We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Oranje Leeuwarden
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Leeuwarden
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Jarrow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed here for one night on a road trip through Holland. The guy on reception was very nice and friendly and said he had give us a room with a balcony for us to sit on and drink hot chocolate because it was snowing at that time. The room overlooked w main road and he railway station, we thought it might be a wee bit noisy but we never her a sound all night. The room was very clean, comfortable and lovely warm.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    381
    72
    14
    2
See reviews for
73
444
34
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is a very good hotel. The rooms are spotlessly clean, the beds comfortable and the (included) breakfast was plentiful and tasty. In addition, the Oranje is located conveniently right across from the train station, and also minutes from downtown Leeuwarden. Free internet access in the lobby is another plus feature at the Oranje. This was my first stay at the Oranje, but it won't be the last, and I'm happy to recommend it to other travelers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen154982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

My wife and I have been staying at The Oranje Hotel each year since 2002. The rooms are very nice, the food is good, the hotel staff is very friendly and and professional! We have only had very good experiences at The Oranje!

Room Tip: In the rear of the hotel it is quieter. Floor 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank r8guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ieteke, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Oranje Leeuwarden, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for your nice words. We are looking forward to welcoming you for many more years at the Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeuwarden
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

nice and clean room and in a great walking distace from the city centre. service was good and there is a parking garage available for 10 euro a day. opposite the train station and on a main road but still quiet in the room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank fl1ghty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have been staying at Oranje Hotel, Leeuwarden since 1998. After I stayed there for the first time, I never looked for another hotel in Leeuwarden. Since then, I must have stayed there for more than half a dozen times. Every time, it has been an excellent experience. No let down in quality. The last I stayed there was in April 2010.

Considering the tariff, facilities, service and quality & variety of food, it certainly offers value for money.

And, whatsmore - It is most convenient for attending to business.

I look forward to visiting and staying there many times again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kirankonher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimbergen, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed here one night: everything was fine: the room, the reception, the meal, the location. The place looks bigger than on the pictures, and the center of the town is in walking distance.
The room is calm especially at the rear side of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

My husband and I had to get away from the craziness of Amsterdam in May. We headed to north Holland, and hoped to stay on the islands. Everything was booked on the islands so we randomly chose Leeuwarden and Oranje to stay. And we were so impressed with the service, the rooms and the entire experience. We were upgraded upon arrival, and had clean and tasteful rooms, with a huge bathtub and bed.

The perfect weekend away.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aehutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeuwarden hotels
0.9 mi away
WestCord WTC Hotel Leeuwarden
0.4 mi away
Post-Plaza Hotel & Grand Cafe
1.0 mi away
Stenden Hotel
Stenden Hotel
#3 of 10 in Leeuwarden
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Paleis Stadhouderlijk Hof
0.8 mi away
Bastion Hotel Leeuwarden
Bastion Hotel Leeuwarden
#6 of 10 in Leeuwarden
79 reviews
0.9 mi away
Eurohotel Leeuwarden
Eurohotel Leeuwarden
#7 of 10 in Leeuwarden
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Oranje Leeuwarden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Oranje Leeuwarden

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Oranje Leeuwarden
Address: Stationsweg 4, 8911 AG Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Friesland Province > Leeuwarden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Leeuwarden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Oranje Leeuwarden 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1879, the Hampshire Hotel - Oranje Leeuwarden is a four-star hotel located directly opposite the station in the charming old town of Leeuwarden. Nearby you can explore the town's famous maze of narrow cobbled streets, bustling with stylish shops, excellent restaurants and cosy cafe terraces. The hotel has 78 recently refurbished rooms, five conference rooms, new restaurant and lounge bar Van Buren, and private parking. Come along to experience Frisian friendliness to the fullest. Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Oranje Leeuwarden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing