw verblijf naar wens is geweest! Een mooi compliment!

Uit uw reactie begrijp ik dat uw kamer niet aan uw eisen heeft voldaan. Dit betreuren wij dan ook ten zeerste. De badkamers in ons hotel dienen ten alle tijde aan de schoonmaak voorschriften die ons hotel hanteert te voldoen, echter hebben wij hieraan dit maal niet kunnen voldoen.

Uw feedback dat u hebt gedeeld met in uw beoordeling wordt meegenomen naar de afdeling van de huishouding en wordt besproken in teambesprekingen, om ervoor te zorgen dat ons team nog beter kan functioneren in alle situaties.

Wij hopen u uiteraard nogmaals te mogen verwelkomen in ons hotel waarin wij ervoor kunnen zorgen dat uw volgende verblijf helemaal conform de eisen voldoen!

Met vriendelijke groet,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    370
    72
    14
    2
See reviews for
71
427
33
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

On arrival our standard room was not available but we got upgradet to supirior room.

Both type of rooms are spacious, kingsize beds en big bathtub.

Staff is great and service even better.

Food not cheap but great!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flyboy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ieteke, Front Office Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Oranje Leeuwarden, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Flyboy65,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments! We are very glad to hear that you had a good stay in our hotel & restaurant.

We'll see you next time?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

As Helen said: "This is a very good hotel. The rooms are spotlessly clean, the beds comfortable and the (included) breakfast was plentiful and tasty. In addition, the Oranje is located conveniently right across from the train station, and also minutes from downtown Leeuwarden. Free internet access was easy and fast. This was our first stay at the Oranje, but it won't be the last, and we are happy to recommend it to other travelers." Add: The staff were teriffic! We can't think of a reason to even look elsehwere for a place to stay; the prices [at least at this Hampshire hotel] make this stop a really good value. It will be the reason we will not hesitate to spend much more time in Leeuwarden in the future. Dr. RLG -- Wisconsin/USA

Room Tip: The room we were assigned on the top floor was fine. A balcony would be fun too. Be sure to find the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RLG71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ieteke, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Oranje Leeuwarden, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear spontaneous guest,

Your review is outstanding! We are very happy to hear that you had such a pleasant stay in our hotel!

We would love to welcome you again in our hotel in the near future!

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarrow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed here for one night on a road trip through Holland. The guy on reception was very nice and friendly and said he had give us a room with a balcony for us to sit on and drink hot chocolate because it was snowing at that time. The room overlooked w main road and he railway station, we thought it might be a wee bit noisy but we never her a sound all night. The room was very clean, comfortable and lovely warm.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is a very good hotel. The rooms are spotlessly clean, the beds comfortable and the (included) breakfast was plentiful and tasty. In addition, the Oranje is located conveniently right across from the train station, and also minutes from downtown Leeuwarden. Free internet access in the lobby is another plus feature at the Oranje. This was my first stay at the Oranje, but it won't be the last, and I'm happy to recommend it to other travelers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen154982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

My wife and I have been staying at The Oranje Hotel each year since 2002. The rooms are very nice, the food is good, the hotel staff is very friendly and and professional! We have only had very good experiences at The Oranje!

Room Tip: In the rear of the hotel it is quieter. Floor 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank r8guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ieteke, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Oranje Leeuwarden, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for your nice words. We are looking forward to welcoming you for many more years at the Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeuwarden
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

nice and clean room and in a great walking distace from the city centre. service was good and there is a parking garage available for 10 euro a day. opposite the train station and on a main road but still quiet in the room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank fl1ghty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leeuwarden
0.4 mi away
Post-Plaza Hotel & Grand Cafe
0.9 mi away
WestCord WTC Hotel Leeuwarden
1.0 mi away
Stenden Hotel
Stenden Hotel
#3 of 10 in Leeuwarden
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fletcher Hotel Paleis Stadhouderlijk Hof
0.8 mi away
Bastion Hotel Leeuwarden
Bastion Hotel Leeuwarden
#6 of 10 in Leeuwarden
79 reviews
15.7 mi away
Bilderberg Landgoed Lauswolt
Bilderberg Landgoed Lauswolt
#1 of 1 in Beetsterzwaag
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Oranje Leeuwarden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Oranje Leeuwarden

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Oranje Leeuwarden
Address: Stationsweg 4, 8911 AG Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Friesland Province > Leeuwarden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Leeuwarden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Oranje Leeuwarden 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1879, the Hampshire Hotel - Oranje Leeuwarden is a four-star hotel located directly opposite the station in the charming old town of Leeuwarden. Nearby you can explore the town's famous maze of narrow cobbled streets, bustling with stylish shops, excellent restaurants and cosy cafe terraces. The hotel has 78 recently refurbished rooms, five conference rooms, new restaurant and lounge bar Van Buren, and private parking. Come along to experience Frisian friendliness to the fullest. Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Oranje Leeuwarden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing